Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Simon Lockie (Yak Communications (Canada) Corp.)

Ottawa, 8 July 2016

Our Reference: 8640-B2-201606245

DELIVERED BY EMAIL

Mr. Simon Lockie,
Yak Communications (Canada) Corp.
48 Yonge Street, Suite 1200
Toronto, ON  K1A 0N2
yakregulatory@globalive.com
SimonLockie@Globalive.com

RE: Bell Canada Part 1 application for forbearance from the regulation of Billing and Collection services – Yak Communications (Canada) Corp. - procedural requests

Dear Sir:

On 17 June 2016, the Commission received a letter from Yak Communications (Canada) Corp. (Yak) regarding Bell Canada’s (Bell) Part 1 application for forbearance from the regulation of Billing and Collection services (BCS) (the application).

In that letter, Yak requests that the Commission close Bell’s application.  Alternatively, should the Commission decide to proceed with the application, Yak requests that the intervention period for the application be extended to 30 days from the date the Commission issues a decision regarding its procedural request.

In support of its request to close the application, Yak argues that Bell’s application is inconsistent with the Commission’s determinations in the Wholesale Wireline Framework DecisionFootnote 1 which maintained the regulatory status of BCS as a mandated service and indicated that the framework would remain in place for a minimum of five years. 

In this regard, Yak argues that Bell had the opportunity to provide sufficient evidence to demonstrate that BCS should not be treated as a mandated wholesale service in the wholesale wireline framework review proceeding, but had failed to do so. Yak also argues that an appropriate recourse for Bell would have been to file an application to review and vary any part of the Wholesale Wireline Framework Decision, but that Bell had not done so.

On 30 June 2016, the Commission received letters in support of Yak’s requests from the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) and Distributel Communications Limited (Distributel). In addition, CNOC and Distributel requested that the Commission direct Bell to serve the application on additional parties.Footnote 2

Commission staff notes that Bell has filed its application in accordance with section 22 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules).Footnote 3 The application complies with the requirements set out in section 22 of the Rulesand has accordingly been posted on the Commission’s website. As a result, the merits of the application, taking into consideration the answers and interventions received by parties during the course of this proceeding, will be considered by the Commission in accordance with its normal procedures.

Commission staff notes that Bell has served a copy of its application on its current Billing and Collection wholesale customers. However, in order to provide all parties adverse in interest with specific knowledge of the application, Bell is to serve a copy of its application on all registered competitive local exchange carriers operating within the territories covered by the application by 12 July 2016.

Moreover, in order to provide all parties an adequate opportunity to comment on the application, the deadlines associated with Bell’s application are modified as follows:

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:   Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca
Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Michael Garbe, CNOC, regulatory@cnoc.ca
Donald Cavanagh, Distributel, regulatory@distributel.ca

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Review of wholesale wireline services and associated policies, Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-326, 22 July 2015 (TRP 2016-326).

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

CNOC requested that the Commission direct Bell Canada to serve its application on all entities registered with the Commission as local exchange carriers (LECs) and resellers, while Distributel requested that it be served on all LECs and interexchange carriers.

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

SOR/2010-277

Return to footnote 3

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à Simon Lockie (Yak Communications (Canada) Corp.)

Ottawa, le 8 juillet 2016

N/Réf. : 8640-B2-201606245

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Simon Lockie,
Yak Communications (Canada) Corp.
48, rue Yonge, bureau 1200
Toronto (Ontario)  K1A 0N2
yakregulatory@globalive.com
SimonLockie@Globalive.com

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie1 présentée par Bell Canada visant l’abstention de la réglementation des services de facturation et de recouvrement – Yak Communications (Canada) Corp. – requêtes procédurales

Monsieur,

Le 17 juin 2016, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de Yak Communications (Canada) Corp. (Yak) concernant la demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Bell Canada (Bell) visant l’abstention de la réglementation des services de facturation et de recouvrement (la demande).

Dans sa lettre, Yak a demandé au Conseil de clore la demande de Bell. Par ailleurs, si le Conseil décide de poursuivre le traitement de la demande, Yak demande que la période d’intervention de la demande soit prolongée de 30 jours après la date à laquelle le Conseil rendra une décision à l’égard de la requête procédurale.

Pour justifier sa demande de clôture de la demande, Yak fait valoir que la demande de Bell est incompatible avec les conclusions du Conseil énoncées dans l’Examen du cadre des services filaires de gros et des politiques connexesNote de bas de page 1 qui maintiennent le statut réglementaire des services de facturation et de recouvrement comme étant des services obligatoires et qui indiquent que le cadre doit demeurer en place pendant au moins cinq ans.

À cet égard, Yak affirme que Bell disposait de suffisamment de temps pour produire des preuves justifiant pourquoi les services de facturation et de recouvrement ne devraient pas être traités comme des services de gros obligatoires dans le cadre de l’examen du cadre des services filaires de gros, mais ne l’a pas fait. Yak souligne également qu’un recours approprié dont Bell aurait pu se prévaloir est la présentation d’une demande de révision et de modification de certains aspects de la décision sur le Cadre des services filaires de gros, mais Bell ne l’a pas fait.

Le 30 juin 2016, le Conseil a reçu des lettres à l’appui des demandes de Yak présentées par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens (CORC) et Distributel Communications Limitée (Distributel). De plus, le CORC et Distributel demandent au Conseil d’ordonner à Bell de signifier la demande à toutes les parties supplémentaires.Note de bas de page 2

Le personnel du Conseil note que Bell a présenté sa demande conformément à l’article 22 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications (les Règles).Note de bas de page 3 La demande est conforme aux exigences énoncées à l’article 22 des Règles, c’est pourquoi elle a été affichée sur le site Web du Conseil. Par conséquent, les mérites de la demande, tenant compte des réponses et interventions reçues par les parties dans le cadre de cette instance, seront examinées par le Conseil conformément aux procédures normales.

Le personnel note que Bell a signifié une copie de sa demande à tous ses clients de gros de ses services de facturation et de recouvrement. Toutefois, afin que toutes les parties pouvant avoir des intérêts opposés soient mises au courant de la demande, Bell doit signifier copie de sa demande à toutes les entreprises de services locaux concurrentes enregistrées qui desservent les territoires visés par la demande, et ce, d’ici le 12 juillet 2016.

En outre, afin de permettre équitablement à toutes les parties de formuler des observations sur la demande, les dates limites associées à la demande de Bell sont modifiées comme suit :

Veuillez agréer mes sincères salutations.

Original signé par

Sheehan Carter
Directeur p. i., Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

C. c.    Sylvie Labbé, CRTC, 819-953-4945, sylvie.labbe@crtc.gc.ca
Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Michael Garbe, CORC, regulatory@cnoc.ca
Donald Cavanagh, Distributel, regulatory@distributel.ca

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Examen du cadre des services filaires de gros et des politiques connexes, Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-326, 22 juillet 2015 (PRT 2016-326).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le CORC a demandé au Conseil d’ordonner à Bell Canada de signifier sa demande à toutes les parties enregistrées auprès du Conseil en tant qu’entreprise de services locaux (ESL) et revendeur, tandis que Distributel a demandé que Bell signifie sa demande à toutes les ESL et à tous les fournisseurs de services intercirconscriptions.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

DORS/2010-277

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Date de modification :