Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 2 November 2016

Our references: 8640-B2-201606534 and 8640-T66-201608606

BY EMAIL AND MAIL

Distribution List

Re: Bell Canada and TELUS Communications Company – Applications for forbearance from the regulation of pay telephone access line service – Request for information

Dear Sir/Madam:

The Commission received a Part 1 application from Bell Canada, dated 23 June 2016, requesting that the Commission refrain from exercising its powers and performing its duties under sections 24, 25, 27, 29, and 31 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act) in relation to the provision of pay telephone access line (PAL) service by Bell Canada (including the former Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership, or Bell Aliant) and Télébec, Limited Partnership, in Ontario, Quebec, and Atlantic Canada (collectively, the Bell Companies).

The Commission also received a Part 1 application, dated 15 August 2016, from TELUS Communications Company (TCC), requesting that the Commission refrain from exercising its powers and performing its duties under sections 24, 25, 27, 29, and 31 of the Act in relation to the provision of PAL service by TCC. In addition, TCC requested that the Commission regulate competitive pay telephone service providers (CPTSPs) under section 24.1 of the Act to require them to comply with the provisions in TCC’s tariff with respect to registration and consumer safeguard provisions.

Pursuant to paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, the Commission may require a party to provide information, particulars or documents that it considers necessary to enable the Commission to reach a full and satisfactory understanding of the subject matter of the proceeding.

Bell Canada, TCC, and their wholesale PAL customers are requested to provide comprehensive answers, including any supporting information, to the attached questions with respect to the above-noted forbearance applications.

Responses to the attached requests for information are to be filed with the Commission, serving a copy on all those listed in the distribution list, by 28 November 2016.

Any party to these proceedings (i.e., Bell Canada, TCC, or PIAC) may file interventions on the responses to the requests for information with the Commission, serving a copy on all those listed in the distribution list, by 8 December 2016.

As set out in section 39 of the Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c. Jean-François Roof, CRTC, (819) 639-4387, jean-françois.roof@crtc.gc.ca
Laurie Ventura, CRTC, (819) 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
PIAC, Geoff White, gwhite@piac.ca; John Lawford, jlawford@piac.ca

Distribution List

Bell Canada, Phillippe Gauvin, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Telus Communications Company, Stephen Schmidt, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
All registered CPTSPs


Questions for the CPTSPs:

  1. Does your company subscribe to pay telephone access line service from Bell Canada, Télébec, and/or TCC, and if so, from which company?

    If the answer to question 1 is “yes,” please proceed to question 2:

    If the answer to question 2 is “no,” please proceed to question 3:

  2. Identify how many pay telephones you operate in each of the following Rate Band groups served by Bell Canada, Télébec, and/or TCCFootnote 1 .
    Rate Band groups
    A, B, C, or D E, F, or G
    Bell Canada (include Bell Aliant Rate Bands)
    Telebec
    TCC
  3. In its application, Bell Canada submits that business local exchange access services provide CPTSPs with the same functionalities as PAL service, and that PAL service is less feature-rich than a standard business line. Bell Canada also submits that PAL is essentially a wholesale resold business local exchange access service that should no longer be rate regulated since CPTSPs can enter into commercial negotiations with Bell Canada for the provision of PAL or source access lines from another provider in exchanges where business local exchange access service is not rate regulated.

    In its application, TCC submits that any CPTSP that wishes to lease a PAL can obtain the same functionality via a business line, including from TCC, or wireless access. TCC also submits that in a business local exchange that has been granted forbearance – that is, where rates are no longer regulated – business lines may also be obtained from other facilities-based competitors, such as competitive local exchange companies (CLECs) and cable companies. TCC further submits that in most local exchanges, whether rates are regulated or not, CPTSPs may also obtain a dial tone for their payphones through wireless access by using a SIM card instead of PAL service.

    Indicate whether you use either of the following in order to provide pay telephone access to your customers. If so, indicate the number of lines or cards, as applicable:

    1. standard business lines
    2. SIM cards
  4. If you use either of the options in question 3, explain why you use that service instead of PAL service in order to provide pay telephone service to your customers.
  5. Explain your future expansion plans with respect to providing pay telephone access to customers, and in which of the following areas would you consider expanding your service:
    1. Non-high cost service areas, represented by Rate Bands A, B, C and/or D
    2. High-cost service areas, represented by Rate Bands E, F and/or G

Questions for Bell Canada:

  1. In paragraph 59 of its application, Bell Canada requests forbearance with respect to the provision of PAL service by NorthernTel, Limited Partnership. However, there is no other reference to NorthernTel in the application, and the applicable NorthernTel tariff is not identified at paragraph 59. Clarify whether the application requests forbearance with respect to PAL service provided by NorthernTel and, if so, the tariff item that includes the service.
  2. How many pay telephone access lines do Bell Canada (including the former Bell Aliant) and Télébec (and NorthernTel, if applicable) provide in their operating territories in Ontario, Quebec, and Atlantic Canada? Provide the total number and a breakdown by exchange.
  3. Provide a current list of Bell Canada’s (including the former Bell Aliant) and Télébec’s (and NorthernTel’s, if applicable) PAL service customers and indicate the number of lines provisioned, by customer.

