Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Ice Wireless and Rogers Communications Inc.

Ottawa, 7 July 2016

Our reference: 8620-J106-201601633

BY EMAIL

Mr. Samer Bishay
President & CEO
Ice Wireless
675 Cochrane Drive, 6th floor, East Tower
Markham, Ontario L3R 0B8
regulatory@icewireless.ca

Mr. David Watt
Senior Vice President – Regulatory
Rogers Communications Inc.
333 Bloor Street East, 9th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M4W 1G9
david.watt@rci.rogers.com

Dear Mr. Bishay and Mr. Watt,

Re: Part 1 application by Ice Wireless Inc. relating to Rogers Communication Inc.  attempt to disconnect Ice Wireless Inc. and the proper interpretation of Telecom Regulation Policy CRTC 2015-177 – Request for interim relief

With this letter, the Commission grants the request for interim relief made by Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) in the above-noted application filed pursuant to Part 1 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure for the reasons set out below.

On 15 February 2016, the Commission received the above-noted application from Ice Wireless in which it requested that the Commission rule on whether Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) is required to provide wholesale wireless roaming access to the customers of its affiliate Sugar Mobile Inc. (Sugar Mobile). Sugar Mobile is a mobile virtual network operator (MVNO) offering wireless service using a combination of Wi-Fi access and cellular data. Outside of Ice Wireless’ network territory, Sugar Mobile customers roam on Rogers’ network as a result of the roaming agreement between Ice Wireless and Rogers.

In its application, Ice Wireless requested that the Commission grant interim relief while considering its request for final relief by preventing Rogers from prohibiting customers of Ice Wireless or Sugar Mobile from roaming on its mobile network.

In a letter dated 16 February 2016, Commission staff established a process with respect to Ice Wireless’ request for interim relief. Comments were received from Bell Canada (Bell), the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC), Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as “Eastlink” (Eastlink), Public Interest Advocacy Center (PIAC), Rogers, and Vaxination Informatique (Vaxination).

BACKGROUND

In the fall of 2015, during private discussions between Rogers and Ice Wireless before Sugar Mobile was launched, Rogers stated to Ice Wireless that their roaming agreement did not allow Sugar Mobile customers to roam on its network when they are not resident of Ice Wireless’ territory. In November, Ice Wireless advised Rogers that Sugar Mobile had made other arrangements and would not need Rogers’ services.

On 2 February 2016, Rogers, having discovered that Sugar Mobile had launched and was using Rogers’ network to provide the cellular portion of its service, stated  that it would be terminating its roaming agreement with Ice Wireless on 16 February 2016 for breach of contract. Rogers submitted that the agreement was only intended to permit Ice Wireless customers traveling outside of Northern Canada to roam where Ice Wireless does not have a network and that the Sugar Mobile service is essentially permanently roaming on Rogers’ network, which clearly contravenes several terms of the agreement. However, after Ice Wireless filed this application with the Commission, Rogers agreed to withhold terminating the agreement until the Commission ruled on the request for interim relief.

While Rogers’ issue is with Sugar Mobile’s reliance on the roaming agreement, because the agreement is with Ice Wireless,  Rogers’ proposed termination would not only impact Sugar Mobile’s customers, but also Ice Wireless’ customers, as Rogers stated that it is unable to distinguish between the two at this time.

The terms and conditions applicable to Rogers’ wholesale wireless roaming service are set out in a tariff that was approved on an interim basis by the Commission on 30 November 2015. The rates were approved on an interim basis in Telecom Order CRTC 2015-537.Footnote 1 The  interim tariff incorporates by reference the terms and conditions of the roaming agreement between Ice Wireless and Rogers that was in place on 5 May 2015, when the Wholesale Wireless PolicyFootnote 2 was issued, to the extent that those terms and conditions are not inconsistent with the terms and conditions in the interim tariff.

Because it considered that its efforts would best be employed in working on the broader proceeding to consider the final tariff for Rogers’ wholesale roaming service, the Commission did not examine in depth  the substance of the roaming agreements in place between carriers on 5 May 2015 that were incorporated by reference into the interim tariff. The Commission is currently examining the submissions in the wholesale roaming tariffs, including the appropriateness of Rogers’ proposed terms and conditions, which have been called into question through submissions in the intervention process.  

SHOULD THE COMMISSION GRANT ICE WIRELESS’ REQUEST FOR INTERIM RELIEF?

