Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Sandeep Panesar (Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications Inc.) and Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Company)

Ottawa, 22 September 2016

Our references: 8622-T151-201609562

BY EMAIL

Mr. Sandeep Panesar
Chief Executive Officer
Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications Inc.
338 Saint-Antoine Est, #101,
Montréal, QC H2Y 1A3
sandeep.panesar@tnwcorp.com
sandeep.panesar@teliphone.com

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice-President - Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
Telecom Policy and Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company
215 Slater Street, 8th floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Re: Part 1 Application by Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications Seeking Relief with respect to the Timing of Disconnection of services provided to it by TELUS Communications Company - Commission Decision

Dear Sirs,

On 16 June 2016, TELUS Communications Company (TCC) filed, in confidence, a letter with the Commission advising that it had given notice to terminate services provided to Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications (TNW) effective 17 August 2016 as a result of payment issues with TNW. TCC stated that the parties were before the British Columbia Supreme Court with regard to their commercial dispute.

Coincident with the intervention of Commission staff, the parties continued to negotiate and on 31 August 2016, they agreed that TCC would not initiate service disconnection prior to 11 October 2016.

Also on 31 August 2016, TNW filed with the Commission a confidential Part 1 application requesting that the Commission provide TNW with 180 days to notify its clients of an upcoming disconnection of service by TCC, as well as an additional 90 days following this notification before disconnection is to commence. An abridged version of the application was filed on 8 September 2016.

On 12 September 2016, TCC filed its Answer with no claim for confidentiality, except for two attachments. On 16 September 2016, TNW filed its reply in confidence, with an abridged version for the public record. Because TCC’s answer for which it did not claim confidentiality contained information in respect of which TNW and TCC had claimed confidentiality, the Commission did not place TCC’s answer on the public record.

Commission determination

Having considered all representations made by the parties in this proceeding, the Commission considers that the only substantive issue for resolution is the length of time before disconnection takes place. TNW is not arguing that TCC is without right to disconnect, but rather when disconnection is to occur.

The Commission is of the view that the 270-day period requested by TNW is unduly long and appears to be motivated by a desire to attempt to salvage the economic interest of the company, rather than address the plight of TNW’s customers who would be affected by the disconnection. Further, TNW has been aware of TCC’s intention to disconnect services provided to TNW for several months and yet, has taken no action to alert its affected customers to date. Such affected customers include end-users (residential, enterprises and public-sector), as well as resellers. Also, were the Commission to agree to the relief sought by TNW, TCC would be in the position of being obliged to provide services to TNW for an extended period of time without any guarantee of full payment for such services.

While TNW’s requested relief of 270 days is unreasonably long, the Commission is persuaded by TNW’s submissions that TCC’s intended disconnection date of 11 October is unduly short to allow TNW’s affected customers to explore arrangements with a new service provider.

In the circumstances of this case, the Commission considers that 60 days is a reasonable period to allow TNW’s affected customers to explore alternative arrangements. Accordingly, TCC is directed not to commence disconnection of services provided to TNW prior to Monday, 21 November 2016.

Based on the record of this proceeding, not all of TNW’s customers would be directly affected by a disconnection of services by TCC. With respect to those TNW customers who would be directly affected by TCC’s disconnection, TNW is ordered to notify, forthwith, all such customers that TNW would be unable to use the services of TCC as the underlying carrier as of Monday 21 November 2016, and that such disconnection would adversely impact the services currently provided to them by TNW. Also, in order to assist affected end-customers in finding an alternate service provider, TNW’s notice to its affected end-customers must include a link to the CRTC’s website page entitled “Service Providers Near Me”.

TNW is further ordered to provide the Commission, by no later than 30 September 2016, with confirmation that it has provided such notice, and samples of the notices (including the website link noted above as appropriate) it will have provided to its affected customers.

TNW is also ordered to file with the Commission, in confidence, a list of its customers who will be directly affected by TCC’s disconnection of services, including names, telephone numbers and email addresses, no later than 30 September 2016.

Finally, TNW is to work diligently to ensure a smooth transition for its affected customers to their new service providers.

