ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Stephen Schmidt (TELUS)

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 19 September 2016

BY EMAIL

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice President
Telecom Policy and Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
TELUS
215 Slater Street, Floor 8
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Re: TELUS Communications Company’s Part 1 Application, Show cause proceeding for use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunication services for persons with disabilities – Revised timelines and request for information

Dear Mr. Schmidt:

TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) filed an application with the Commission on 19 July 2016 regarding the use of its deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunication services for persons with disabilities. This letter is further to a Commission staff letter dated 25 August 2016 where Commission staff stated that it would set a revised timeline for the intervention period and corresponding reply period for this process following TELUS’ filing of a non-confidential version of Appendix B.

Commission staff requests clarification on the submissions by TELUS. Please provide responses to the following requests for information no later than 3 October 2016.

  1. In its application, TELUS noted that Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell) was approved to drawdown $200,000 of deferral account funding to fund its Code Factory Application initiative. What would it cost for TELUS to offer the Code Factory’s Mobile Accessibility Application with a compatible smartphone packaged as a lower-priced bundle for at least five years? Include detailed costing information.
  2. In its application, TELUS noted that Bell was approved to drawdown $200,000 of deferral account funding to fund its Tecla Access Solution Initiative. What would it cost for TELUS to offer the Tecla Access Solution and a compatible smartphone packaged as a lower-priced bundle for at least five years? Include detailed costing information.
  3. In its application, TELUS stated that the Code Factory Mobile Accessibility Application is an initiative that is greatly affected by the advent of technological change and, as a result, no longer presents a significant new accessibility benefit due to an increasing number of devices that already include accessibility features. Do the accessibility features described by TELUS in its application provide the same level of service as Code Factory’s Mobile Accessibility Application?
  4. In its application, TELUS stated that it does not wish to commit funds to offering the Tecla Access Solution with a compatible smartphone packaged as a lower-priced bundle for at least five years. TELUS’ provided that Alternate Input Devices are supported on the Apple iPhone 6 Plus and the Samsung Galaxy S6 as its rationale. Do the Alternate Input Devices supported on the Apple iPhone 6s and Samsung Galaxy S6 provide the same level of service as the Tecla Access Solution?

Set out below are the revised dates for the intervention period and TELUS’ reply period:

Sincerely,

[Original signed by]

Nanao Kachi
Director 
Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.:  Distribution List
Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List:

Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com; Isabell Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com; Canadian Association of the Deaf jroots@cad.ca; Ontario College of Art and Design, Treviranus, jtreviranus@faculty.ocad.ca; ARCH archlib@lao.on.ca; Council of Canadians with Disabilities, laurie@ccdonline.ca; Council of Canadians with Disabilities, ccd@ccdonline.ca; Canadian Council of the Blind, mpotvin@ccbnational.net; Canadian Association for Community Living, mbach@cacl.ca; Centre québécois de la déficience auditive, cqda@videotron.ca; Alliance for Equality of Blind Canadians/L'Alliance pour l'égalité des aveugles canadiens, Farah.mughal@rci.rogers.com; Neil Squire Society, garyb@neilsquire.ca; Harry Lew harryl@neilsquire.ca; harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Chris Stark, stark.chris@rogers.com; cstark@samobile.net; jeff.in.kanata@gmail.com; Clayton Zekelman, clayton@MNSi.Net; Beverley Milligan, Media Access Canada, bmilligan@mediac.ca; Confédération des organismes de personnes handicapées du Québec, direction@cophan.org; Diane Bergeron, diane.bergeron@cnib.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Stephen Schmidt (Société TELUS Communications)

Ottawa, le 19 septembre 2016

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président, Politique en matière de télécommunication et conseiller juridique principal en matière de réglementation
Société TELUS Communications
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la Société TELUS Communications, Instance de justification concernant l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report pour améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunication – Nouveaux délais et demande de renseignements

Monsieur,

La Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) a déposé une demande auprès du Conseil le 19 juillet 2016 concernant l’utilisation des fonds qu’elle a accumulés dans son compte de report pour améliorer l’accès des personnes handicapées aux services de télécommunications. La présente fait suite à une lettre du personnel du Conseil, datée du 25 août 2016, dans laquelle le personnel du Conseil a affirmé qu’il allait fixer un nouveau délai pour la période d’intervention et pour la période de réplique correspondante dans le cadre de ce processus après que TELUS aura déposé une version non confidentielle de l’annexe B.