The test for interim relief

To assess applications for interim relief, the Commission’s practice is to apply the criteria set out by the Supreme Court of Canada in Manitoba (Attorney General) v. Metropolitan Stores (MTS) Ltd. [1987] 1 S.C.R. 110, and modified in RJR-MacDonald Inc. v. Canada (Attorney General) [1994] 1 S.C.R. 311. These criteria (the interim relief criteria) are that (i) there is a serious issue to be determined, (ii) the party seeking the interim relief will incur irreparable harm if the relief is not granted, and (iii) the balance of convenience, taking into account the public interest, favours granting the interim relief. To be successful, an applicant must establish that it meets all three criteria.

Positions of parties

Ice Wireless submitted that its application is clearly not frivolous, as it requires the Commission to examine, for the first time since the Wholesale Wireless Policy was issued, the interrelation between this policy, a previously negotiated roaming agreement, and the interim wholesale tariff of a national mobile wireless carrier.

Ice Wireless submitted that, while it has roaming agreements with other carriers, Rogers is the only carrier with which it has a national roaming agreement and that if it were disconnected, it will lose the ability to provide roaming services in large parts of the country, including Ontario, Manitoba, and Saskatchewan. It added that, as a result, it would certainly suffer unquantifiable and irreparable harm, as it would experience a significant loss of subscribers to other operators and would have difficulty sustaining itself as a viable business.

Ice Wireless added that, if Sugar Mobile loses access to roaming on Rogers’ network, it would also cause irreparable harm and likely prevent many Canadians from being willing to try the service or other innovative mobile wireless services.

Ice Wireless argued that the balance of convenience favours granting the interim relief because if it’s request is denied, both Ice Wireless’ and Sugar Mobile’s existence as viable businesses will be threatened, whereas the impact on Rogers will be negligible, as it is the single-largest mobile service provider in Canada. It also noted that Ice Wireless and Sugar Mobile are not roaming on Rogers’ network for free, but are required to pay tariffed rates, which are cost-based and designed to fairly compensate a wholesale service provider as well as provide a reasonable return on investment.

CNOC, PIAC and Vaxination supported Ice Wireless’ request for interim relief. Vaxination submitted that no action should be taken to terminate service until the final roaming tariffs are approved.

Rogers disputed Ice Wireless’ request for interim relief order as its roaming agreement with Ice Wireless permits its termination where there has been a breach. It added that Ice Wireless could have corrected the breach and come into compliance with the roaming agreement by preventing Sugar Mobile from accessing and marketing Rogers’ network service to persons residing outside Ice Wireless’ territory. It further submitted that roaming by Sugar Mobile customers residing outside of Ice Wireless’ territory on its network is contrary to its interim tariff.

With respect to the interim relief criterion, Rogers agreed that there was a serious issue to be determined.

With respect to the second interim relief criterion, Rogers and Bell submitted that because Ice Wireless has roaming agreements with other carriers, it does not need to rely on Rogers’ network; hence neither Ice Wireless nor Sugar Mobile would suffer irreparable harm if Rogers were to terminate the roaming agreement.

With respect to the third interim relief criterion, Rogers submitted that the balance of convenience does not favour permitting Ice Wireless to continue to breach its roaming agreement with Rogers. It submitted that Sugar Mobile customers who do not reside in Ice Wireless’ licensed serving territory and do not take wireless mobile service on Ice Wireless’ Home Network are clearly not roaming and have no right to use Rogers’ network.

Bell submitted that if the roaming agreement prohibits permanent roaming, then it would be highly inappropriate for the Commission to preclude Rogers from terminating it, particularly when it seems that Sugar Mobile has built its business model on an activity prohibited under the agreement.

Eastlink submitted the Commission should be cautious about granting the interim relief sought by Ice Wireless as there is already evidence on the public record that Ice Wireless may be operating outside the policies and regulations set out in the Wholesale Wireless Policy.

Commission’s analysis and determinations

With respect to the first interim relief criterion, if an application is not clearly frivolous, it will generally meet this standard. In this case, the issue is whether Rogers is required to provide wholesale wireless roaming access on its mobile network to the customers of Sugar Mobile. This is a serious issue to be determined, and Rogers has also acknowledged that it is a serious issue. Accordingly, the Commission considers that Ice Wireless has satisfied the first interim relief criterion.

