Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 19 September 2016

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution List

Re: TELUS Communications Company’s Part 1 Application, Show cause proceeding for use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunication services for persons with disabilities – Revised timelines and request for information

Dear Sirs/Madams:

TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) filed an application with the Commission on 19 July 2016 regarding the use of its deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunication services for persons with disabilities. This letter is further to a Commission staff letter dated 25 August 2016 where Commission staff stated that it would set a revised timeline for the intervention period and corresponding reply period for this process, following TELUS’ filing of a non-confidential version of Appendix B.

Commission staff would like to seek clarification on the submissions by TELUS and ask that interested parties please provide responses to the following requests for information no later than 3 October 2016.

  1. If all deferral account funds are not depleted through the approval of initiatives currently on the record, what would be an appropriate use of the remaining funds? Please provide supporting rationale.
  2. In its application, TELUS stated that the Code Factory Mobile Accessibility Application is an initiative that is greatly affected by the advent of technological change and, as a result, no longer presents a significant new accessibility benefit due to an increasing number of devices that already include accessibility features. Do the accessibility features described by TELUS in its application provide the same level of service as Code Factory’s Mobile Accessibility Application?
  3. In its application, TELUS stated that it does not wish to commit funds to offering the Tecla Access Solution with a compatible smartphone packaged as a lower-priced bundle for at least five years. TELUS’ provided that Alternate Input Devices are supported on the Apple iPhone 6 Plus and the Samsung Galaxy S6 as its rationale. Do the Alternate Input Devices supported on the Apple iPhone 6s and Samsung Galaxy S6 provide the same level of service as the Tecla Access Solution?

Set out below are the revised dates for the intervention period and TELUS’ reply period:

Sincerely,

[Original signed by]

Nanao Kachi
Director 
Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.:  Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com
Isabell Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com

Distribution List:

Neil Squire Society, garyb@neilsquire.ca; Harry Lew harryl@neilsquire.ca; harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Anthony Tibbs, Media Access Canada, anthony@tibbs.com; Beverley Milligan, Media Access Canada, bmilligan@mediac.ca; Diane Bergeron, diane.bergeron@cnib.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 19 septembre 2016

PAR COURRIEL

À : Liste de distribution

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 de la Société TELUS Communications, Instance de justification concernant l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report pour améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication – Nouveaux délais et demande de renseignements

Mesdames, Messieurs,

La Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) a déposé une demande auprès du Conseil le 19 juillet 2016 concernant l’utilisation des fonds de son compte de report pour améliorer l’accès aux services de télécommunication des personnes handicapées. La présente fait suite à une lettre du personnel du Conseil, datée du 25 août 2016, dans laquelle le personnel du Conseil a affirmé qu’il allait fixer un nouveau délai pour la période d’intervention et pour la période de réplique correspondante dans le cadre de ce processus après que TELUS aura déposé une version non confidentielle de l’annexe B.

Le personnel du Conseil demande des éclaircissements au sujet des observations présentées par TELUS et demande aux parties intéressées de fournir les renseignements demandés ci‑dessous au plus tard le 3 octobre 2016.

  1. Si les fonds du compte de report ne sont pas tous épuisés par l’approbation d’initiatives présentement au dossier, quelle serait une utilisation appropriée des fonds restants? Veuillez justifier votre réponse.
  2. Dans sa demande, TELUS a affirmé que l’application Mobile Accessibility de Code Factory est une initiative qui est grandement touchée par la venue de changements technologiques et que, par conséquent, elle ne constitue plus un nouvel avantage important sur le plan de l’accessibilité en raison du nombre croissant d’appareils qui comprennent déjà des fonctions d’accessibilité. Est-ce que les fonctions d’accessibilité décrites par TELUS dans sa demande offrent le même niveau de service que celui de l’application Mobile Accessibility de Code Factory?
  3. Dans sa demande, TELUS a affirmé qu’elle ne souhaite pas engager des fonds pour offrir la solution d’accès Tecla avec un téléphone intelligent compatible vendu dans un lot à moindre coût, pendant au moins cinq ans. TELUS a fourni comme justification que d’autres dispositifs d’entrée sont supportés par l’iPhone 6 Plus d’Apple et le Galaxy S6 de Samsung. Est-ce que les autres dispositifs d’entrée supportés sur l’iPhone 6s d’Apple et le Galaxy S6 de Samsung offrent le même niveau de service que celui de la solution d’accès Tecla?

Voici les nouvelles dates fixées pour la période d’intervention et pour la période de réplique de TELUS :

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

[Original signé]

Nanao Kachi
Directeur
Politique sociale et de consommation
Consommation et Politique stratégique

c.c. : Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca
Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com
Isabell Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com

Liste de distribution :

Société Neil Squire, garyb@neilsquire.ca; Harry Lew harryl@neilsquire.ca; harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Anthony Tibbs, Media Access Canada, anthony@tibbs.com; Beverley Milligan, Media Access Canada, bmilligan@mediac.ca; Diane Bergeron, diane.bergeron@cnib.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca

Date de modification :