Telecom Commission Letter addressed to Scott Mitchell (Cochrane Telecom Services)

Ottawa, 6 April 2016

Our reference: 8640-C1-201510826

BY EMAIL

Mr. Scott Mitchell
General Manager
Cochrane Telecom Services
153 Sixth Avenue
P.O. Box 640
Cochrane, ON  K1A 0N2
smitch@cochranetel.ca

Re:    Cochrane Telecom Services – Request for forbearance from the regulation of business local exchange services

Dear Sir:

On 8 September 2015, the Commission received an application from Cochrane Telecom Services (Cochrane), in which the company requested forbearance from the regulation of business local exchange services in the exchange of Cochrane, Ontario (the exchange). However, local competition was implemented in the exchange on 3 December 2015, after the application was filed.

In section 2 of Appendix 1 to Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-379, the Commission requires that small incumbent local exchange carriers applying for forbearance from the regulation of local exchange services in an exchange are to provide a list of all complaints that have been received from competitors during a six month period, or since the implementation of local competition if less than six months, beginning no earlier than eight months before the date of its application for local forbearance and ending at any time before the Commission’s decision regarding the application.

In light of the above, Cochrane is to provide the Commission with a list of any complaints it has received from competitors since the implementation of local competition in the exchange or alternatively, submit an attestation that it has received no complaints since the implementation of local competition by 7 April 2016.

Interveners may comment on Cochrane’s submission by 14 April 2016. Cochrane may file its response, if applicable, by 20 April 2016.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Kim Wardle for/

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition & Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:   Denise Heckbert, Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications, david.watt@rci.rogers.com  
TELUS Communications Company, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Eric Macfarlane, Analyst, CRTC, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Scott Mitchell (Cochrane Telecom Services)

Ottawa, le 6 avril 2016

N/Réf. : 8640-C1-201510826

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Scott Mitchell
Directeur général
Cochrane Telecom Services
153 Sixth Avenue
C.P. 640
Cochrane (Ontario)  K1A 0N2
smitch@cochranetel.ca

Objet :  Cochrane Telecom Services – Demande d’abstention de la réglementation des services locaux d’affaires

Monsieur,

Le 8 septembre 2015, le Conseil a reçu une demande de Cochrane Telecom Services (Cochrane) dans laquelle la compagnie sollicitait l’abstention de la réglementation des services locaux d’affaires dans la circonscription de Cochrane. Toutefois, la concurrence locale a été mise en œuvre dans cette circonscription le 3 décembre 2015, soit après le dépôt de la demande en objet.

Dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2009-379, à la section 2 de l’annexe 1, le Conseil exige que la petite entreprise de services locaux titulaire qui sollicite l’abstention de la réglementation des services locaux d’affaires dans une circonscription lui fournisse une liste des plaintes qu’elle a reçues des concurrents pendant une période de six mois (ou depuis l’instauration de la concurrence locale si moins de six mois). Cette période doit commencer au plus tôt huit mois avant le dépôt de la demande d’abstention locale et se terminer à n’importe quel moment avant que le Conseil ne se prononce sur cette demande.

Par conséquent, Cochrane doit fournir au Conseil la liste des plaintes qu’elle a reçues de la part des concurrents depuis la mise en œuvre de la concurrence dans la circonscription de Cochrane, ou encore une lettre attestant qu’elle n’a en reçu aucune, et ce, au plus tard le 7 avril 2016.

Les intervenants ont jusqu’au 14 avril 2016 pour formuler des observations sur le document de Cochrane. Cochrane aura jusqu’au 20 avril 2016 pour répliquer aux observations, le cas échéant.

Veuillez recevoir, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par Kim Wardle pour

Kay Saicheua
Directrice, Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.   Denise Heckbert, Eastlink, regulatory.matters@corp.eastlink.ca
Bell Canada, bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Rogers Communications, david.watt@rci.rogers.com           
Société TELUS Communications, regulatory.affairs@telus.com
Eric Macfarlane, analyste, CRTC, eric.macfarlane@crtc.gc.ca
Date de modification :