As to the second criterion, “irreparable” harm requires an analysis of the nature of the harm, rather than its magnitude. Harm is more likely to be irreparable where there is an unquantifiable loss or a loss that the applicant may not be able to recover. Rogers’ proposed termination of service would cause direct harm to Ice Wireless and Sugar Mobile, as, even if Ice Wireless has other roaming agreements, there would be large areas in which their customers would lose service.

Ice Wireless is an established telecommunications service provider (TSP) and the normal daily usage of mobile services by Ice Wireless’ customers is expected to be within Ice Wireless’ own serving territory, which would be unaffected by the termination of the roaming agreement with Rogers. However, if the roaming agreement were terminated, even on an interim basis, Ice Wireless’ customers would no longer be able to roam when travelling outside of Ice Wireless’ territory in areas where the roaming service is provided by Rogers. The harm to Ice Wireless would likely be significant, as many of its customers could decide to change service provider for the reason that they are prevented from roaming nationally.

Sugar Mobile is a new commercial TSP that is not well established. As such, market loss would be inevitable and, given the competitive nature of the wireless industry, it would be very difficult to repatriate customers that were lost. Furthermore, Sugar Mobile has already developed arrangements and business relationships with retailers and invested substantial resources in the marketing of the service. Absent interim relief, these arrangements with retailers would likely be endangered and thereby prevent Sugar Mobile from operating under its current business model. Disconnection of roaming services solely for Sugar Mobile and its customers is not practical, since, as Rogers has indicated, it is unable to distinguish between customers of Ice Wireless and Sugar Mobile at this time.

Accordingly, the Commission is of the view that Ice Wireless and Sugar Mobile would very likely incur irreparable harm if interim relief were not granted and considers that Ice Wireless has met the second criterion of the RJR-MacDonald test.

With respect to the final criterion, balance of convenience, given the finding that Ice Wireless and Sugar Mobile would very likely incur irreparable harm absent interim relief, the presumption is that the balance of convenience favours the granting of interim relief and that it would require special circumstances to rebut this presumption. The Commission considers that no such special circumstances exist in the present case. Pending the Commission’s consideration of the matter of final relief, Rogers will be compensated by Ice Wireless and Sugar Mobile for their use of Rogers’ network by way of cost-based interim tariff rates. Further, because of its size and market power, the harm, if any, to Rogers resulting from approval of the interim relief request is clearly disproportionate to the irreparable harm likely to be suffered by Ice Wireless and Sugar Mobile, absent interim relief.  As such, the Commission considers that the balance of convenience favours granting the interim relief and that Ice Wireless has met the third criterion of the RJR-MacDonald test.

In light of the foregoing, the Commission grants Ice Wireless’ request for interim relief. Accordingly, Rogers is not permitted to terminate its roaming agreement with Ice Wireless or disconnect either Ice Wireless or Sugar Mobile from its mobile network pending disposition of the request for final relief. As noted above, there is an on-going broader proceeding to consider the final tariff for Rogers’ wholesale roaming service. In that process, interventions have been filed which address the appropriateness of the roaming arrangements such as those undertaken by Sugar Mobile customers that are the subject of the interim relief application at issue in this case. Given that the Commission will be ruling on a final basis in that proceeding on the nature of the roaming arrangements that are to be mandated, the outcome of that proceeding will have a significant bearing on the disposition of Ice Wireless’ request for final relief.  Given this, the Commission expects to rule on Ice Wireless’ request for final relief in light of the broader proceeding to consider the final tariff of Rogers’ mandated wholesale roaming service.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by Véronique Lehoux for/

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

c.c.:  Christian Tacit, ctacit@tacitlaw.com
Geoffrey White, gwhite@piac.ca
John Lawford, jlawford@piac.ca
Philippe Gauvin, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Nathalie MacDonald, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Jean-François Mezei, jfmezei@vaxination.ca
William Sandiford, regulatory@cnoc.ca
Dennis Béland, dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Josh Tabish, regulatory@openmedia.org
Kim Wardle, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Various Companies – Interim approval of tariff applications, Telecom Order CRTC 2015-537, 3 December 2015

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Regulatory framework for wholesale mobile wireless services, Telecom Regulatory Policy 2015-177, 5 May 2015

Return to footnote 2

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Ice Wireless et à Rogers Communications Inc.

