Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, 22 July 2016

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116

BY EMAIL

Howard Slawner
Vice President, Regulatory Telecom
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
simon-pierre.olivier@rci.rogers.com
nathalie.sageau@rci.rogers.com

RE: Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116 – Requests for information

Dear Mr. Slawner:

Pursuant to the procedure set out in Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116, 29 March 2016, attached are requests for information addressed to Rogers Communications Canada Inc.

Responses to these requests for information are to be filed with the Commission by 23 August 2016.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Kim Wardle for/

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.    Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, Renee.Doiron@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, James.Ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


Attachment 1

  1. For each year in the period from 2010 to 2015, provide the number of TTY-relay calls completed. Specify how many of these are 9-1-1 calls.
  2. Explain the impact on your ability to offer TTY terminal equipment that support TTY 9-1-1 calls or their availability to consumers should the United States Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) 16-53Footnote 1 result in the equipment manufacturers phasing out the capability to support TTY relay in their products.  
  3. Refer to paragraph 10 of Ontario Provincial Police’s intervention, in which it submitted that “In order to ensure that NG9-1-1 services do not downgrade or delay emergency response, it is imperative that secondary PSAP agencies be in a position to support the same types of communication methods as the primary PSAPs”. Explain, with supporting rationale, whether secondary PSAPs should be interconnected to NG9-1-1 network(s), including the associated feasibility, benefits, challenges, and possible risks as well as mitigation strategies to address those challenges and risks.
  4. If so, should the interconnection of secondary PSAPs to the NG9-1-1 network(s) be included in the NG9-1-1 funding model and, if so, how should the cost of the interconnection be funded?
  5. Refer to paragraph 34 of your intervention, in which you submitted that NG9-1-1 provides an opportunity to re-examine current 9-1-1 service funding mechanisms. You submitted that the incumbent local exchange carriers’ 9-1-1 tariffs are placing an unnecessary burden on the entire 9-1-1 system, and that a national consortium overseeing a single 9-1-1 database vendor selected through a competitive bidding process could result in significant operational and cost efficiencies.
    1. If a national consortium were created for the purpose of funding NG9-1-1,
      1. what steps would be required to set up such a consortium?
      2. what would be the consortium’s responsibilities?
      3. what would be appropriate mechanisms for funding the establishment and operation of the NG9-1-1 network by the consortium/administrator?
      4. what would be the appropriate voting structure within the consortium?
      5. regarding the possibility of existing 9-1-1 networks and NG9-1-1 networks operating concurrently, describe how the existing tariff-based funding model should be transitioned to a consortium-based funding model?
    2. Describe if and how your proposal of using a national consortium for NG9-1-1 would affect: your overall costs of providing NG9-1-1 services; the ease of administration; the transition to NG9-1-1; and consumers.
  6. PSAPs have stressed the importance of the provision of automatic location information as a pre-requisite to the rollout of the use of text messaging to 9-1-1 by the general public.
    1. Provide your view on the status and feasibility of automatically providing location information with a text messaging service used by all Canadians in an NG9-1-1 environment.
    2. Given the popularity and variability of mobile applications, explain how best to manage the various texting and instant messaging technologies that could be used in an NG9-1-1 environment (e.g. standards-based [Short Message Service (SMS), Multimedia Message Service (MMS), and Real-time Text (RTT)], proprietary [BlackBerry Messenger (BBM), imessage], over the top — such as Facebook messenger, Snapchat, and Whatsapp). Include any limitations, such as whether location information is available, whether multimedia (e.g. pictures and videos) can be attached, and delivery priority (e.g. delivered on a “best-effort basis”).
    3. Refer to paragraph 12 of Calgary 9-1-1’s intervention, in which it indicated that the use of SMS is declining in favour of application-based messaging services. Provide your view on usage trends for the various texting methods, as well as how these trends will impact which methods of communication consumers will use in the future and for which methods the Commission should mandate support to be used to access 9-1-1.
  7. In paragraphs 32 to 34 of its intervention, Calgary 9-1-1 submitted that developing an NG9-1-1 mobile application may provide a transparent, end-to-end connection between users and PSAPs.
    1. Provide your view on the feasibility, benefits, and/or challenges of developing such an application, which entities should be responsible for developing and managing such an application, and if such an application should be built for use across Canada. 
    2. Provide your view on the functionality that could be provided via this application.
    3. Provide your view on the feasibility, benefits, and/or challenges of funnelling voice and text messages in which emergency responses are requested via a mobile application.
    4. Provide your view on whether a mobile application could be used to collect additional user-inputted data, the data that should be collected, as well as the benefits and challenges of this approach.
    5. Are you aware of other countries that have developed mobile applications and, if so, what lessons were learned?
  8. In paragraphs 36 and 38 of its intervention, Toronto Police Service submitted that data used for emergency service purposes must come from a reliable, verifiable source, so that erroneous information does not complicate or impede emergency responses. Who should verify this data and how?