Failure to comply with any and all parts of this Commission decision may lead to the Commission taking enforcement action, which could include the imposition of administrative monetary penalties, as per Compliance and Enforcement and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2015-111.

Confidentiality

In its submissions, TNW argued that the release of the information designated so far as confidential, including the notice of the impending disconnection, would provide sensitive information to competitors and cause undue alarm to customers, thereby resulting in specific direct and irreparable harm to TNW. By filing its answer without a claim for confidentiality, except for two attachments, TCC has effectively waived its claim for confidentiality with respect to the information relevant to the specific relief sought by TNW before the Commission.

The Commission has carefully considered the representations made by TNW with respect to claims for confidentiality that are directly related to the issue in this proceeding. In the particular circumstances of this case, the Commission is persuaded that the specific direct harm to TNW is outweighed by the public interest in disclosure, particularly with respect to TNW’s customers.

Accordingly, pursuant to s. 39(4) of the Telecommunications Act, the Commission rules that the information disclosed in this Commission decision should be made public. Further, TCC is ordered to file, by 29 September 2016, an abridged version of its Answer for the public record, consistent with the confidentiality ruling made by the Commission in this decision.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur Sandeep Panesar (Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications Inc.) et Monsieur Stephen Schmidt (Société TELUS Communications)

Ottawa, le 22 septembre 2016

Nos références : 8622-T151-201609562

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Sandeep Panesar
Président-directeur général
Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications Inc.
338, rue Saint-Antoine Est, bureau 101
Montréal (Québec) H2Y 1A3
sandeep.panesar@tnwcorp.com
sandeep.panesar@teliphone.com

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président - Politique en matière de télécommunication et conseiller juridique principal en matière de réglementation
Politique de télécommunication et Réglementation
Société TELUS Communications
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications visant un redressement concernant la date de débranchement des services reçus de la Société TELUS Communications – Décision du Conseil

Messieurs,

Le 16 juin 2016, la Société TELUS Communications (STC) a déposé, sous le sceau de la confidentialité, une lettre au Conseil informant ce dernier qu’elle avait amorcé un processus pour mettre fin aux services offerts à Téliphone Navigata-Westel Communications (TNW) en raison des problèmes de paiement qu’elle avait avec TNW. La STC a déclaré que les parties étaient devant la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique pour ce différend de nature commerciale.

Le personnel du Conseil est intervenu et les parties ont poursuivi leurs négociations. Le 31 août 2016, les parties ont convenu que la STC allait attendre au 11 octobre 2016 avant de procéder au débranchement.

Également le 31 août 2016, TNW a déposé, auprès du Conseil, une demande confidentielle en vertu de la partie 1 visant à ce que ce dernier lui accorde 180 jours pour aviser sa clientèle du débranchement prochain des services par la STC, ainsi qu’un délai additionnel de 90 jours suivant cet avis avant que le débranchement ne soit entrepris. Elle a déposé une version abrégée de sa demande le 8 septembre 2016.

Le 12 septembre 2016, la STC a déposé sa réponse; celle-ci n’est pas sous le sceau de la confidentialité, sauf pour deux pièces jointes. Le 16 septembre 2016, TNW a envoyé une réplique sous le sceau de la confidentialité avec une version abrégée de sa réplique pour le dossier public. Étant donné que la réponse de la STC, pour laquelle cette dernière n’a pas demandé le sceau de la confidentialité, contenait des renseignements pour lesquels tant la STC que TNW avaient demandé le respect de la confidentialité, le Conseil n’a pas versé la réponse de la STC au dossier public.

Conclusion du Conseil

Après avoir examiné l’ensemble des observations des parties au dossier, le Conseil estime que la seule question à résoudre est la période de temps précédant la date de débranchement. TNW ne conteste pas le droit de débranchement de la STC, mais plutôt le moment du débranchement.