Ottawa, le 7 juillet 2016

N/Réf. : 8620-J106-201601633

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Samer Bishay
Président-directeur général
Ice Wireless
675 promenade Cochrane, tour Est, 6e étage
Markham (Ontario)  L3R 0B8
regulatory@icewireless.ca

Monsieur David Watt
Premier vice-président, Réglementation
Rogers Communications Inc.
333, rue Bloor Est, 9e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M4W 1G9
david.watt@rci.rogers.com

Messieurs,

Objet :   Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Ice Wireless concernant la tentative de Rogers de débrancher Ice Wireless Inc. et l’interprétation adéquate de la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-177 – Demande de redressement provisoire

Par la présente et pour les raisons énoncées ci-après, le Conseil accorde la demande de redressement provisoire déposée par Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) dans le cadre de la demande en vertu de la partie 1 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes citée en rubrique.

Le 15 février 2016, le Conseil a reçu la demande susmentionnée dans laquelle Ice Wireless réclamait que le Conseil décide si Rogers Communication Canada Inc. (Rogers) est tenue de fournir l’accès à l’itinérance de gros aux clients de sa filiale Sugar Mobile Inc. (Sugar Mobile). Sugar Mobile est un exploitant de réseau mobile virtuel (ERMV) offrant des services sans fil  combinant l’accès par Wi-Fi et les données cellulaires. À l’extérieur du territoire couvert par le réseau d’Ice Wireless, les abonnés de Sugar Mobile utilisent le réseau de Rogers en mode itinérance grâce à l’entente d’itinérance conclue entre Ice Wireless et Rogers.

Dans sa demande, Ice Wireless a réclamé que le Conseil lui accorde un redressement provisoire pendant qu’il se penche sur la demande de redressement définitif en empêchant Rogers d’interdire aux clients d’Ice Wireless et de Sugar Mobile d’utiliser son réseau mobile en itinérance.

Dans une lettre du 16 février 2016, le personnel du Conseil a établi la procédure relative au traitement de la demande de redressement provisoire d’Ice Wireless. Des observations ont été reçues de Bell Canada, du Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC), de Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’« Eastlink » (Eastlink), du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC), de Rogers et de Vaxination Informatique (Vaxination).

CONTEXTE

À l’automne 2015, Rogers a indiqué à Ice Wireless, lors de discussions privées entre les compagnies précédant le lancement de Sugar Mobile, que leur entente d’itinérance ne permettait pas aux abonnés de Sugar Mobile d’obtenir le service d’itinérance sur le réseau de Rogers s’ils ne sont pas résidents du territoire d’exploitation d’Ice Wireless. En novembre, Ice Wireless a signalé à Rogers que Sugar Mobile avait pris d’autres dispositions et qu’elle ne requerrait pas les services de Rogers.

Le 2 février 2016, ayant constaté que Sugar Mobile avait commencé ses activités et qu’elle utilisait le réseau de Rogers pour offrir la portion cellulaire de son service, Rogers a indiqué qu’elle résilierait son entente d’itinérance avec Ice Wireless le 16 février 2016 pour bris de contrat. Rogers a affirmé que l’entente visait uniquement à offrir l’itinérance aux abonnés d’Ice Wireless voyageant à l’extérieur du Nord canadien, là où Ice Wireless n’a pas de réseau, et que le service de Sugar Mobile est essentiellement en itinérance permanente sur le réseau de Rogers, ce qui contrevient clairement à plusieurs dispositions de l’entente. Toutefois, après qu’Ice Wireless ait déposé la demande en rubrique auprès du Conseil, Rogers a convenu de ne pas résilier l’entente tant que le Conseil ne se serait pas prononcé sur la demande de redressement provisoire.

Alors que c’est l’utilisation que fait Sugar Mobile de l’entente d’itinérance qui cause problème à Rogers, puisque cette entente est conclue avec Ice Wireless, sa résiliation proposée par Rogers aurait des répercutions, non seulement sur les clients de Sugar Mobile, mais aussi sur ceux d’Ice Wireless, puisque Rogers a affirmé être incapable distinguer les deux pour le moment.

Les modalités applicables au service d’itinérance sans fil de gros de Rogers sont énoncées dans un tarif que le Conseil a approuvé de façon provisoire le 30 novembre 2015. Les taux ont été approuvés de façon provisoire dans l’Ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2015-537Note de bas de page 1. Le tarif provisoire intègre par renvoi les conditions de l’entente d’itinérance qui était en vigueur entre Ice Wireless et Rogers au 5 mai 2015, date à laquelle la politique sur les services sans fil de grosNote de bas de page 2  a été publiée, dans la mesure où les modalités de l’entente ne sont pas incompatibles avec celles du tarif provisoire.