Le personnel du Conseil demande des éclaircissements au sujet des observations présentées par TELUS. Veuillez fournir les renseignements demandés ci-dessous au plus tard le 3 octobre 2016.

  1. Dans sa demande, TELUS a fait remarquer que Bell Mobilité inc. (Bell) a été approuvé pour un prélèvement de 200 000 $ du compte de report pour financer son initiative liée à l’application de Code Factory. Quel serait le coût pour TELUS d’offrir l’application Mobile Accessibility de Code Factory avec un téléphone intelligent compatible vendu dans un lot à moindre coût, pendant au moins cinq ans? Veuillez fournir des renseignements détaillés sur les coûts.
  2. Dans sa demande, TELUS a fait remarquer que Bell a été approuvé pour un prélèvement de 200 000 $ du compte de report pour financer son initiative relative à la solution d’accès Tecla. Quel serait le coût pour TELUS d’offrir la solution d’accès Tecla avec un téléphone intelligent compatible vendu dans un lot à moindre coût, pendant au moins cinq ans? Veuillez fournir des renseignements détaillés sur les coûts.
  3. Dans sa demande, TELUS a indiqué que l’application Mobile Accessibility de Code Factory est une initiative qui est grandement touchée par la venue de changements technologiques et que, par conséquent, elle ne constitue plus un nouvel avantage important sur le plan de l’accessibilité en raison du nombre croissant d’appareils qui comprennent déjà des fonctions d’accessibilité. Est-ce que les fonctions d’accessibilité décrites par TELUS dans sa demande offrent le même niveau de service que celui de l’application Mobile Accessibility de Code Factory?
  4. Dans sa demande, TELUS a indiqué qu’elle ne souhaite pas engager des fonds pour offrir la solution d’accès Tecla avec un téléphone intelligent compatible vendu dans un lot à moindre coût, pendant au moins cinq ans. TELUS a fourni comme justification que d’autres dispositifs d’entrée sont supportés par l’iPhone 6 Plus d’Apple et le Galaxy S6 de Samsung. Est-ce que les autres dispositifs d’entrée alternative supportés sur l’iPhone 6s d’Apple et le Galaxy S6 de Samsung offrent le même niveau de service que celui de la solution d’accès Tecla?

Voici les nouvelles dates fixées pour la période d’intervention et pour la période de réplique de TELUS :

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

[Original signé]

Nanao Kachi
Directeur
Politique sociale et de consommation
Consommation et Politique stratégique

c.c. : Liste de distribution
Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca

Liste distribution :

Eric Edora, eric.edora@telus.com; Isabell Morneau, ISABELLE.MORNEAU@telus.com; Association des sourds du Canada jroots@cad.ca; École d'art et de design de l'Ontario Design, Treviranus, jtreviranus@faculty.ocad.ca; ARCH archlib@lao.on.ca; Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences, laurie@ccdonline.ca; Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences, ccd@ccdonline.ca; Conseil canadien des aveugles, mpotvin@ccbnational.net; Association canadienne pour l’intégration communautaire, mbach@cacl.ca; Centre québécois de la déficience auditive, cqda@videotron.ca; L'Alliance pour l'égalité des aveugles canadiens, Farah.mughal@rci.rogers.com; Société Neil Squire, garyb@neilsquire.ca; Harry Lew harryl@neilsquire.ca; harryl.neilsquire@gmail.com; Chris Stark, stark.chris@rogers.com; cstark@samobile.net; jeff.in.kanata@gmail.com; Clayton Zekelman, clayton@MNSi.Net; Beverley Milligan, Media Access Canada, bmilligan@mediac.ca; Confédération des organismes de personnes handicapées du Québec, direction@cophan.org; Diane Bergeron, diane.bergeron@cnib.ca; Lui Greco, lui.greco@cnib.ca

Date de modification :