Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Dennis Béland (Québecor Média inc.)

Ottawa, 22 July 2016

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116

BY EMAIL

Dennis Béland
Vice president, Regulatory affairs, Telecommunications
Québecor Média inc.
dennis.beland@quebecor.com
regaffairs@quebecor.com

RE: Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116 – Requests for information

Pursuant to the procedure set out in Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116, 29 March 2016, attached are requests for information addressed to Québecor Média inc..

Responses to these requests for information are to be filed with the Commission by 23 August 2016.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.    Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, Renee.Doiron@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, James.Ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


Attachment 1

  1. For each year in the period from 2010 to 2015, provide the number of TTY-relay calls completed. Specify how many of these are 9-1-1 calls.
  2. Explain the impact on your ability to offer TTY terminal equipment that support TTY 9-1-1 calls or their availability to consumers should the United States Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) 16-53Footnote 1 result in the equipment manufacturers phasing out the capability to support TTY relay in their products. 
  3. Refer to paragraph 10 of Ontario Provincial Police’s intervention, in which it submitted that “In order to ensure that NG9-1-1 services do not downgrade or delay emergency response, it is imperative that secondary PSAP agencies be in a position to support the same types of communication methods as the primary PSAPs”. Explain, with supporting rationale, whether secondary PSAPs should be interconnected to NG9-1-1 network(s), including the associated benefits, feasibility, challenges, and possible risks as well as mitigation strategies to address those challenges and risks.
  4. If so, should the interconnection of secondary PSAPs to the NG9-1-1 network(s) be included in the NG9-1-1 funding model and, if so, how should the cost of the interconnection be funded?
  5. PSAPs have stressed the importance of the provision of automatic location information as a pre-requisite to the rollout of the use of text messaging to 9-1-1 by the general public.
    1. Provide your view on the status and feasibility of automatically providing location information with a text messaging service used by all Canadians in an NG9-1-1 environment.
    2. Given the popularity and variability of mobile applications, explain how best to manage the various texting and instant messaging technologies that could be used in an NG9-1-1 environment (e.g. standards-based [Short Message Service (SMS), Multimedia Message Service (MMS), and Real-time Text (RTT)], proprietary [BlackBerry Messager (BBM), imessage], over the top — such as Facebook messenger, Snapchat, and Whatsapp). Include any limitations, such as whether location information is available, whether multimedia (e.g. pictures and videos) can be attached, and delivery priority (e.g. delivered on a “best-effort basis”).
    3. Refer to paragraph 12 of Calgary 9-1-1’s intervention, in which it indicated that the use of SMS is declining in favour of application-based messaging services. Provide your view on usage trends for the various texting methods, as well as how these trends will impact which methods of communication consumers will use in the future and for which methods the Commission should mandate support to be used to access 9-1-1.
  6. In paragraphs 32 to 34 of its intervention, Calgary 9-1-1 submitted that developing an NG9-1-1 mobile application may provide a transparent, end-to-end connection between users and PSAPs.
    1. Provide your view on the feasibility, benefits, and/or challenges of developing such an application, which entities should be responsible for developing and managing such an application, and if such an application should be built for use across Canada. 
    2. Provide your view on the functionality that could be provided via this application.
    3. Provide your view on the feasibility, benefits, and/or challenges of funnelling voice and text messages in which emergency responses are requested via a mobile application.
    4. Provide your view on whether a mobile application could be used to collect additional user-inputted data, the data that should be collected, as well as the benefits and challenges of this approach.
    5. Are you aware of other countries that have developed mobile applications and, if so, what lessons were learned?
  7. In paragraphs 36 and 38 of its intervention, Toronto Police Service submitted that data used for emergency service purposes must come from a reliable, verifiable source, so that erroneous information does not complicate or impede emergency responses. Who should verify this data and how?
  8. Leveraging lessons learned during the recent rollout of Text with 9-1-1 for Canadians who are Deaf, hard of hearing, or have a communication disability, should the rollout of NG9-1-1 services be coordinated and rolled out at the regional, provincial, or individual PSAP level? Explain the benefits, challenges, and risk mitigation strategies associated with your proposal.
  9. Refer to paragraphs 18 to 20 and 25 of your intervention, in which you proposed that there should be a single NG9-1-1 network operator to serve Canada, and that this operator should be chosen by a national consortium through an RFP process.
    1. Clarify whether you are proposing that there should be one national NG9-1-1 network to receive all 9-1-1 calls from subscribers across Canada?
    2. Explain how, from a technical and operational standpoint, and under what arrangements (e.g. agreements between parties) this single NG9-1-1 network operator would interconnect with existing 9-1-1 networks, owned and maintained by ILECs, to ensure the seamless provision of 9-1-1 services during the transition to NG9-1-1?
    3. Explain how, from a technical and operational standpoint, originating TSPs would interconnect with this single NG9-1-1 network operator and under what interconnection arrangements? Would all TSPs have to establish new 9-1-1 interconnections with the national NG9-1-1 network operator?
    4. Explain how, from a technical and operational standpoint, and under what arrangements this single NG9-1-1 network operator would interconnect with existing PSAPs? Would the NG9-1-1 network operator have to establish new interconnections with each and every primary and secondary PSAP?
    5. Would the single NG9-1-1 network operator have to establish and enter into 9-1-1 agreements with all provincial and municipal governments responsible for the PSAPs?
    6. Would the single NG9-1-1 network operator be a telecommunications common carrier under the Telecommunications Act?
    7. What principles would guide the choice of operator and what, if any, oversight would the Commission have with respect to the selection of the NG9-1-1 network operator and the principles used to guide the selection process?
    8. If the proposed single NG9-1-1 network operator were to be chosen through an RFP process, how long would the term of the contract to provide the NG9-1-1 network last, and would the process for choosing the national ESInet(s) operator be repeated after the end of every contract term?
    9. Describe the process and arrangements contemplated with respect to the establishment of the proposed national consortium, including
      1. which entities should be members of this consortium and whether membership in this consortium would be mandatory or voluntary. If mandatory, what mechanism would be used to mandate participation? If voluntary, what mechanisms should be relied upon to ensure that membership is representative and not unduly restricted?
      2. what would be the consortium’s governance structure and responsibilities?
      3. what oversight would the Commission have over the consortium and how should this oversight be exercised to ensure accountability?
  10. Refer to paragraph 19 of your intervention, in which you submitted “We are of the opinion that there exist many advantages in regards to the establishment of a central independent entity to manage and operate NG9-1-1 network in Canada. Assuming Commission involvement is required to ensure NG9-1-1 funding, what mechanisms should be used to recover the set-up and operational costs involved under your proposal?