Jugeant qu’il serait plus judicieux de se consacrer à l’instance plus vaste examinant le tarif définitif du service d’itinérance de gros de Rogers, le Conseil n’a pas analysé en détail le contenu des ententes d’itinérance qui étaient en vigueur entre les entreprises au 5 mai 2015 et qui ont été incorporées par renvoi dans le tarif provisoire. Le Conseil examine présentement les documents déposés dans le cadre du tarif des services d’itinérance de gros, y compris la pertinence des modalités proposées par Rogers, lesquelles ont été remises en question dans les observations déposées dans le cadre du processus d’intervention. 

LE CONSEIL DEVRAIT-IL ACCEDER À LA DEMANDE DE REDRESSEMENT PROVISOIRE D’ICE WIRELESS?

Critères justifiant un redressement provisoire

Pour évaluer une demande de redressement provisoire, le Conseil applique normalement les critères établis par la Cour suprême du Canada dans l’affaire Manitoba (Procureur général) c. Metropolitan Stores (MTS) Ltd. [1987] 1 R.C.S. 110, et modifiés par la Cour dans l’affaire RJR-MacDonald Inc. c. Canada (Procureur général), [1994] 1 R.C.S. 311. Ces critères (critères du redressement provisoire) sont les suivants : i) il existe une question sérieuse à juger; ii) la partie qui sollicite le redressement subira un préjudice irréparable si le redressement n’est pas accordé; et iii) la prépondérance des inconvénients, compte tenu de l’intérêt public, penche en faveur du redressement provisoire. Pour obtenir un redressement, le demandeur doit montrer qu’il répond aux trois critères.

Positions des parties

Ice Wireless a fait valoir que sa demande n’est visiblement pas frivole puisqu’elle oblige le Conseil à examiner, pour la première fois depuis la publication de la politique sur les services sans fil de gros, les liens qui existent entre cette politique, une entente d’itinérance négociée antérieurement et le tarif de gros provisoire d’une entreprise de services mobiles nationale.

Ice Wireless a précisé avoir des ententes d’itinérance avec d’autres entreprises, mais que Rogers est la seule avec laquelle elle dispose d’une entente d’itinérance nationale, de sorte que si Rogers lui refuse l’accès à son réseau, elle ne sera plus en mesure d’offrir des services d’itinérance dans de vastes régions du pays, y compris l’Ontario, le Manitoba et la Saskatchewan. Ice Wireless a ajouté qu’une telle situation lui causerait certainement un préjudice non quantifiable et irréparable, car elle perdrait de nombreux abonnés aux mains d’autres exploitants et aurait de la difficulté à rester viable.

Ice Wireless a également indiqué que, si Sugar Mobile perdait l’accès à l’itinérance sur le réseau de Rogers, un préjudice irréparable lui serait également causé et la situation risquerait de dissuader bon nombre de Canadiens d’essayer son service ou d’autres services sans fil mobiles novateurs.

Ice Wireless a soutenu que la prépondérance des inconvénients penche en faveur du redressement provisoire parce que si la demande est rejetée, l’existence d’Ice Wireless et de Sugar Mobile en tant qu’entreprises viables sera menacée, tandis que l’incidence sur Rogers serait négligeable, Rogers étant le plus important fournisseur de services mobiles au Canada. En outre, Ice Wireless a précisé qu’elle et Sugar Mobile n’obtiennent pas l’itinérance sur le réseau de Rogers gratuitement, mais bien qu’elles doivent payer des taux tarifés, qui sont fondés sur les coûts et établis de manière à dédommager adéquatement le fournisseur de services de gros, tout en permettant un rendement acceptable du capital investi.

Le CORC, le PIAC et Vaxination ont appuyé la demande de redressement provisoire d’Ice Wireless. Vaxination a fait valoir que Rogers ne devrait prendre aucune mesure pour mettre fin au service avant que les tarifs définitifs applicables à l’itinérance ne soient approuvés.

