Telecom Commission letter addressed to Andreas Wiatowski (Silo Wireless Inc.)

Ottawa, 29 June 2016

Our reference:  8663-C12-201015470

BY EMAIL

Andreas Wiatowski
Chief Executive Officer
Silo Wireless Inc.
19 Sage Cres.
Brantford, Ontario N3R 7T4
regulatory@silowireless.com

RE:  Silo Wireless Inc. Obligations of local VoIP service providers with respect to 9-1-1 emergency service

Dear Andreas Wiatowski:

On 15 June 2016, Silo Wireless Inc. filed information related to its local VoIP 9-1-1 emergency service.

This is to advise you that based on the information provided by Silo Wireless Inc., including the name of its 9-1-1 service provider, Commission staff is satisfied that Silo Wireless Inc. meets its obligations for providing VoIP 9-1-1 service. Commission staff also considers that the proposed customer notification texts submitted by the company for review by the Commission are in compliance with the directives in Telecom Decision 2005-21Footnote 1 and Telecom Decision 2005-61Footnote 2 .  Finally, as of the date of this letter, Commission staff notes that Silo Wireless Inc.has a Basic International Telecommunications Service (BITS) licence and is on the Commission’s reseller list.

It is the company’s responsibility to continue to provide 9-1-1 service to its customers and to provide customer notification texts informing customers of any 9-1-1 service limitations.  The customer notification texts must be posted on the company’s website within five (5) business days of this letter, or in the case of new companies, on the day the company starts offering service.  The company is also responsible for meeting all ongoing regulatory filings to maintain its BITS licence and reseller registrations.

Finally, the company is responsible for keeping current with regulations concerning the provision of 9-1-1 service.  These regulations can be found on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/telephone8.htm.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution & Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c: Christopher Copeland, Tacit Law (613) 627-1205, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Wendy McClintock, CRTC, (819) 639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Emergency service obligations for local VoIP service providers, Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-21, 4 April 2005 (Telecom Decision 2005-21).

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Follow-up to Emergency services obligations for local VoIP service providers, Decision 2005-21 - Customer notification requirements, Telecom Decision CRTC 2005-61, 20 October 2005 (Telecom Decision 2005-61).

Return to footnote 2

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Andreas Wiatowski (Silo Wireless Inc.)

Ottawa, le 29 juin 2016

N/Réf. : 8663-C12-201015470

PAR COURRIEL

Andreas Wiatowski
Président-directeur général
Silo Wireless Inc.
19, croissant Sage
Brantford (Ontario)  N3R 7T4
regulatory@silowireless.com

OBJET : Silo Wireless Inc. Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard du service d’urgence 9-1-1

Monsieur Wiatowski,

Le 15 juin 2016, Silo Wireless Inc. a déposé des renseignements concernant le service d’urgence 9-1-1 lié à ses services VoIP locaux.

La présente vise à vous informer qu’après examen des renseignements fournis par Silo Wireless Inc., y compris le nom de son fournisseur de services 9-1-1, le personnel du Conseil est d’avis que Silo Wireless Inc. respecte ses obligations relativement à la prestation du service 9-1-1 VoIP. De plus, le personnel estime que le message que la compagnie propose d’utiliser dans les avis aux clients est conforme aux directives énoncées dans la décision de télécom 2005-21Note de bas de page1 et dans la décision de télécom 2005-61Note de bas de page2. Enfin, le personnel du Conseil fait remarquer qu’en date de la présente, Silo Wireless Inc. détient une licence pour l’exploitation d’un service de télécommunication internationale de base (STIB) et figure sur la liste des revendeurs du Conseil.

Il incombe à la compagnie de continuer d’offrir le service 9-1-1 et d’aviser les clients de toute limite du service. Les avis aux clients doivent être publiés sur le site Web de la compagnie dans les cinq (5) jours ouvrables suivant la date de la présente lettre ou, dans le cas de nouvelles compagnies, le jour où le service est mis en œuvre. De plus, la compagnie doit respecter les exigences réglementaires en matière de dépôt pour conserver sa licence STIB et son inscription à titre de revendeur.

Enfin, il revient à la compagnie de se tenir au courant des dispositions réglementaires concernant la prestation du service 9-1-1. Ces dispositions sont énoncées sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse https://crtc.gc.ca/fra/phone/911/index.htm.

Sincères salutations,

Original signé par

Michel Murray
Directeur, Règlement des différends et Mise en œuvre de la réglementation
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c : Christopher Copeland, Tacit Law 613-627-1205, regulatory@tacitlaw.com
Wendy McClintock, CRTC, 819-639-6211, wendy.mcclintock@crtc.gc.ca

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l’égard du service d’urgence 9-1-1, Décision de télécom CRTC 2005-21, 4 avril 2005 (Décision de télécom 2005-21).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Note de bas de page 2

Suivi de la décision Obligations des fournisseurs de services VoIP locaux à l'égard des services d'urgence, Décision 2005-21 - Exigences relatives à un avis aux clients, Décision de télécom CRTC 2005-61, 20 octobre 2005 (décision de télécom 2005-61).

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

Date de modification :