Footnotes

Footnote 1

On 29 April 2016, the FCC issued NPRM 16-53 (https://www.fcc.gov/document/real-time-text-nprm), in which it proposed amendments to its rules “to facilitate a transition from outdated text telephone (TTY) technology to a reliable and interoperable means of providing real-time text communication for people who are deaf, hard of hearing, speech disabled, and deaf-blind over Internet Protocol (IP)-enabled networks and services.” Specifically, in Appendix C, paragraph 3, the FCC seeks comment on “…its proposal that service providers should be required to make their RTT services interoperable with TTY technology supported by circuit-switched networks, and when that requirement should sunset” [emphasis added]. In paragraph 65, the FCC seeks comment on “…what events or measures should trigger a sunset of the residual obligation for wireless networks to be backward compatible with TTY technology.” In paragraph 99, the FCC seeks comment on “…how should TTY support obligations be modified as wireline networks discontinue their circuit-switched services?”.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Dennis Béland (Québecor Média inc.)

Ottawa, le 22 juillet 2016

Notre référence: 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Dennis Béland
Vice-président, Affaires réglementaires, Télécommunications
Québecor Média inc.
dennis.beland@quebecor.com
regaffairs@quebecor.com

OBJET :  Établissement d'un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116 – demandes de renseignements

Monsieur Béland,

Conformément à la procédure établie dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116, Établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, du 29 mars 2016, veuillez trouver ci-jointe une demande de renseignements adressée à Québecor Média inc..

Vous devez déposer auprès du Conseil les réponses à cette demande de renseignements au plus tard le 23 aout 2016.

Veuillez agréer mes sincères salutations.

Original signé par Kim Wardle pour/

Sheehan Carter
Directeur p. i. Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.    Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, Renee.Doiron@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, James.Ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca

Pièces jointes (1)