Rogers a contesté la demande de redressement provisoire d’Ice Wireless, soutenant que l’entente d’itinérance conclue avec Ice Wireless autorise la résiliation de ladite entente s’il y a violation du contrat. Selon Rogers, Ice Wireless aurait pu corriger la situation et se conformer à l’entente d’itinérance en empêchant Sugar Mobile d’utiliser le réseau de Rogers pour desservir des personnes résidant à l’extérieur du territoire d’exploitation d’Ice Wireless et en l’empêchant également de faire la commercialisation du réseau de Rogers auprès de ces personnes. Rogers a d’ailleurs fait remarquer que son tarif provisoire ne permet pas, sur son réseau, l’itinérance des abonnés de Sugar Mobile qui résident en dehors du territoire d’exploitation d’Ice Wireless.

En ce qui concerne le premier critère justifiant un redressement provisoire, Rogers a convenu qu’il existait une question sérieuse à juger.

En ce qui concerne le deuxième critère, Rogers et Bell ont fait valoir qu’Ice Wireless n’est pas obligée de compter sur le réseau de Rogers étant donné qu’elle dispose d’ententes d’itinérance avec d’autres entreprises; en conséquence, ni Ice Wireless ni Sugar Mobile ne subiraient un préjudice irréparable si Rogers résiliait l’entente d’itinérance.

En ce qui concerne le troisième critère, Rogers a fait valoir que la prépondérance des inconvénients ne favorise pas de permettre à Ice Wireless de continuer à enfreindre son entente d’itinérance avec Rogers. Rogers a fait valoir que les abonnés de Sugar Mobile qui ne vivent pas dans le territoire de desserte autorisé d’Ice Wireless et qui ne sont pas abonnés au service sans fil mobile du réseau d’origine d’Ice Wireless ne sont clairement pas en itinérance et n’ont pas le droit d’utiliser le réseau de Rogers.

Pour sa part, Bell a fait valoir que si l’entente d’itinérance interdit l’itinérance permanente, il ne serait pas approprié pour le Conseil d’empêcher Rogers de la résilier, d’autant plus que Sugar Mobile semble avoir établi son modèle d’entreprise en se livrant à une activité interdite aux termes de l’entente.

Eastlink a souligné que le Conseil devrait faire preuve de prudence avant d’accorder le redressement provisoire que sollicite Ice Wireless puisque le dossier public contient déjà des éléments de preuve laissant croire qu’Ice Wireless exerce ses activités en marge des dispositions réglementaires formulées dans la politique sur les services sans fil de gros.

Résultats de l’analyse du Conseil

En ce qui concerne le premier critère justifiant un redressement provisoire, la demande le satisfera généralement si elle n’est pas manifestement frivole. Dans le cas présent, le Conseil doit déterminer si Rogers est obligée d’offrir aux abonnés de Sugar Mobile l’accès à l’itinérance de gros sur son réseau mobile. Il s’agit d’une question sérieuse à juger, et Rogers l’a admis. Par conséquent, le Conseil estime qu’Ice Wireless a satisfait au premier critère de redressement provisoire.

Quant au deuxième critère, le caractère « irréparable » du préjudice doit être évalué en fonction de la nature du préjudice plutôt que de son ampleur. Le préjudice est plus susceptible d’être considéré comme irréparable s’il y a une perte non quantifiable ou une perte que le demandeur ne peut récupérer. L’annulation du service proposée par Rogers causerait un préjudice direct à Ice Wireless et à Sugar Mobile, car même si Ice Wireless dispose d’autres ententes d’itinérance, ses abonnés perdraient le service dans de grandes régions.

Ice Wireless est un fournisseur de services de télécommunication (FST) établi, et l’utilisation quotidienne habituelle que ses abonnés font de leurs services mobiles devrait normalement se limiter au territoire de desserte de la compagnie, ce qui ne serait pas touché par la résiliation de l’entente d’itinérance avec Rogers. Toutefois, si l’entente d’itinérance était résiliée, ne serait-ce qu’à titre provisoire, les abonnés d’Ice Wireless n’auraient plus accès au service d’itinérance lorsqu’ils sont à l’extérieur du territoire d’Ice Wireless, dans des régions où l’itinérance est assurée par Rogers. Pour Ice Wireless, le préjudice risquerait d’être considérable, car bon nombre de ses clients pourraient décider de changer de fournisseur étant donné qu’ils n’auraient plus d’itinérance à l’échelle nationale.

