Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 18 May 2016

Our reference:  1011-NOC2016-0116

BY EMAIL

Distribution

RE:  Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116 - Request for extension

By letter dated 10 May 2016, the City of Calgary (Calgary) requested that the submission deadline for initial interventions related to Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116 be extended from 20 May 2016 to 20 June 2016.

Calgary explained that significant emergency services support, including the provision of logistical resource groups, communications staff and other emergency response staff, have been mobilized to assist with the wildfire and subsequent events in the City of Fort McMurray and the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo. Calgary added that, as a result, gathering data and information from emergency staff to submit a written intervention by 20 May 2016 would be very difficult. Calgary’s letter referenced support from the following public safety answering points (PSAPs) in its letter: the Alberta E9-1-1 Advisory Association (AEAA) representing the majority of PSAPs in Alberta, the City of Lethbridge, the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo, and the City of Grande Prairie.

By letter dated 12 May 2016, TELUS supported the request for an extension for the PSAPs identified in Calgary’s letter citing direct knowledge of the round the clock efforts being put forward by the affected PSAPs in supporting the Fort McMurray and the Regional Municipality of Wood Buffalo’s PSAP.

The Commission understands the extraordinary circumstances taking place in Alberta and fully supports the emergency response efforts being conducted in Fort McMurray and surrounding areas.  Under the circumstances, the Commission considers that an extension of one month to the deadline for initial interventions related to the Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116 proceeding is appropriate for PSAPs in Alberta.

PSAPs in Alberta (including those acting on their behalf) will now have until 20 June 2016 to file their initial interventions in response to Telecom Notice of Consultation 2016-116.  The deadline for the filing of interventions by all other parties remains unchanged, with interventions due 20 May 2016.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

c.c: Chris Seidl, CRTC,chris.seidl@crtc.gc.ca
Sheehan Carter, CRTC, sheehan.carter@crtc.gc.ca,
Renée Doiron, CRTC,renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca,
Kim Wardle, CRTC, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List

Large ILECs

Small ILECs

Public Safety Answering Points

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 18 mai 2016

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-116 – Demande de prolongation

Dans une lettre datée du 10 mai 2016, la ville de Calgary (Calgary) a demandé que le délai de soumission des interventions initiales pour l’Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116 soit reporté du 20 mai 2016 au 20 juin 2016.

Calgary a expliqué qu’un important soutien aux services d’urgence, notamment l’affectation de groupes de ressources logistiques, de responsables des communications et d’autres personnels d’intervention en cas d’urgence, a été mobilisé pour aider à la lutte contre le feu de forêt et aux activités subséquentes à la ville de Fort McMurray et dans la municipalité régionale de Wood Buffalo. Calgary a ajouté qu’il serait donc très difficile de recueillir des données et d’obtenir des renseignements auprès du personnel d’urgence en vue de soumettre une intervention écrite d’ici le 20 mai 2016. Dans sa lettre, Calgary a fait référence à l’appui de l’Alberta E9-1-1 Advisory Association (AEAA), qui représente la majorité des centres d’appels de la sécurité publique (CASP) en Alberta, la ville de Lethbridge, la municipalité régionale de Wood Buffalo et la ville de Grande Prairie.

Dans une lettre datée du 12 mai 2016, TELUS a appuyé la demande de prolongation pour les CASP nommés dans la lettre de Calgary, affirmant avoir une connaissance directe des efforts que les CASP consacrent jour et nuit pour appuyer le CASP de la ville de Fort McMurray et de la municipalité régionale de Wood Buffalo.

Le Conseil comprend les circonstances extraordinaires qui ont cours en Alberta et appuie pleinement les efforts d’intervention d’urgence déployés à Fort McMurray et dans les environs. Dans ces circonstances, le Conseil estime que la prolongation d’un mois du délai prévu pour la soumission des interventions initiales relativement à l’Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116 est appropriée pour les CASP de l’Alberta.

Les CASP de l’Alberta, y compris ceux qui agissent en leur nom, auront donc jusqu’au 20 juin 2016 pour soumettre leurs interventions initiales en réponse à l’Avis de consultation de télécom 2016-116. Le délai de soumission des interventions demeure le même pour toutes les autres parties, soit le 20 mai 2016.

Veuillez agréer l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La Secrétaire générale,

L’original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato

c.c : Chris Seidl, CRTC, chris.seidl@crtc.gc.ca
Sheehan Carter, CRTC, sheehan.carter@crtc.gc.ca,
Renée Doiron, CRTC, renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca,
Kim Wardle, CRTC, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution

Grandes ESLT

Petites ESLT

Centres d’appels de la sécurité publique

Date de modification :