  9. Leveraging lessons learned during the recent rollout of Text with 9-1-1 for Canadians who are Deaf, hard of hearing, or have a communication disability, should the rollout of NG9-1-1 services be coordinated and rolled out at the regional, provincial, or individual PSAP level? Explain the benefits, challenges, and risk mitigation strategies associated with your proposal.
  10. Refer to paragraph 19 of your intervention, in which you proposed that a centralized primary PSAP be explored as an alternative to the ILECs’ 9-1-1 network model.
    1. Explain how this centralized PSAP would affect the deployment of NG9-1-1 network(s) and network interconnection arrangements with TSPs and PSAPs, as well as the potential continued use of existing 9-1-1 networks during the transition.
      1. Are you proposing that there should be one national primary PSAP to receive all 9-1-1 calls from subscribers across Canada?
      2. Explain what role existing primary and secondary PSAPs would play under this proposal, as well as the network and procedural arrangements that would be required to connect to them?
      3. Explain the network and 9-1-1 stakeholder arrangements required for this centralized PSAP to potentially interconnect with a national NG9-1-1 network or regional NG9-1-1 networks?
      4. Explain the 9-1-1 stakeholder arrangements and network changes required for this centralized PSAP to interconnect with the ILECs’ existing 9-1-1 networks during the transition?
      5. Explain the role and purpose of the NG9-1-1 network(s) under this proposal.
      6. What are the pros and cons of this proposal? For example, would 9-1-1 call routing not take longer if human intervention is necessary or an additional PSAP is added into the 9-1-1 call handling process?
      7. Are there other countries where this centralized primary PSAP model is being used? If so, are there lessons to be learned?
    2. Who should be responsible for establishing such a centralized PSAP; funding its operations; and determining its 9-1-1 call-handling policies and procedures, as well as arrangements with either primary PSAPs, secondary PSAPs and downstream emergency responder agency dispatchers?
    3. Explain what roles provincial/territorial and municipal governments would play in establishing and managing this centralized PSAP?
    4. How would arrangements and agreements with primary PSAPs, secondary PSAPs, or emergency responder agency dispatchers be established, and under what legislative framework?
  11. Refer to paragraphs 26 to 27 of your intervention, in which you proposed that a single NG9-1-1 network operator should serve Canada, and that this operator should be chosen by a national consortium through an RFP process. In paragraph 28, you proposed that the consortium be responsible for maintaining a single, nationwide database for call-routing purposes, along with the ALI/Phase II location information.
    1. Clarify whether you are proposing that there should be one national NG9-1-1 network to receive all 9-1-1 calls from subscribers across Canada?
    2. Explain how, from a technical and operational standpoint, and under what arrangements (e.g. agreements between parties) this single NG9-1-1 network operator would interconnect with existing 9-1-1 networks, owned and maintained by ILECs, to ensure the seamless provision of 9-1-1 services during the transition to NG9-1-1?
    3. Explain how, from a technical and operational standpoint, originating TSPs would interconnect with this new single NG9-1-1 network operator and under what interconnection arrangements? Would all TSPs have to establish new 9-1-1 interconnections with the national NG9-1-1 network operator?
    4. Explain how, from a technical and operational standpoint, and under what arrangements this single NG9-1-1 network operator would interconnect with existing PSAPs? Would the NG9-1-1 network operator have to establish new interconnections with each and every primary and secondary PSAP?
    5. Would the single NG9-1-1 network operator have to establish and enter into 9-1-1 agreements with all provincial and municipal governments responsible for the PSAPs?
    6. Would the single NG9-1-1 network operator be a telecommunications common carrier under the Telecommunications Act?
    7. What principles would guide the choice of NG9-1-1 network operator and what, if any, oversight would the Commission have with respect to the selection of the NG9-1-1 network operator and the principles used to guide the selection process?
    8. What formal mechanism, if any, would be instituted for the Commission to oversee this competitive bidding process? 
    9. If the proposed single NG9-1-1 network operator were to be chosen through an RFP process, how long would the term of the contract to provide the NG9-1-1 network last, and would the process for choosing the national ESInet(s) operator be repeated after the end of every contract term?
    10. Describe the process and arrangements contemplated with respect to the establishment of the proposed national consortium, including
      1. Which entities should be members of this consortium and would membership in this consortium would be mandatory or voluntary. If mandatory, what mechanism should be used to mandate participation? If voluntary, what mechanisms should be relied upon to ensure that membership is representative and not unduly restricted?
      2. What would be the consortium’s governance structure and responsibilities?
      3. What oversight would the Commission have over the consortium and how should this oversight be exercised to ensure accountability?
    11. Explain what function the proposed centralized database would play in an NG9-1-1 network in relation to the current ALI database, new NG9-1-1 databases, or components that are expected to be replaced in the long term?
      1. Would the single NG9-1-1 network operator also be responsible for build and for maintaining this centralized database?
      2. If a different operator is responsible, would the operator be a telecommunications common carrier under the Telecommunications Act?

