Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 7 July 2016

Our reference:  8640-B2-201601253

By Email

Distribution List

RE:  Bell Canada – Forbearance from the regulation of wireless access services – Request for information

Dear Sir/Madam:

The Commission received a Part 1 application, dated 6 April 2016, from Bell Canada, pursuant to section 34 of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), requesting that the Commission refrain from exercising its powers and performing its duties under sections 24, 25, 27, 29, and 31 of the Act in relation to the wireless access services provided by Bell Canada (including the former Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership, or Bell Aliant), Télébec, Société en commandite (Télébec), and NorthernTel Limited Partnership (NorthernTel), in Ontario, Quebec, and Atlantic Canada (collectively, the Companies).

The Commission received interventions from the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), TELUS Communications Company (TCC), WIND Mobile Corp. (WIND), and one individual.

Pursuant to paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, the Commission may require a party to provide information, particulars or documents that it considers necessary to enable the Commission to reach a full and satisfactory understanding of the subject matter of the proceeding.

Bell Canada, RCCI, and WIND are requested to provide comprehensive answers, including any supporting information, to the attached questions.

Parties are to file their responses to the attached request for information with the Commission, serving a copy on all other parties, by 9 September 2016.

Any party may file interventions on the responses to the requests for information with the Commission, and serve copies on all other parties by 19 September 2016. Any party may file reply comments with the Commission, and serve copies on all other parties by 29 September 2016.

As set out in section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential. A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure. Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Where a document is to be filed or served by a specific date, the document must be actually received, not merely sent, by that date.

Yours sincerely

Original signed by

Sheehan Carter
A/Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.      Laurie Ventura, CRTC, (819) 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Mory Fodé Fofana, CRTC, (819) 639-8109, moryfode.fofana@crtc.gc.ca

Attach. (3)

Distribution List
Bell Canada, Phillippe Gauvin, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
CNOC, William Sandiford, regulatory@cnoc.ca
PIAC, Geoff White, gwhite@piac.ca; John Lawford, jlawford@piac.ca; Cynthia Khoo, ckhoo@piac.ca
RCCI, Howard Slawner, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
TCC, Stephen Schmidt, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
WIND, Edward Antecol, eantecol@windmobile.ca

Questions for Bell Canada

I. Definition

For the purposes of this request for information, the following definitions apply:

  1. Relevant Period ‒ means annually, for the period between 1 January 2011 and 1 June 2016.
  2. Alternatives ‒ means the three proposed alternatives to wireless access service (WAS) that a wireless carrier could turn to in response to a price increase in WAS, as described in paragraph 28 of Bell Canada’s Part 1 application of 6 April 2016:
    1. become a Type II CLEC allowing them to benefit from a direct, shared-cost interconnection with a Bill and Keep compensation model; or
    2. indirectly connect with a LEC through an affiliated CLEC; or
    3. indirectly connect with a LEC through a negotiated agreement with an unaffiliated CLEC that has already established, or could establish, local network interconnection arrangements with a LEC.

II. Questions

  1. For the Relevant Period and for each LIR, for each of the Companies,
    1. identify each instance where a customer of the company in question has terminated an existing WAS contract, and

      indicate the annual dollar value of each terminated contract as of the last full year before the contract was terminated;

  2. For each of the Companies, and for each of the last five years, provide in Excel format using the following table,
    1. a list of all WAS customers and indicate the exchanges and LIRs in which they operate,
    2. the start and expiry dates for those contracts, and
    3. if the WAS customer has an affiliated CLEC in the LIR, the name of that CLEC.
      Year WAS customer Exchange LIR Contract start date Contract expiry date Name of affiliated CLEC in the LIR
      2015            
      2014            
      2013            
      2012            
      2011            
  3. At paragraph 110 of Telecom Decision 2008-17, the Commission determined that services related to the interchange of traffic between LECs and WSPs are to be classified as interconnection services. In addition, the Commission stated the following at paragraph 101 of that decision: “The Commission considers that it would be unreasonable to expect CLECs to establish a presence in an ILEC exchange or LIR if they do not intend to offer local exchange services to end-customers in that exchange or LIR…”
    1. Given the principles and determinations cited above, and considering that sections 40 and 42 of the Telecommunications Act constitute a distinct authority to mandate interconnection arrangements, please explain, with justification, whether and what impact the interconnection status of WAS should have on:
      1. Bell’s proposal that WAS no longer be mandated; and
      2. The scope of forbearance that may be provided for by the Commission as a result of this proceeding.
    2. Each of Bell Canada’s proposed Alternatives to WAS is dependent upon the wireless carrier either partnering with a CLEC already in an LIR or establishing a presence in the LIR, while WAS does not require the wireless carrier to have a presence in each LIR. Please explain how the requirement for a presence in each LIR could be considered an efficient interconnection solution for competitors.
  4. Explain, with rationale, what you would consider to be an appropriate transition period if the Commission were to remove the obligation to provide WAS.

