Telecom Commission Letter Adressed to Dallas Yeulett (Northwestel)

Ottawa, 22 July 2016

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0180

BY EMAIL

Mr. Dallas Yeulett
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
Northwestel
PO Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon, Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

Re:  Notice of Consultation 2016-180 - Review of rates for Northwestel Inc.’s Wholesale Connect service

Dear Sir,

On 12 May 2016, the Commission issued Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-180 (NoC 2016-180), requesting comments on whether the rates for Northwestel Inc.’s (Northwestel) Wholesale Connect service speeds should be reviewed in light of the information filed in the proceeding associated with Tariff Notice (TN) 923, and the determinations in Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-117 related to wholesale high-speed access services.

On 13 June 2016, Northwestel submitted its intervention.

At paragraph 2 of its intervention, Northwestel submitted that:

Northwestel reiterated this proposal in its Reply comments of 23 June 2016.

Commission staff reminds Northwestel that the Commission has not yet made any determinations on the issues under review in NoC 2016-180, including on the question of whether Northwestel will be required to file revised cost studies.  Furthermore, NoC 2016-180 stated that no determinations regarding TN 923 will be made until the proceeding initiated in the notice and all of the necessary follow-up has concluded.

Consequently, if Northwestel were to submit rates and cost studies on its proposed timeline, and in the absence of Commission determinations on these matters, it is possible that such rates and cost studies may have to be re-submitted once such determinations are made.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Service and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: B.Natraj(Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-5081, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Steve Sorochan, Government of Yukon, steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca
Samer Bishay, Iristel Inc., regulatory@iristel.com
Dean Proctor, SSi Group of companies, regulatory@ssimicro.com
Christopher Hickey, CNOC, regulatory@cnoc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée Dallas Yeulett (Norouestel)

Ottawa, le 22 juillet 2016

Notre référence : 1011-N0C2016-0180

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Dallas Yeulett
Gestionnaire principal, Conformité à la réglementation
Norouestel
C.P. 2727
Whitehorse (Yukon)  Y1A 4Y4
regulatoryaffairs@nwtel.ca

Objet : Avis de consultation 2016-180 - Examen des tarifs du service de raccordement de gros de Norouestel Inc.

Monsieur,

Le 12 mai 2016, le Conseil a publié l’Avis de consultation CRTC 2016-180 (AC 2016-180), dans lequel il sollicite des observations afin de savoir si les tarifs de toute la gamme de vitesses du service de raccordement de gros de Norouestel Inc. (Norouestel) devraient être modifiés compte tenu des renseignements déposés dans le cadre de l’instance liée à l’avis de modification tarifaire (AMT) 923 de Norouestel et des conclusions que le Conseil a tirées dans la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016-117 traitant des services d’accès haute vitesse de gros.

Le 13 juin 2016, Norouestel a déposé son intervention. Au paragraphe 2, Norouestel a fait valoir ce qui suit :

Norouestel a repris cette proposition dans ses observations en réplique déposées le 23 juin 2016.

Le personnel du Conseil rappelle à Norouestel que le Conseil n’a encore formulé aucune conclusion relative aux questions à l’étude dans l’AC 2016-180, ni sur la question de savoir si Norouestel sera tenue de déposer des études de coûts révisées. De plus, l’AC 2016-180 stipule qu’aucune conclusion concernant l’AMT 923 ne sera prise tant que l’instance amorcée dans cet avis ainsi que le suivi nécessaire ne seront pas terminés.

Par conséquent, comme le Conseil ne s’est pas encore prononcé sur ces questions, si Norouestel dépose les tarifs ainsi que les études de coûts dans le délai qu’elle propose, il est possible qu’elle soit tenue de déposer de nouveau ces documents lorsque les conclusions seront tirées.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Services aux concurrents et Établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.: B.Natraj(Nat Natraj), CRTC, 819-953-5081, nat.natraj@crtc.gc.ca
Steve Sorochan, Gouvernement du Yukon, steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca
Samer Bishay, Iristel Inc., regulatory@iristel.com
Dean Proctor, SSi Group of companies, regulatory@ssimicro.com
Christopher Hickey, CORC, regulatory@cnoc.ca

Date de modification :