Footnotes

Footnote 1

On 29 April 2016, the FCC issued NPRM 16-53 (https://www.fcc.gov/document/real-time-text-nprm), in which it proposed amendments to its rules “to facilitate a transition from outdated text telephone (TTY) technology to a reliable and interoperable means of providing real-time text communication for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, speech disabled, and deaf-blind over Internet Protocol (IP)-enabled networks and services.” Specifically, in Appendix C, paragraph 3, the FCC seeks comment on “…its proposal that service providers should be required to make their RTT services interoperable with TTY technology supported by circuit-switched networks, and when that requirement should sunset” [emphasis added]. In paragraph 65, the FCC seeks comment on “…what events or measures should trigger a sunset of the residual obligation for wireless networks to be backward compatible with TTY technology.” In paragraph 99, the FCC seeks comment on “…how should TTY support obligations be modified as wireline networks discontinue their circuit-switched services?”.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Howard Slawner (Rogers Communications Canada Inc.)

Ottawa, le 22 juillet 2016

Notre référence: 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Howard Slawner
Vice-président, Réglementation, Télécom
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
simon-pierre.olivier@rci.rogers.com
nathalie.sageau@rci.rogers.com

OBJET :  Établissement d'un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116 – demandes de renseignements

Monsieur Slawner,

Conformément à la procédure établie dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116, Établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, du 29 mars 2016, veuillez trouver ci-jointe une demande de renseignements adressée à Rogers Communications Canada Inc.

Vous devez déposer auprès du Conseil les réponses à cette demande de renseignements au plus tard le 23 aout 2016.

Veuillez agréer mes sincères salutations.

Original signé par Kim Wardle pour/

Sheehan Carter
Directeur p. i. Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.  Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, Renee.Doiron@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, James.Ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca

Pièces jointes (1)