Questions for RCCI and WIND

I. Definitions

  1. Alternatives ‒ means the three proposed alternatives to wireless access service (WAS) that a wireless carrier could turn to in response to a price increase in WAS, as described in paragraph 28 of Bell Canada’s Part 1 application of 6 April 2016:
    1. become a Type II CLEC allowing them to benefit from a direct, shared-cost interconnection with a Bill and Keep compensation model; or
    2. indirectly connect with a LEC through an affiliated CLEC; or
    3. indirectly connect with a LEC through a negotiated agreement with an unaffiliated CLEC that has already established, or could establish, local network interconnection arrangements with a LEC.
  2. The Operating Territories ‒ means the incumbent operating territory of Bell Canada (including the former Bell Aliant) in Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Newfoundland and Labrador, as well as the operating territories of Télébec and NorthernTel.

II. Questions for RCCI

  1. Paragraph 30 of RCCI’s comment on Bell Canada’s application states:

    Bell’s attempt to forbear WAS will jeopardize competition in some exchanges, thereby fulfilling the competition component. As the Commission explained in paragraph 42 of TRP 2015-326 “if, on balance, the Commission finds that there is upstream market power and that the associated downstream retail market(s) could be negatively impacted to a substantial degree if it does not mandate the provision of the wholesale service, the competition component would be satisfied.” As explained above, affiliated CLECs, unaffiliated CLECs, and becoming WCLEC are not alternatives in every exchange. There are some exchanges where none of them will be available. In such places, WSPs would be subject to Bell’s discretion, harming their ability to deliver competitive wireless services in those exchanges.

    1. Identify those exchanges and LIRs in the Operating Territories where, by RCCI’s criteria, there are no alternatives and the forbearance from regulation of WAS will jeopardize competition.
    2. What are the parameters that RCCI considers in deciding whether to become a wireless CLEC versus remaining a wireless carrier and using WAS?
  2. Explain, with rationale, what you would consider to be an appropriate transition period if the Commission were to remove the obligation to provide WAS.

III. Questions for WIND

  1. In its comments on Bell Canada’s application, WIND stated:

    Wireless Access Service (“WAS”) is no longer required by WIND as it enters new markets; WIND prefers to interconnect as a wireless CLEC on a co-carrier basis. WIND is also migrating its legacy WAS interconnections to wireless CLEC interconnections.

    1. Provide WIND’s rationale for the following. Rationale should include cost, network, and traffic efficiency considerations:
      1. using WAS when entering new wireless markets in the past instead of becoming a wireless CLEC, and
      2. deciding to become a wireless CLEC.
  2. Explain, with rationale, what you would consider to be an appropriate transition period if the Commission were to remove the obligation to provide WAS.
Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 7 juillet 2016

Référence : 8640-B2-201601253

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet : Bell Canada – Abstention de la réglementation des services d’accès sans fil – Demande de renseignements

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil a reçu une demande en vertu de la partie 1, datée du 6 avril 2016, présentée par Bell Canada aux termes de l’article 34 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi), réclamant que le Conseil s’abstienne d’exercer les pouvoirs et fonctions prévus aux articles 24, 25, 27, 29 et 31 de la Loi en ce qui a trait aux services d’accès sans fil fournis par Bell Canada (y compris l’ancienne Bell Aliant Communications régionales, société en commandite, ou Bell Aliant), Télébec, société en commandite (Télébec), et NorthernTel, société en commandite (NorthernTel), en Ontario, au Québec et au Canada atlantique (collectivement, les compagnies).

Le Conseil a reçu des interventions du Consortium des Opérateurs de Réseaux Canadiens Inc. (CORC), du Centre pour la défense de l'intérêt public (PIAC), de Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI), de la Société TELUS Communications (STC), de WIND Mobile Corp. (WIND), ainsi que d’un particulier.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires pour bien comprendre l’objet de l’instance.

Le personnel du Conseil demande à Bell Canada, à RCCI et à WIND de fournir des réponses complètes aux questions ci-jointes, y compris toute information à l’appui.

Les parties ont jusqu’au 9 septembre 2016 pour déposer auprès du Conseil leurs réponses à la demande de renseignements et en signifier copie à toutes les autres parties.

Toute partie a jusqu’au 19 septembre 2016 pour déposer auprès du Conseil des observations sur les réponses aux demandes de renseignements et en signifier copie à toutes les autres parties. Toute partie a jusqu’au 29 septembre 2016 pour déposer des observations en réplique auprès du Conseil et en signifier copie à toutes les autres parties.