Questions for TCC:

  1. How many pay telephone access lines does TCC provide in its operating territory? Provide the total number and a breakdown by exchange.
  2. Provide a current list of TCC’s PAL service customers and indicate the number of lines provisioned, by customer.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Rate Bands and associated pay telephone access line rates are set out in the companies’ tariffs as follows: Bell Canada General Tariff 6716 for items 60.1, 60.2, and General Tariff 6716 for item 70.2.(h); Bell Aliant General Tariff 21491 items 200.2 and 205.2; Télébec General Tariff 25140 items 2.1.6 and 2.1.7.1.a)[Télébec’s monthly rate is fixed at 81.5% of the monthly rate for an individual business line.], and TCC Carrier Access Tariff 21462 item 216.3.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 2 novembre 2016

Nos références : 8640-B2-201606534 et 8640-T66-201608606

PAR COURRIEL ET PAR LA POSTE

Liste de distribution

Objet : Bell Canada et la Société TELUS Communications – demandes visant l’abstention de la réglementation du service de ligne d’accès aux téléphones payants – Demande de renseignements

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la partie 1 de Bell Canada, datée du 23 juin 2016, dans laquelle l’entreprise réclame qu’il s’abstienne d’exercer les pouvoirs et fonctions prévus aux articles 24, 25, 27, 29 et 31 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) en ce qui a trait à la fourniture du service de ligne d’accès aux téléphones payants (service LATP) qu’elle offre (y compris l’ancienne Bell Aliant Regional Communications, société en commandite ou Bell Aliant), de même que Télébec, société en commandite, en Ontario, au Québec et dans le Canada atlantique (collectivement, les compagnies Bell).

Le Conseil a également reçu une demande en vertu de la partie 1, datée du 15 août 2016, de la Société TELUS Communications (STC), dans laquelle l’entreprise réclame que le Conseil s’abstienne d’exercer les pouvoirs et fonctions prévus aux articles 24, 25, 27, 29 et 31 de la Loi en ce qui a trait à la fourniture du service de ligne d’accès aux téléphones payants qu’elle offre. De plus, la STC a demandé à ce que le Conseil réglemente les fournisseurs de services téléphoniques payants concurrents (FSTPC) en vertu de l’article 24.1 de la Loi de sorte que ces derniers soient tenus de respecter les dispositions prévues dans son tarif en ce qui a trait à l’enregistrement et aux dispositions relatives à la protection des consommateurs.

Conformément au paragraphe 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle fournisse des renseignements ou des documents particuliers qu’il estime être nécessaires pour bien comprendre dans son ensemble la question sur laquelle porte de l’instance.

Bell Canada, la STC et leurs clients du service LATP de gros sont priés de fournir des réponses complètes, y compris tout renseignement à l’appui, aux questions ci jointes, lesquelles portent sur les demandes d’abstention susmentionnées.

La réponse à la demande de renseignements ci-jointe doit être déposée auprès du Conseil, et copie de celle-ci doit être signifiée à toutes les entreprises qui figurent dans la liste de distribution, au plus tard le 28 novembre 2016.

Toute partie à l’instance (c-à-d. Bell Canada, la STC ou le CDIP) a jusqu’au 8 décembre 2016 pour déposer des interventions portant sur les réponses à la demande de renseignements ci jointe auprès du Conseil, tout en signifiant copie de celles-ci à l’ensemble des entreprises qui figurent dans la liste de distribution.

Comme le précisent l’article 39 de la Loi et le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, une partie peut désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. La partie qui désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi les renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi la divulgation ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, y compris comment le préjudice direct particulier que la divulgation pourrait entraîner l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit soit déposer une version abrégée du document faisant uniquement abstraction des renseignements désignés comme confidentiels, soit justifier pourquoi il n’est pas possible de le faire.

Nous vous rappelons que lorsqu’un document doit être déposé au plus tard à une date précise, il doit avoir été reçu et non simplement être envoyé au plus tard à la date indiquée.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Sheehan Carter
Directeur p. i., Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. Jean-François Roof, CRTC, 819-639-4387, jean-françois.roof@crtc.gc.ca
Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
CDIP, Geoff White, gwhite@piac.ca et John Lawford, jlawford@piac.ca

Liste de distribution

Bell Canada, Phillippe Gauvin, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Société Telus Communications, Stephen Schmidt, regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Tous les FSTPC enregistrés


Questions adressées aux FSTPC :

  1. Votre entreprise est-elle abonnée au service de ligne d’accès aux téléphones payants de Bell Canada, Télébec, et/ou de la STC? Dans l’affirmative, veuillez préciser de quelle compagnie.

    Si vous avez répondu « oui » à la question 1, veuillez passer à la question 2.

    Si la réponse à la question 2 est « non », veuillez passer à la question 3.