Pièce Jointe 1

  1. Pour chaque année de la période commençant en 2010 et se terminant en 2015, indiquez le nombre d’appels par téléscripteur traités. Précisez le nombre de ces appels qui étaient des appels faits à des services 9-1-1.
  2. Expliquez les conséquences sur votre capacité à offrir de l’équipement terminal prenant en charge les appels 9-1-1 par téléscripteur si le United States Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) 16-53Note de bas de page 1 amenait les fabricants à abandonner progressivement cette fonctionnalité. 
  3. Au paragraphe 10 de l’intervention de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario, l’organisme soutient qu’afin de s’assurer que les services 9-1-1 PG ne retardent pas l’intervention d’urgence ou n’en réduisent pas l’efficacité, il serait primordial que les CASP secondaires soient en mesure de prendre en charge les mêmes méthodes de communication que les primaires. Expliquez, avec justification à l’appui, s’il y aurait lieu d’assurer l’interconnexion des CASP secondaires avec le ou les réseaux 9-1-1 PG, en précisant la faisabilité, les avantages, les difficultés et les possibles stratégies d’atténuation afin de répondre à ces risques et difficultés.
  4. Si oui, y aurait-il lieu d’inclure l’interconnexion des CASP secondaires aux réseaux 9-1-1 PG dans le modèle de financement du service 9-1-1 PG et, le cas échéant, comment faudrait-il la financer?
  5. Au paragraphe 34 de votre intervention, vous mentionnez que les services 9-1-1 PG donnent aux parties concernées l’occasion de réexaminer les mécanismes de financement des services 9-1-1 en vigueur. Vous y indiquez également que les tarifs du 9-1-1 exigés par les entreprises de services locaux titulaires imposent un fardeau inutile à l’ensemble du système 9-1-1, et que la mise en place d’un consortium national supervisant un fournisseur unique de bases de données du service 9-1-1 qui serait sélectionné au terme d’un processus d’appels d’offres concurrentiel pourrait générer des économies et des gains d’efficacité opérationnelle.
    1. Si un consortium était formé en vue de financer les services 9-1-1 PG ,
      1. Quelles seraient les étapes nécessaires à la création d’un tel consortium?
      2. Quelles seraient les responsabilités du consortium?
      3. Quels mécanismes le consortium ou l’administrateur devraient-ils utiliser pour financer l’établissement et l’exploitation du réseau 9-1-1 PG?
      4. Quelle structure de vote le consortium devrait-il privilégier?
      5. En ce qui concerne la possibilité d’exploitation simultanée des réseaux 9-1-1 actuels et des réseaux 9-1-1 PG, décrivez la façon dont le modèle de financement fondé sur les tarifs en vigueur devrait être graduellement remplacé par un modèle semblable à celui du consortium.
    2. S’il y a lieu, précisez comment votre proposition visant le recours à un consortium pour les réseaux 9-1-1 PG aurait une incidence sur l’ensemble des coûts assumés par votre entreprise pour la prestation de services 9-1-1 PG; l’allégement de la charge administrative; la transition vers les services 9-1-1 PG; et les consommateurs.
  6. Les CASP soulignent l’importance de mettre en place l’affichage automatique d’adresses avant de proposer au grand public des services 9-1-1 par messagerie texte.
    1. Donnez votre point de vue sur l’état ou la faisabilité de la mise en place d’un affichage automatique d’adresses de pair avec un service de messagerie texte utilisé par l’ensemble des Canadiens dans un environnement de services 9-1-1 PG.
    2. Compte tenu de la popularité et de la variété des applications mobiles, décrivez la meilleure façon de gérer les diverses technologies de messagerie texte et instantanée qui pourraient être utilisées dans un environnement de services 9-1-1 PG (p. ex. les applications normalisées [Short Message Service (SMS), Multimedia Message Service (MMS) et Real-time Text (RTT)], de propriété exclusive [Blackberry Messenger (BBM) et iMessage] et par contournement [comme Facebook Messenger, Snapchat et Whatsapp]). Indiquez toute contrainte en ce qui a trait, par exemple, à l’accessibilité aux données de localisation, à la possibilité de joindre du contenu multimédia (p. ex. photos et vidéos) et aux priorités en matière de prestation (p. ex. services offerts « dans la mesure du possible »).
    3. Au paragraphe 12 de l’intervention de Calgary 9-1-1, il est indiqué que l’utilisation de messages texte périclite en raison des services de messagerie d’applications mobiles. Donnez votre point de vue sur les tendances d’utilisation pour les diverses méthodes de textage. Précisez comment ces tendances influenceront les moyens de communication des consommateurs, et indiquez les moyens pour lesquels le Conseil devrait rendre le soutien obligatoire afin d’accéder aux services de 9-1-1.
  7. Aux paragraphes 32 à 34 de son intervention, Calgary 9-1-1 mentionne que la conception d’une application mobile de services 9-1-1 PG permettrait l’établissement d’une connexion de bout en bout transparente entre les utilisateurs et les CASP.
    1. Donnez votre point de vue sur la faisabilité, les avantages ou les problèmes liés à la conception d’une telle application. Indiquez les entités qui devraient s’occuper de la conception et de la gestion de l’application, et précisez si cette dernière devrait être mise au point en vue d’une utilisation à la grandeur du Canada.
    2. Donnez votre point de vue sur les fonctions que pourrait offrir cette application.
    3. Donnez votre point de vue sur la faisabilité, les avantages ou les problèmes liés à la transmission, à l’aide d’une application mobile, de messages vocaux ou par texte exigeant une intervention d’urgence.
    4. Indiquez si, selon vous, une application mobile pourrait être utilisée pour recueillir des données supplémentaires entrées par l’utilisateur. Précisez également la nature des données qui devraient être recueillies, ainsi que les avantages et les inconvénients de cette approche.
    5. Si vous en connaissez, nommez d’autres pays qui ont élaboré des applications mobiles semblables et, le cas échéant, indiquez les leçons qui en ont été tirées?
  8. Aux paragraphes 36 et 38 de son intervention, le Service de police de Toronto mentionne que les données utilisées en cas d’urgence doivent provenir d’une source fiable, pour s’assurer que les renseignements erronés ne compliquent pas ni n’entravent les interventions d’urgence. Qui devrait vérifier ces données et comment?
  9. À la lumière des leçons apprises lors du déploiement récent de l’acheminement des messages texte au service 9-1-1 pour les Canadiens sourds, malentendants ou ayant un trouble de la communication, le déploiement des services 9-1-1 PG devrait-il se dérouler et être coordonné l’échelle de la région, de la province ou du CASP? Expliquez les avantages, les difficultés et les stratégies d’atténuation du risque de votre proposition.
  10. Reportez-vous au paragraphe 19 de votre intervention, dans lequel vous proposez que l’on envisage l’établissement d’un CASP principal centralisé comme solution de rechange au modèle de réseau de services 9-1-1 des ESLT.
