Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Daniel Therrien (Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada)

Ottawa, 22 July 2016

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116

BY EMAIL

Daniel Therrien
Commissioner
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
daniel.therrien@priv.gc.ca

RE:     Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116 – Requests for information

Dear Mr. Therrien:

Pursuant to the procedure set out in Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116, 29 March 2016, attached are requests for information addressed to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

Responses to these requests for information are to be filed with the Commission by 23 August 2016.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Kim Wardle for/

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.    Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, Renee.Doiron@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, James.Ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (1)


Attachment 1

  1. In paragraphs 20, 63, and 64 of PIAC’s intervention, PIAC indicated that opt-in consent should be required for the collection, use, and transmission of certain types of personal information for emergency purposes. Provide your view, with supporting rationale, on whether opt-in consent should be required for the disclosure of certain types of personal information for the purpose of a 9-1-1 communication (e.g. from telematics and Internet of Things devices). If so, indicate for which types of information opt-in consent should be required and why. Also provide your view on the Commission’s role in this regard.
  2. In paragraphs 33 and 34 of the Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec’s (Coalition) intervention, the Coalition indicated that access to a Canadian NG9-1-1 network by Americans raised confidentiality and privacy issues in light of the Patriot Act. Provide your view on the risks and challenges regarding privacy issues associated with access to Canadian NG9-1-1 network(s) by foreign jurisdictions, for example, in light of the Patriot Act. Also provide your view on possible measures that the Commission could implement to mitigate these privacy issues, if any measures are required.
  3. In paragraph 77 of TELUS Communications Company’s (TELUS) intervention and paragraph 57 of the Coalition’s intervention, these parties indicated that information on third parties could potentially be transmitted without the third party’s consent for the purpose of a 9-1-1 communication, for example, through images and videos. Provide your view on the risks and challenges regarding privacy issues associated with the disclosure of third-party personal information without consent during a 9-1-1 communication. Also provide your view on possible solutions and/or measures that the Commission could implement to mitigate these privacy issues, if any measures are required.
  4. In paragraphs 7 to 9 of your intervention, you indicated that the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) would not apply to the personal information handling practices of most public safety answering points (PSAPs), but that provincial or territorial legislation may apply.
    1. Are you aware of which province/territory has legislation in place governing the collection, use, and disclosure of personal information related to 9-1-1 communications by PSAPs and/or other emergency responders? If so, provide a description of the legislation and outline the major differences between these different legislations.
    2. Indicate, with supporting rationale, whether and what gap(s) exists between provinces and/or territories with respect to the protection of personal information provided during a 9-1-1 communication. Provide your view on the risks and challenges associated with any possible gap(s).
    3. Provide your view on possible solutions and/or measures that the Commission could implement to mitigate these privacy issues, if any measures are required, taking into account the Commission’s jurisdiction and existing privacy legislation.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Daniel Therrien (Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada)

Ottawa, le 22 juillet 2016

Notre référence: 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Daniel Therrien
Commissaire
Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
daniel.therrien@priv.gc.ca

OBJET :  Établissement d'un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116 – demandes de renseignements

Monsieur Therrien,

Conformément à la procédure établie dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116, Établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, du 29 mars 2016, veuillez trouver ci-jointe une demande de renseignements adressée au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

Vous devez déposer auprès du Conseil les réponses à cette demande de renseignements au plus tard le 23 aout 2016.

Veuillez agréer mes sincères salutations.

Original signé par Kim Wardle pour/

Sheehan Carter
Directeur p. i. Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c.    Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, Renee.Doiron@crtc.gc.ca
James Ndirangu, CRTC, 819-997-3670, James.Ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca

Pièces jointes (1)


Pièce jointe 1

  1. Aux paragraphes 20, 63 et 64 de son intervention, le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC) mentionne qu’un consentement volontaire devrait être requis pour la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication de certains types de renseignements personnels en cas d’urgence. Donnez votre point de vue, avec justification à l’appui, sur la nécessité d’obtenir un consentement volontaire pour permettre la divulgation de certains types de renseignements dans le contexte d’une communication 9-1-1 (p. ex. à partir d’appareils de télématique et de l’Internet des objets). Le cas échéant, précisez le type de renseignements pour lesquels un consentement volontaire serait requis et pour quelles raisons il serait requis. Donnez aussi votre point de vue sur le rôle du Conseil relativement à cette question.
  2. Aux paragraphes 33 et 34 de son intervention, la Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec (la Coalition) mentionne que l’accès à un réseau 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG) canadien par les Américains soulève des questions en matière de respect de la vie privée et de confidentialité par rapport à la Patriot Act. Donnez votre point de vue sur les risques et les défis inhérents à la protection de la vie privée en ce qui concerne l’accès d’autres pays à un ou à des réseaux 9-1-1 PG canadiens, notamment par rapport à la Patriot Act. Donnez aussi votre point de vue sur les mesures que le Conseil pourrait mettre en place pour atténuer ces problèmes de protection de la vie privée, dans le cas où de telles mesures seraient requises.
  3. Au paragraphe 77 de l’intervention de la Société TELUS Communications et au paragraphe 57 de l’intervention de la Coalition, ces parties mentionnent qu’il existe un risque que des renseignements sur un tiers soient transmis sans le consentement de ce dernier dans le contexte d’une communication 9-1-1 (par des images et des vidéos par exemple). Donnez votre point de vue sur les risques et les défis inhérents à la protection de la vie privée en ce qui concerne la divulgation de renseignements personnels d’un tiers sans son consentement dans le contexte d’une communication 9-1-1. Donnez aussi votre point de vue sur les mesures que le Conseil pourrait mettre en place pour atténuer ces problèmes de protection de la vie privée, dans le cas où de telles mesures seraient requises.
  4. Aux paragraphes 7 à 9 de votre intervention, vous mentionnez que la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) ne s’appliquerait pas aux pratiques de traitement des renseignements personnels de la plupart des centres d’appels de la sécurité publique (CASP), mais que des lois provinciales et territoriales pourraient s’appliquer.
    1. Savez-vous quelle(s) province(s) ou quel(s) territoire(s) dispose(nt) d’une loi régissant la collecte, l’utilisation et la communication par les CASP ou les intervenants d’urgence des renseignements personnels relatifs aux communications 9-1-1? Dans l’affirmative, fournissez une description de ces lois et présentez les principales différences entre ces différentes lois.
    2. Indiquez, avec justification à l’appui, s’il existe des disparités entre les provinces et les territoires en ce qui a trait à la protection des renseignements personnels fournis pendant une communication 9-1-1 et expliquez-les. Donnez votre point de vue sur les risques et les défis associés à ces disparités potentielles.  
    3. Donnez votre point de vue sur les solutions et les mesures que le Conseil pourrait mettre en place pour atténuer les problèmes de protection de la vie privée, dans le cas où des mesures seraient requises, en tenant compte de la compétence du Conseil et des lois actuelles en matière de vie privée.      
Date de modification :