Pièce Jointe 1

  1. Pour chaque année de la période commençant en 2010 et se terminant en 2015, indiquez le nombre d’appels par téléscripteur traités. Précisez le nombre de ces appels qui étaient des appels faits à des services 9-1-1.
  2. Expliquez les conséquences sur votre capacité à offrir de l’équipement terminal prenant en charge les appels 9-1-1 par téléscripteur si le United States Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Notice of Proposed Rulemaking (NPRM) 16-53Note de bas de page 1 amenait les fabricants à abandonner progressivement la fonctionnalité qui leur permet de supporter le service de relais par téléscripteur dans leurs produits. 
  3. Au paragraphe 10 de l’intervention de la Police provinciale de l’Ontario, l’organisme soutient qu’afin de s’assurer que les services 9-1-1 PG ne retardent pas l’intervention d’urgence ou n’en réduisent pas l’efficacité, il serait primordial que les CASP secondaires soient en mesure de prendre en charge les mêmes méthodes de communication que les primaires. Expliquez, avec justification à l’appui, s’il y aurait lieu d’assurer l’interconnexion des CASP secondaires avec le ou les réseaux 9-1-1 PG, en précisant les avantages, la faisabilité, les difficultés et les risques, ainsi que les possibles stratégies d’atténuation afin de répondre à ces risques et difficultés.
  4. Si oui, y aurait-il lieu d’inclure l’interconnexion des CASP secondaires aux réseaux 9-1-1 PG dans le modèle de financement du service 9-1-1 PG et, le cas échéant, comment faudrait-il la financer?
  5. Les CASP soulignent l’importance de mettre en place l’affichage automatique d’adresses avant de proposer au grand public des services 9-1-1 par messagerie texte.
    1. Donnez votre point de vue sur l’état et la faisabilité de la mise en place d’un affichage automatique d’adresses de pair avec un service de messagerie texte utilisé par l’ensemble des Canadiens dans un environnement de services 9-1-1 PG.
    2. Compte tenu de la popularité et de la variété des applications mobiles, décrivez la meilleure façon de gérer les diverses technologies de messagerie texte et instantanée qui pourraient être utilisées dans un environnement de services 9-1-1 PG (p. ex. les applications normalisées [Short Message Service (SMS), Multimedia Message Service (MMS) et Real-time Text (RTT)], de propriété exclusive [Blackberry Messenger (BBM) et iMessage] et par contournement [comme Facebook Messenger, Snapchat et Whatsapp]). Indiquez toute contrainte en ce qui a trait, par exemple, à l’accessibilité aux données de localisation, à la possibilité de joindre du contenu multimédia (p. ex. photos et vidéos) et aux priorités en matière de prestation (p. ex. services offerts sur la base du « meilleur effort »).
    3. Au paragraphe 12 de l’intervention de Calgary 9-1-1, il est indiqué que l’utilisation de messages texte périclite en raison des services de messagerie d’applications mobiles. Donnez votre point de vue sur les tendances d’utilisation pour les diverses méthodes de textage. Précisez comment ces tendances influenceront les moyens de communication des consommateurs, et indiquez les moyens pour lesquels le Conseil devrait rendre le soutien obligatoire afin d’accéder aux services de 9-1-1.
  6. Aux paragraphes 32 à 34 de son intervention, Calgary 9-1-1 mentionne que la conception d’une application mobile de services 9-1-1 PG permettrait l’établissement d’une connexion de bout en bout transparente entre les utilisateurs et les CASP.
    1. Donnez votre point de vue sur la faisabilité, les avantages ou les problèmes liés à la conception d’une telle application, ainsi que sur les entités qui devraient s’occuper de la conception et de la gestion de l’application, et précisez si cette dernière devrait être mise au point en vue d’une utilisation à la grandeur du Canada.
    2. Donnez votre point de vue sur les fonctions que pourrait offrir cette application.
    3. Donnez votre point de vue sur la faisabilité, les avantages ou les problèmes liés à la transmission, à l’aide d’une application mobile, de messages vocaux ou par texte exigeant une intervention d’urgence.
    4. Indiquez si, selon vous, une application mobile pourrait être utilisée pour recueillir des données supplémentaires entrées par l’utilisateur. Précisez également la nature des données qui devraient être recueillies, ainsi que les avantages et les inconvénients de cette approche.
    5. Si vous en connaissez, nommez d’autres pays qui ont élaboré des applications mobiles semblables et, le cas échéant, indiquez les leçons qui en ont été tirées?
  7. Aux paragraphes 36 et 38 de son intervention, le Service de police de Toronto mentionne que les données utilisées en cas d’urgence doivent provenir d’une source fiable, pour s’assurer que les renseignements erronés ne compliquent pas ni n’entravent les interventions d’urgence. Qui devrait vérifier ces données et comment?
  8. À la lumière des leçons apprises lors du déploiement récent de l’acheminement des messages texte au service 9-1-1 pour les Canadiens sourds, malentendants ou ayant un trouble de la communication, le déploiement des services 9-1-1 PG devrait-il se dérouler et être coordonné l’échelle de la région, de la province ou du CASP? Expliquez les avantages, les difficultés et les stratégies d’atténuation du risque de votre proposition.
  9. Reportez-vous aux paragraphes 18 à 20 et 25 de votre intervention, dans lesquels vous proposez qu’un seul opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG serve le Canada, et que ce dernier soit choisi par un consortium national dans le cadre d’un processus d’appel d’offre.
    1. Précisez si vous proposez qu’un seul réseau national de services 9-1-1 PG reçoive tous les appels 9-1-1 des abonnés partout au Canada.
    2. D’un point de vue technique et opérationnel, expliquez comment, et aux termes de quelles ententes (p. ex. ententes entre les parties), cet opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG serait interconnecté aux réseaux de services 9-1-1 existants, appartenant aux ESLT et maintenus par elles, afin d’assurer la prestation transparente des services 9-1-1 pendant la transition aux services 9-1-1 PG.
    3. D’un point de vue technique et opérationnel, expliquez comment les FST d’origine seraient interconnectés avec cet opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG, et aux termes de quelles ententes d’interconnexion. Tous les FST devront-ils établir de nouvelles interconnexions pour les services 9-1-1 avec l’opérateur national de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG?
    4. D’un point de vue technique et opérationnel, expliquez comment, et aux termes de quelles ententes, cet opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG serait interconnecté avec les CASP existants. L’opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG devra-t-il établir de nouvelles interconnexions avec chacun des CASP primaires et secondaires?
    5. L’opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG devra-t-il établir et conclure des ententes de services 9-1-1 avec les gouvernements provinciaux et municipaux responsables des CASP?
    6. L’opérateur unique de réseau de services9-1-1 PG serait-il une entreprise de télécommunications en vertu de la Loi sur les télécommunications?
    7. Quels principes guideraient le choix de l’opérateur? Quelle surveillance (le cas échéant) le Conseil exercerait-il en ce qui concerne la sélection de l’opérateur de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG et les principes utilisés pour guider le processus de sélection?
    8. Si l’opérateur unique de réseau de services 9-1-1 PG proposé devait être choisi dans le cadre d’un processus d’appel d’offre, quelle serait la durée contractuelle de la fourniture du réseau de services 9-1-1 PG? Le processus de sélection de l’opérateur national de l’ESInet serait-il répété après la fin de chaque période de contrat?
    9. Décrivez le processus et les ententes envisagés en ce qui a trait à l’établissement du consortium national proposé, notamment 
      1. Quelles entités seraient membres de ce consortium et si la participation au consortium serait obligatoire ou facultative. Si la participation était obligatoire, quel mécanisme serait employé pour l’imposer? Si la participation était facultative, quel mécanisme serait employé pour assurer une composition représentative et non indûment restreinte du consortium?
      2. Quelles seraient la structure de gouvernance et les responsabilités du consortium?
      3. Quelle serait la nature de la surveillance que le Conseil exercerait sur le consortium et comment cette surveillance devrait-elle être exercée afin de garantir une reddition de comptes?
  10. Au paragraphe 19 de votre intervention, vous énoncez : « Nous sommes d’avis qu’il existe plusieurs avantages à l’établissement d’une entité centralisée et indépendante pour gérer et opérer le réseau 9-1-1 PG au Canada. » À supposer que l’intervention du Conseil soit nécessaire pour garantir le financement des services 9-1-1 PG, quels mécanismes devraient être utilisés afin de rembourser les coûts d’installation et d’exploitation prévus par votre proposition?