    1. Expliquez l’incidence de ce CASP centralisé sur le déploiement du ou des réseaux de services 9-1-1 PG et des ententes d’interconnexion réseau avec les fournisseurs de services de télécommunication (FST) et les CASP, ainsi que sur l’utilisation continue possible des réseaux des services 9-1-1 existants pendant la transition.
      1. Proposez-vous qu’un seul CASP principal national reçoive tous les appels 9-1-1 provenant des abonnés de l’ensemble du Canada?
      2. Expliquez le rôle que les CASP principaux et secondaires existants joueraient selon cette proposition, ainsi que les modalités de réseau et de procédure qui seraient exigées pour la connexion à ces CASP.
      3. Expliquez les ententes avec les intervenants des réseaux et des services 9-1-1 exigées pour l’interconnexion possible de ce CASP centralisé avec un réseau national de services 9-1-1 PG ou des réseaux régionaux de services 9-1-1 PG.
      4. Expliquez les ententes avec les intervenants des services 9-1-1 et les modifications au réseau exigées pour l’interconnexion de ce CASP centralisé avec les réseaux de services 9-1-1 existants des ESLT pendant la transition.
      5. Expliquez le rôle et l’objectif du ou des réseaux de services 9-1-1 PG selon cette proposition.
      6. Quels sont les avantages et les inconvénients de cette proposition? Par exemple, ne faudrait-il pas plus de temps pour acheminer les appels aux services 9-1-1 si une intervention humaine est nécessaire ou si un CASP additionnel est ajouté au processus de traitement des appels aux services 9-1-1?
      7. D’autres pays sont-ils dotés de ce modèle de CASP principal centralisé? Dans l’affirmative, faut-il en tirer des leçons?
    2. Qui devrait être chargé de l’établissement de ce CASP centralisé, du financement de ses activités et de la détermination de ses politiques et procédures de traitement des appels aux services 9-1-1, ainsi que des ententes avec les CASP principaux, les CASP secondaires et les répartiteurs des services d’intervention d’urgence en aval?
    3. Expliquez les rôles que les gouvernements provinciaux, les gouvernements territoriaux et les administrations municipales joueraient dans l’établissement et la gestion de ce CASP centralisé.
    4. Comment les ententes avec les CASP principaux, les CASP secondaires et les répartiteurs des services d’intervention d’urgence seraient-elles établies? Quel cadre législatif les régirait?
  11. Reportez-vous aux paragraphes 26 et 27 de votre intervention, dans lesquels vous proposez qu’un seul opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG serve le Canada, et que ce dernier soit choisi par un consortium national dans le cadre d’un processus de demande de propositions (DP). Au paragraphe 28, vous proposez que le consortium soit chargé de maintenir une base de données nationale unique aux fins de l’acheminement des appels, ainsi que les données AAA et les données de la Phase II (Phase II du service 911 évolué).
    1. Précisez si vous proposez qu’un seul réseau national de services 9-1-1 PG reçoive tous les appels des abonnés de l’ensemble du Canada?
    2. D’un point de vue technique et opérationnel, expliquez comment, et aux termes de quelles ententes (p. ex. ententes entre les parties), cet opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG serait interconnecté aux réseaux de services 9-1-1 existants, appartenant aux ESLT et maintenus par elles, afin d’assurer la prestation transparente des services 9-1-1 pendant la transition aux services 9-1-1 PG.
    3. D’un point de vue technique et opérationnel, expliquez comment les FST d’origine seraient interconnectés avec ce nouvel opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG, et aux termes de quelles ententes d’interconnexion. Tous les FST devront-ils établir de nouvelles interconnexions pour les services 9-1-1 avec l’opérateur national de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG?
    4. D’un point de vue technique et opérationnel, expliquez comment, et aux termes de quelles ententes, cet opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG serait interconnecté avec les CASP existants. L’opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG devra-t-il établir de nouvelles interconnexions avec chacun des CASP primaires et secondaires?
    5. L’opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG devra-t-il établir et conclure des ententes de services 9-1-1 avec les gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux responsables des CASP?
    6. L’opérateur unique de réseau de services9-1-1 PG serait-il une entreprise de télécommunications en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications?
    7. Quels principes guideraient le choix de l’opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG? Quelle surveillance (le cas échéant) le Conseil exercerait-il en ce qui concerne la sélection de l’opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG et les principes utilisés pour guider le processus de sélection?
    8. Quels mécanismes officiels, le cas échéant, seraient mis en place pour permettre au Conseil de surveiller le processus d’appel à la concurrence?
    9. Si l’opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG proposé devait être choisi dans le cadre d’un processus de DP, quelle serait la durée contractuelle de la fourniture du réseau de services 9-1-1 PG? Le processus de sélection de l’opérateur ESInet serait-il répété après la fin de chaque période de contrat?
    10. Décrivez le processus et les ententes envisagés en ce qui concerne l’établissement du consortium national proposé, y compris
      1. Les entités qui devraient être membres de ce consortium, si l’adhésion à ce consortium serait obligatoire ou volontaire? Si elle était obligatoire, quels mécanismes devraient être utilisés pour prescrire la participation? Si elle était volontaire, sur quels mécanismes devrait-on se fonder pour garantir que l’adhésion est représentative et non indûment restreinte?
      2. Quelles seraient la structure de gouvernance et les responsabilités du consortium?
      3. Quelle serait la nature de la surveillance que le Conseil exercerait sur le consortium et comment cette surveillance devrait-elle être exercée afin de garantir une reddition de comptes?
    11. Expliquez le rôle que jouerait la base de données centralisée proposée dans un réseau de services 9-1-1 PG en ce qui concerne la base de données d’affichage automatique de l’adresse (AAA) actuelle, les nouvelles bases de données des services 9-1-1 PG ou les composants qui doivent les remplacer à long terme.
      1. L’opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG serait-il aussi chargé de la construction et de la maintenance de cette base de données centralisée?
      2. Si un autre opérateur est responsable, l’opérateur serait-il une entreprise de télécommunications en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications?