Le Conseil conclut que la période de 270 jours demandée par TNW est déraisonnablement longue et semble motivée par le désir de tenter de sauvegarder les intérêts économiques de l’entreprise plutôt que de plaider la cause des clients de TNW qui seraient touchés par le débranchement. De plus, TNW est au courant depuis plusieurs mois des intentions de la STC relatives au débranchement et elle n’a pris aucune mesure jusqu’à présent pour en aviser ses clients touchés. Ces derniers comprennent des utilisateurs finals (services de résidence, d’affaires et institutionnels) de même que des revendeurs. En outre, si le Conseil accordait à TNW le redressement demandé, la STC serait alors tenue de fournir les services à TNW pendant toute cette période sans aucune garantie d’être entièrement payée pour ces services.

Bien que le Conseil conclue que la période de 270 jours demandée par TNW est déraisonnablement longue, il estime que la date de débranchement actuellement fixée au 11 octobre 2016 par la STC est indûment courte, car les clients de TNW touchés auraient alors peu de temps pour faire le nécessaire afin d’explorer la possibilité d’un nouveau fournisseur de service.

Dans les circonstances, le Conseil estime qu’une période de 60 jours constitue une durée raisonnable pour permettre aux clients de TNW touchés d’explorer la possibilité d’un nouveau fournisseur de service. Par conséquent, la STC ne peut entreprendre le débranchement des services offerts à TNW avant le lundi 21 novembre 2016.

D’après le dossier de l’instance, ce ne sont pas tous les clients de TNW qui seraient touchés par le débranchement des services que prévoit la STC. Par conséquent, TNW doit aviser immédiatement tous ses clients qui seraient touchés par le débranchement qu’elle ne pourrait plus utiliser les services de la STC à titre d’entreprise sous-jacente à partir du lundi 21 novembre 2016, et que le débranchement prévu aurait une incidence sur les services qu’ils reçoivent actuellement de TNW. De plus, afin d’aider les clients finals touchés à trouver un autre fournisseur, l’avis que TNW enverra à ses clients finals devra comprendre un lien menant à la page du site Web du CRTC intitulée Fournisseurs de services près de chez moi.

Le Conseil enjoint également à TNW de lui fournir au plus tard le 30 septembre 2016, la confirmation qu’elle a transmis l’avis en question aux clients touchés, et des exemples d’avis envoyés (contenant notamment le lien Web ci-dessus au besoin).

Le Conseil ordonne aussi à TNW de déposer, au plus tard le 30 septembre 2016, sous le sceau de la confidentialité, la liste des coordonnées de tous ses clients directement touchés par le débranchement par la STC comprenant leur nom, numéro de téléphone et adresse électronique.

Enfin, TNW est tenue de faire preuve de diligence pour s’assurer que la migration de ses clients touchés vers leur nouveau fournisseur se fasse en douceur.

Le défaut de respecter quelque partie que ce soit de la présente décision du Conseil pourra amener ce dernier à adopter des mesures d’exécution de la loi, comme l’imposition d’une sanction administrative pécuniaire, conformément au Bulletin d'information de Conformité et Enquêtes et de Télécom CRTC 2015-111.

Confidentialité

Dans ses observations, TNW a argué que la publication de l’information faisant jusqu’ici l’objet d’un traitement confidentiel, notamment l’avis de débranchement en cours, aurait pour effet de communiquer des renseignements de nature délicate aux concurrents et d’entraîner des préoccupations chez les clients, ce qui pourrait causer un préjudice direct, précis et irréparable à TNW. En déposant une réponse sans demander le respect de la confidentialité, à l’exception des deux pièces jointes, la STC a effectivement renoncé à la confidentialité au sujet des renseignements relevant de la demande de redressement de TNW auprès du Conseil.

Le Conseil a étudié attentivement les observations de TNW au sujet de sa demande de respect de la confidentialité qui traitent des renseignements directement liés à la question de la présente instance. Le Conseil est convaincu que, dans le cas présent, tout préjudice direct particulier pour TNW ne l’emporte pas sur l’intérêt public, plus précisément sur l’intérêt des clients de TNW.

Par conséquent, en vertu du paragraphe 39(4) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le Conseil décide que les renseignements indiqués dans la présente décision devraient être divulgués. En outre, la STC doit déposer au plus tard le 29 septembre 2016, une version abrégée de sa réponse pour le dossier public, afin de respecter la conclusion du Conseil concernant la confidentialité dans la présente décision.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

Original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato

Date de modification :