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le 29 avril 2016, la FCC a publié le NPRM 16-53 (https://www.fcc.gov/document/real-time-text-nprm), dans lequel elle propose d’apporter des modifications à ses règlements [traduction] « pour faciliter la transition de la technologie des téléscripteurs, qui est dépassée, à des moyens fiables et interopérables pour permettre la communication par texte en temps réel pour les personnes sourdes ou ayant une déficience auditive ou un trouble de la parole et les personnes sourdes et aveugles grâce à des réseaux et des services fondés sur le protocole Internet (IP). » Plus particulièrement, au paragraphe 3 de l’annexe C, la FCC souhaite obtenir des commentaires sur [traduction] « … sa proposition selon laquelle les fournisseurs de services devraient avoir l’obligation de rendre leurs services de texte en temps réel (TTR) interopérables avec la technologie de téléscripteur prise en charge par des réseaux à commutation de circuits et sur le moment où cette exigence devrait prendre fin » [gras ajouté]. Au paragraphe 65, la FCC souhaite obtenir des commentaires sur [traduction] « … les événements ou mesures qui devraient mener à la levée de l’obligation résiduelle pour les réseaux sans fil d’être rétro compatibles avec la technologie de téléscripteur. » Au paragraphe 99, la FCC souhaite obtenir des commentaires sur [traduction] « … comment les obligations de soutien des téléscripteurs pourraient être modifiées alors que les réseaux filaires mettent fin à leurs services à commutation de circuits? ».

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Date de modification :