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le 29 avril 2016, la FCC a publié le NPRM 16-53 (https://www.fcc.gov/document/real-time-text-nprm), dans lequel elle propose d’apporter des modifications à ses règlements [traduction] « pour faciliter la transition de la technologie des téléscripteurs, qui est dépassée, à des moyens fiables et interopérables pour permettre la communication par texte en temps réel pour les personnes sourdes ou ayant une déficience auditive ou un trouble de la parole et les personnes sourdes et aveugles grâce à des réseaux et des services fondés sur le protocole Internet (IP). » Plus particulièrement, au paragraphe 3 de l’annexe C, la FCC souhaite obtenir des commentaires sur [traduction] « … sa proposition selon laquelle les fournisseurs de services devraient avoir l’obligation de rendre leurs services de texte en temps réel (TTR) interopérables avec la technologie de téléscripteur prise en charge par des réseaux à commutation de circuits et sur le moment où cette exigence devrait prendre fin » [gras ajouté]. Au paragraphe 65, la FCC souhaite obtenir des commentaires sur [traduction] « … les événements ou mesures qui devraient mener à la levée de l’obligation résiduelle pour les réseaux sans fil d’être rétro compatibles avec la technologie de téléscripteur. » Au paragraphe 99, la FCC souhaite obtenir des commentaires sur [traduction] « … comment les obligations de soutien des téléscripteurs pourraient être modifiées alors que les réseaux filaires mettent fin à leurs services à commutation de circuits? ».

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Date de modification :