Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Natalie MacDonald (Eastlink) and Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.)

Ottawa, 31 October 2016

Our references: 8663-J64-201610121

BY EMAIL

Ms. Natalie MacDonald
Vice President, Regulatory Matter
Eastlink
Suite 801
6080 Young Street
Halifax, NS  B3K 5M3
Regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca

Mr. Samer Bishay
President and CEO, Iristel Inc.
675 Cochrane Drive, 6th Floor, East Tower
Markham, Ontario  L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.ca

Re: Iristel Inc. request for implementation of local competition in Aylmer, Ontario

Dear Madame, Sir,

On 9 September 2016, Iristel Inc. (Iristel) filed a letter with the Secretary General of the CRTC requesting that the Commission direct Amtelecom Telco GP Inc., a business unit of Bragg Communications Inc. carrying on business as “Eastlink” (Eastlink) to enable local competition in the Aylmer, Ontario exchange. On 27 September 2016, Commission staff issued a Request for Information in order to get a better understanding of the situation between Iristel and Eastlink.

After reviewing the information received in response to this request, Commission staff is of the view that this dispute is not one to be addressed through informal means, but rather should be addressed by the Commission as the result of a Part 1 Application filed in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (SOR/2010-277).

Accordingly, Iristel’s request, as currently before the Commission, will not be addressed further.  Should either party believe that their disagreement regarding the issue of the implementation of local competition in the exchange of Aylmer, Ontario still requires a determination by the Commission, a Part 1 Application is to be properly filed pursuant to the above referenced Rules of Practice and Procedure.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c. Jonathan Holmes, The Canadian Independent Telephone Company Joint Task Force, Jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
Stephen Schmidt, TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com

 

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Natalie MacDonald (Eastlink) et Samer Bishay (Iristel Inc.)

Ottawa, le 31 octobre 2016

Nos références : 8663-J64-201610121

PAR COURRIEL

Madame Natalie MacDonald
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires
Eastlink
6080, rue Young, bureau 801
Halifax (Nouvelle-Écosse)  B3K 5M3
Regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca

Monsieur Samer Bishay
Président-directeur général, Iristel Inc.
675 Cochrane Drive, 6e étage, tour Est
Markham (Ontario)  L3R 0B8
regulatory@iristel.ca

Objet : Demande d’Iristel Inc. visant la mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale à Aylmer, en Ontario

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 9 septembre 2016, Iristel Inc. (Iristel) a déposé une lettre auprès de la Secrétaire générale du CRTC dans laquelle Iristel demande au Conseil d’ordonner à Amtelecom Telco GP Inc., une division opérationnelle de Bragg Communications Inc. qui exerce ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink), de mettre en œuvre la concurrence locale dans la circonscription d’Aylmer, en Ontario. Le 27 septembre 2016, le personnel du Conseil a envoyé une demande de renseignements afin de mieux comprendre les relations entre Iristel et Eastlink.

Après avoir examiné l’information reçue en réponse à cette demande, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que le différend ne doit pas être résolu au moyen d’un processus informel, mais plutôt examiné par le Conseil dans le cadre d’une demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications (DORS/2010-277).

Par conséquent, la demande d’Iristel, dont le Conseil est actuellement saisi, ne sera pas analysée davantage. Si l’une des parties estime que le Conseil doit rendre une décision à l’égard de leur différend au sujet de la mise en œuvre de la concurrence locale dans la circonscription d’Aylmer (Ontario), celle-ci doit présenter une demande en vertu de la partie 1 conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications susmentionnées.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.
Le directeur,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  Jonathan Holmes, The Canadian Independent Telephone Company Joint Task Force, Jonathan.holmes@itpa.ca
Stephen Schmidt, Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Date de modification :