Sugar Mobile est un nouveau FST commercial qui n’est pas bien établi. Inévitablement, la compagnie subirait une perte de marché et, vu la concurrence qui règne dans l’industrie du sans-fil, il lui serait très difficile de reconquérir la clientèle perdue. Qui plus est, Sugar Mobile a déjà établi des ententes et des relations d’affaires avec des détaillants, et investi des ressources considérables pour commercialiser son service. À défaut du redressement provisoire, les ententes avec les détaillants seraient vraisemblablement compromises, ce qui empêcherait Sugar Mobile d’exercer ses activités selon son modèle d’entreprise actuel. Interrompre les services d’itinérance uniquement à l’endroit de Sugar Mobile et de ses clients n’est pas faisable, puisque, comme Rogers l’a indiqué, il lui est impossible de distinguer les clients d’Ice Wireless de ceux de Sugar Mobile pour l’instant.

Par conséquent, le Conseil est d’avis qu’Ice Wireless et Sugar Mobile subiraient très vraisemblablement un préjudice irréparable si le redressement provisoire n’est pas accordé, et il estime qu’Ice Wireless a satisfait au deuxième critère du jugement RJR-MacDonald.

En ce qui concerne le troisième et dernier critère – la prépondérance des inconvénients –, comme le Conseil a conclu qu’Ice Wireless et Sugar Mobile subiraient très vraisemblablement un préjudice irréparable à défaut du redressement provisoire, la présomption veut que la prépondérance des inconvénients penche en faveur du redressement provisoire et qu’il faudrait des circonstances exceptionnelles pour réfuter la présomption. Le Conseil estime qu’il n’existe pas de telles circonstances dans le cas présent. D’ici à ce que le Conseil traite la question du redressement définitif, Rogers sera dédommagée par Ice Wireless et Sugar Mobile pour leur utilisation du réseau de Rogers, au moyen des taux tarifés provisoires qui sont fondés sur les coûts. De plus, en raison de la taille de Rogers et de son emprise sur le marché, tout préjudice, le cas échéant, que pourrait subir la compagnie en raison de l’approbation du redressement provisoire ne se compare manifestement pas au préjudice irréparable que risquent de subir Ice Wireless et Sugar Mobile si le redressement provisoire n’est pas accordé. En conséquence, le Conseil estime que la prépondérance des inconvénients penche en faveur du redressement provisoire, et qu’Ice Wireless a satisfait au troisième critère du jugement RJR-MacDonald.

Compte de tenu de ce qui précède, le Conseil accède à la demande de redressement provisoire déposée par Ice Wireless. Par conséquent, Rogers ne peut pas  résilier son entente d’itinérance avec Ice Wireless ni interrompre le service d’itinérance pour Ice Wireless ou Sugar Mobile sur son réseau mobile tant que le Conseil ne se sera pas prononcé sur la demande de redressement définitif. Tel que mentionné ci-dessus, une instance plus vaste portant sur le tarif définitif du service d’itinérance de gros de Rogers est en cours. Dans le cadre de cette instance, le Conseil a reçu des interventions sur la pertinence des ententes d’itinérance comme celles qu’utilisent les clients de Sugar Mobile qui sont visés par la demande de redressement provisoire en cause dans le présent dossier.

Comme le Conseil se prononcera, dans cette instance, de façon définitive sur la nature des ententes d’itinérance qui seront obligatoires, l’issue de cette instance aura une incidence considérable sur le traitement de la demande de redressement définitif d’Ice Wireless. Ainsi, le Conseil entend se prononcer sur la demande de redressement définitif d’Ice Wireless à la lumière de l’instance plus vaste portant sur le tarif définitif du service d’itinérance de gros obligatoire de Rogers.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

L’original signé par Véronique Lehoux pour/

Danielle May-Cuconato

c.c.   Christian Tacit, ctacit@tacitlaw.com
Geoffrey White, gwhite@piac.ca
John Lawford, jlawford@piac.ca
Philippe Gauvin, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Nathalie MacDonald, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Jean-François Mezei, jfmezei@vaxination.ca
William Sandiford, regulatory@cnoc.ca
Dennis Béland, dennis.beland@quebecor.com
Josh Tabish, regulatory@openmedia.org
Kim Wardle, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Diverses compagnies – Approbation provisoire des demandes tarifaires, Ordonnance de télécom CRTC 2015-537, 3 décembre 2015

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Note de bas de page 2

Cadre de réglementation régissant les services sans fil mobiles de gros, Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-177, 5 mai 2015

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

Date de modification :