Tel qu’il est énoncé à l’article 39 de la Loi et dans le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961 intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, une personne peut désigner des renseignements comme confidentiels. La personne qui désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi les renseignements sont présentés sous le sceau de la confidentialité et pourquoi leur divulgation ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, tout en précisant en quoi le préjudice direct précis que pourrait entraîner la divulgation des renseignements l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de divulguer ceux-ci. De plus, lorsqu’une personne désigne des renseignements comme confidentiels, elle doit déposer une version abrégée du document, dans laquelle seuls les renseignements désignés comme confidentiels ont été retirés, ou fournir les raisons pour lesquelles une version abrégée ne peut être déposée.

Lorsqu’un document doit être déposé ou signifié à une date précise, il doit être effectivement reçu, et non pas simplement envoyé, à la date indiquée.

Je vous prie d’agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Original signé par

Sheehan Carter
Directeur intérimaire, Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.     Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Mory Fodé Fofana, CRTC, 819-639-8109, moryfode.fofana@crtc.gc.ca

Pièces jointes (3)

Liste de distribution
Bell Canada, Phillippe Gauvin, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
CORC, William Sandiford, regulatory@cnoc.ca
PIAC, Geoff White, gwhite@piac.ca; John Lawford, jlawford@piac.ca; Cynthia Khoo, ckhoo@piac.ca
RCCI, Howard Slawner, rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com
STC, Stephen Schmidt, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
WIND, Edward Antecol, eantecol@windmobile.ca

Questions adressées à Bell Canada

I. Définitions

Dans la présente demande de renseignements, les définitions suivantes s’appliquent :

  1. Période pertinente ‒ signifie annuellement, pour la période allant du 1er janvier 2011 au 1er juin 2016.
  2. Solutions de rechange ‒ s’entend des trois solutions de rechange proposées pour les services d’accès sans fil (SASF) auxquelles une entreprise de services sans fil pourrait faire appel en réaction à une hausse de prix des SASF, telles qu’elles sont décrites au paragraphe 28 de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 du 6 avril 2016 de Bell Canada, à savoir :
    1. devenir une ESLC de type II, ce qui permet à l’entreprise de bénéficier d’une interconnexion directe à frais partagés assortie d’un modèle de compensation par facturation-conservation;
    2. se connecter indirectement à une ESL par l’entremise d’une ESLC affiliée;
    3. se connecter indirectement à une ESL au moyen d’une entente négociée avec une ESLC non affiliée ayant déjà établi, ou pouvant établir, une entente d’interconnexion des réseaux locaux avec l’ESL.

II. Questions

  1. Pour la période pertinente et pour chaque RIL, pour chacune des compagnies,
    1. identifiez tous les cas où un client de la compagnie a résilié un contrat de SASF en vigueur;
    2. indiquez la valeur pécuniaire annuelle de chacun des contrats résiliés en date de la dernière année complète avant la résiliation du contrat.
  2. Pour chacune des compagnies, et pour chacune des cinq dernières années, fournissez en format Excel, au moyen du tableau suivant :
    1. une liste de tous les clients de SASF et indiquez les circonscriptions et les RIL dans lesquelles ils mènent leurs activités;
    2. les dates de début et d’expiration de ces contrats;
    3. si le client de SASF a une ESLC affiliée dans la RIL, le nom de cette ESLC.
    Année Client de SASF Circonscription RIL Date de début du contrat Date d’expiration du contrat Nom de l’ESLC affiliée dans la RIL
    2015            
    2014            
    2013            
    2012            
    2011            
  3. Au paragraphe 110 de la décision de télécom 2008-17, le Conseil a déterminé que les services liés à l’échange de trafic entre les ESL et les FSSF doivent être classés parmi les services d’interconnexion. En outre, le Conseil a déclaré, au paragraphe 101 de cette décision, que : « Le Conseil estime qu'il serait déraisonnable de s'attendre à ce que les ESLC établissent une présence dans la circonscription d'une ESLT ou dans une RIL si elles n'entendent pas offrir des services locaux aux utilisateurs finals dans cette circonscription ou RIL [...] ».
    1. Compte tenu des conclusions et principes cités ci-dessus, et vu que les articles 40 et 42 de la Loi constituent un pouvoir distinct pour prescrire les ententes d’interconnexion, veuillez expliquer, en prenant soin de donner une justification, quelle serait, le cas échéant, l’incidence de l’état d’interconnexion des SASF sur :
      1. la proposition de Bell voulant que les SASF ne soient plus prescrits;
      2. la portée de l’abstention qui pourrait être accordée par le Conseil au terme de l’instance.
    2. Chacune des solutions de rechange aux SASF proposées par Bell Canada exige que  l’entreprise de services sans fil crée un partenariat avec une ESLC déjà présente dans la RIL ou qu’elle y établisse une présence, alors que les SASF ne nécessitent pas que l’entreprise de services sans fil ait une présence dans chacune des RIL. Veuillez expliquer comment l’exigence d’une présence dans chaque RIL pourrait être considérée une solution d’interconnexion efficace pour les concurrents.
  4. Expliquez, en en donnant la justification, ce que vous considéreriez comme étant une période de transition appropriée si le Conseil retirait l’obligation de fournir des SASF.

