Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Distribution list

Ottawa, 7 April 2016

File No.: 8640-B2-201602326

BY EMAIL

To: Distribution list

RE: Bell Canada: Application for forbearance from the regulation of EAS transport service and local transit service – procedural letter

On 4 March 2016, Bell Canada filed an application for forbearance from the regulation of EAS [extended area service] transport service and local transit service. Procedural requests were filed by the Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) and the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), and responses to the procedural requests were filed by Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) and TELUS Communications Company.

By letter on 31 March 2016, Commission staff noted that Bell Canada had not served its application on other parties and requested that the company serve its application on all competitive local exchange carriers (CLECs) operating within the territories covered by the application that currently use the company’s EAS transport and local transit services. Commission staff also considered that Bell Canada should serve the application on all entities registered with the Commission as proposed CLECs for exchanges located within these territories. By letter dated 6 April 2016, Bell Canada indicated that these additional parties had been served.
In light of the above, parties that have not already filed interventions on Bell Canada’s application have until 9 May 2016 to file an intervention.

Commission staff acknowledges that in the case of Bell Canada’s application a record has been constituted.  In light of this, Commission staff considers that any submissions received subsequent to Bell Canada’s service of its application are to be restricted to the matters raised and statements made in Bell Canada’s application, and must not address intervener comments. Any comments that fail to comply with this principle will likely not be considered by the Commission.

Bell Canada may file a reply by 19 May 2016, serving a copy on all other parties.  

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by Kim Wardle for/

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

cc : Laurie Ventura, CRTC, (819) 997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Kim Wardle, CRTC, (819) 997-4945, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca
Mory Fodé Fofana, CRTC, (819) 639-8109, MoryFode.Fofana@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List:

bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
gwhite@piac.ca;
regulatory.affairs@telus.com;   
david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
ctacit@tacitlaw.com;  
regulatory@cnoc.ca;  
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
CLECs
Proposed CLECs

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 7 avril 2016

No de dossier : 8640-B2-201602326

PAR COURRIEL

À : liste de distribution

Objet : Bell Canada - Demande visant une abstention de la réglementation des services de transport et de transit du service régional - lettre de procédure

Madame, Monsieur,

Le 4 mars 2016, Bell Canada a déposé une demande visant à ce que les services de transport et de transit du service régional fassent l’objet d’une abstention de la réglementation. Des requêtes procédurales ont été déposées par le Consortium des opérateurs de réseaux canadiens inc. (CORC) et par le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC), puis des réponses aux requêtes procédurales ont été déposées par Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (RCCI) et par la Société TELUS Communications.

Dans une lettre du 31 mars 2016, le personnel du Conseil a fait remarquer que Bell Canada n’avait pas signifié sa demande aux autres parties et a demandé à ce que la compagnie signifie sa demande à toutes les entreprises de services locaux concurrentes (ESLC) qui exercent leurs activités dans les territoires visés par la demande et qui utilisent actuellement les services de transport et de transit du service régional de la compagnie. Le personnel du Conseil a également estimé que Bell Canada devrait signifier la demande à toutes les entités enregistrées auprès du Conseil comme ESLC pour les circonscriptions situées dans ces territoires. Dans une lettre datée du 6 avril 2016, Bell Canada a indiqué qu’elle avait signifié sa demande à ces autres parties.

Compte tenu de ce qui précède, les parties qui n’ont pas encore déposé des observations au sujet de la demande de Bell Canada ont jusqu’au 9 mai 2016 pour le faire.

Le personnel du Conseil reconnaît que dans le cas de la demande de Bell Canada un dossier a été constitué. Compte tenu de cela, il estime que tout dépôt reçu après que Bell ait signifié sa demande doit se limiter aux questions soulevées et aux déclarations faites dans la demande de Bell Canada et ne doit pas porter sur les observations des intervenants. Toute observation non conforme à ce principe ne sera probablement pas prise en compte par le Conseil.

Bell Canada peut déposer une réplique d’ici le 19 mai 2016, tout en signifiant copie de celle-ci à l’ensemble des autres parties.  

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par Kim Wardle pour/

Kay Saicheua
Directrice, Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications
c.c. Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca
Kim Wardle, CRTC, 819-997-4945, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca
Mory Fodé Fofana, CRTC, 819-639-8109, MoryFode.Fofana@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution :

bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
gwhite@piac.ca;
regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
regulatory@cnoc.ca;
rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Les ESLC
Les ESLC proposées

Date de modification :