  2. Veuillez préciser combien de téléphones payants vous exploitez dans chacune des tranches tarifaires desservies par Bell Canada, Télébec et ou la STCNote de bas de page 1.
    Tranches tarifaires
    A, B, C, ou D E, F, ou G
    Bell Canada (y compris les tranches tarifaires de Bell Aliant)
    Télébec
    La STC
  3. Dans sa demande, Bell Canada soutient que les services locaux d’affaires offrent aux FSTPC les mêmes fonctions que celles du service LATP, et que ce dernier comprend moins de fonctions que celui d’une ligne d’affaires standard. Bell Canada soutient aussi que le service LATP est essentiellement un service d’accès local d’affaires revendu de gros dont le tarif ne devrait plus être réglementé parce que les FSTPC peuvent conclure des ententes commerciales avec Bell Canada concernant l’offre du service LATP ou obtenir des lignes d’accès auprès d’un autre fournisseur dans les circonscriptions où le service d’accès local d’affaires n’est pas assujetti à une réglementation tarifaire.

    Dans sa demande, la STC affirme que les FSTPC qui souhaitent louer un service LATP peuvent obtenir la même chose avec une ligne d’affaires, notamment de la STC, ou avec un accès sans fil. La STC affirme aussi que dans une circonscription locale d’affaires où l’abstention de la réglementation a été accordée– c’est-à-dire, où les tarifs ne sont plus réglementés – les lignes d’affaires peuvent également être obtenues auprès d’autres concurrents dotés d’installations, comme les entreprises de services locaux concurrentes (ESLC) et les entreprises de câblodistribution. La STC fait en outre valoir que dans la plupart des circonscriptions locales, que les tarifs soient réglementés ou non, les FSTPC peuvent aussi obtenir une tonalité de composition pour leurs téléphones publics au moyen d’un accès sans fil en utilisant une carte SIM au lieu d’un service LATP.

    Veuillez indiquer si vous utilisez l’un ou l’autre des moyens ci-dessous pour offrir un service de ligne d’accès aux téléphones payants à vos clients. Dans l’affirmative, veuillez préciser le nombre de lignes ou de cartes, selon le cas.

    1. lignes d’affaires standards
    2. cartes SIM
  4. Si vous utilisez une des options énumérées à la question 3, veuillez expliquer pourquoi vous l’utilisez plutôt que le service LATP pour offrir à vos clients un service de téléphones payants.
  5. Veuillez expliquer vos projets d’expansion futurs en ce qui concerne l’offre d’un service de ligne d’accès aux téléphones payants aux clients et veuillez préciser les domaines dans lesquels vous pourriez envisager une expansion de votre service :
    1. ailleurs que dans les zones de desserte à coût élevé représentées par les tranches tarifaires A, B, C et/ou D
    2. dans les zones de desserte à coût élevé représentées par les tranches tarifaires E, F et/ou G

Questions adressées à Bell Canada :

  1. Au paragraphe 59 de sa demande, Bell Canada réclame une abstention de la réglementation concernant l’offre du service LATP par NorthernTel, société en commandite. Cependant, la demande ne contient aucun autre renvoi à NorthernTel, et le tarif de NorthernTel qui s’applique n’est pas précisé au paragraphe 59. Veuillez préciser si la demande vise une abstention de la réglementation du service LATP offert par NorthernTel et, dans si c’est le cas, veuillez préciser l’article tarifaire qui comprend le service.
  2. Combien de lignes d’accès à des téléphones payants Bell Canada (y compris l’ancienne Bell Aliant) et Télébec (et NorthernTel, le cas échéant) offrent-elles dans leur territoire d’exploitation de l’Ontario, du Québec et du Canada atlantique? Veuillez fournir le nombre total et une ventilation par circonscription.
  3. Veuillez fournir la liste actuelle des clients du service LATP de Bell Canada (y compris l’ancienne Bell Aliant) et de Télébec (et NorthernTel, le cas échéant) et veuillez indiquer le nombre de lignes fournies par consommateur.

Questions adressées à la STC :

  1. Combien de lignes d’accès à des téléphones payants la STC offre-t-elle dans son territoire d’exploitation? Veuillez fournir le nombre total ainsi qu’une ventilation par circonscription.
  2. Veuillez fournir la liste actuelle des clients du service LATP de la STC et préciser le nombre de lignes fournies par consommateur.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Les tranches tarifaires et les tarifs du service de ligne d’accès aux téléphones payants s’y rattachant sont présentés dans les tarifs de la compagnie comme suit : Tarif général 6716 de Bell Canada pour les articles 60.1, 60.2 et Tarif général 6716 pour l’article 70.2.(h); articles 200.2 et 205.2 du Tarif général 21491 (en anglais seulement) de Bell Aliant; articles 2.1.6 et 2.1.7.1.a)[le tarif mensuel de Télébec est établi à 81,5 % du tarif mensuel d’une ligne d’affaires individuelle] du Tarif général 25140 de Télébec et l’article 216.3 du Tarif du service LATP applicable aux entreprises 21462 (en anglais seulement) 21462 de la STC.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Date de modification :