Questions adressées à RCCI et à WIND

I. Définitions

  1. Solutions de rechange ‒ s’entend des trois solutions de rechange proposées pour les services d’accès sans fil (SASF) auxquelles une entreprise de services sans fil pourrait faire appel en réaction à une hausse de prix des SASF, telles qu’elles sont décrites au paragraphe 28 de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 du 6 avril 2016 de Bell Canada, à savoir :
    1. devenir une ESLC de type II, ce qui permet à l’entreprise de bénéficier d’une interconnexion directe à frais partagés assortie d’un modèle de compensation par facturation-conservation;
    2. se connecter indirectement à une ESL par l’entremise d’une ESLC affiliée;
    3. se connecter indirectement à une ESL au moyen d’une entente négociée avec une ESLC non affiliée ayant déjà établi, ou pouvant établir, une entente d’interconnexion des réseaux locaux avec une ESL.
  2. Territoires d’exploitation ‒ s’entend du territoire où Bell Canada (y compris de l’ancienne Bell Aliant) exerce ses activités à titre de titulaire en Ontario, au Québec, au Nouveau-Brunswick, en Nouvelle-Écosse, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, à Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, ainsi que des territoires d’exploitation de Télébec et de NorthernTel.

II. Questions adressées à RCCI

  1. Le paragraphe 30 des observations de RCCI à l’égard de la demande de Bell Canada dit :

    La tentative de Bell de soustraire les SASF à la réglementation compromettra la concurrence dans certaines circonscriptions, satisfaisant ainsi à la condition relative à la concurrence. Comme l’explique le Conseil au paragraphe 42 de la PRT 2015-326, « Si l’évaluation du Conseil amène ce dernier à conclure qu’il existe un pouvoir de marché en amont, et que tout marché de détail connexe en aval pourrait subir des conséquences défavorables importantes en l’absence d’une prescription du service de gros, le service satisferait alors à la condition relative à la concurrence. » Comme il a été expliqué précédemment, recourir à une ESLC affiliée ou à une ESLC non affiliée et devenir une ESLC offrant des services sans fil ne sont pas des solutions de rechange dans toutes les circonscriptions. Dans certaines circonscriptions, aucune de ces solutions ne sera possible. Dans ces cas, les FSSF seraient assujettis à la discrétion de Bell, ce qui nuirait à leur capacité d’offrir des services sans fil concurrentiels dans ces circonscriptions.

    1. Identifiez, les circonscriptions et les RIL dans les territoires d’exploitation, pour lesquelles, selon les critères de RCCI, il n’existe aucune solution de rechange et l’abstention de la réglementation des SASF compromettra la concurrence.
    2. Quels sont les paramètres que RCCI prend en considération pour décider si elle devient une ESLC offrant des services sans fil par opposition à demeurer une entreprise de services sans fil et à utiliser les SASF?
  2. Expliquez, en en donnant la justification, ce que vous considéreriez comme étant une période de transition appropriée si le Conseil retirait l’obligation de fournir des SASF.

III. Questions adressées à WIND

  1. Dans ses observations à l’égard de la demande de Bell Canada, WIND dit :

    WIND n’a plus besoin des services d’accès sans fil (SASF) lorsqu’elle pénètre dans de nouveaux marchés; WIND préfère une interconnexion en tant qu’ESLC offrant des services sans fil à titre de coentreprise. En outre, WIND est en voie de faire passer ses interconnexions SASF traditionnelles à des interconnexions ESLC sans fil.

    1. Veuillez justifier les décisions ci-après de WIND, en prenant soin d’inclure les considérations telles que le coût, le réseau et l’efficacité du trafic :
      1. La décision d’utiliser les SASF lorsque WIND pénétrait dans de nouveaux marchés sans fil par le passé plutôt que de devenir une ESLC offrant des services sans fil;
      2. La décision de devenir une ESLC offrant des services sans fil.
  2. Expliquez, en en donnant la justification, ce que vous considéreriez comme étant une période de transition appropriée si le Conseil retirait l’obligation de fournir des SASF.
Date de modification :