Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 31 March 2016

Our references:  8661-C12-201504829 and 8661-C182-201503946

BY EMAIL

Distribution List:

Re:Information Associated with the Implementation of Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-117

In Review of costing inputs and the application process for wholesale high-speed access services, Telecom Decision CRTC 2016-117, dated 31 March 2016 (Decision 2016-117), the Commission directed large cableFootnote 1 and telephoneFootnote 2 companies, collectively the wholesale high-speed access (HSA) service providers, to file new tariff applications for banded non-legacy wholesale HSA service speeds, as well as the monthly capacity rate per 100 Megabits per second (Mbps) service [for wholesale HSA service providers using the capacity-based billing (CBB) model], within 45 days of the publication of the Decision 2016-117, reflecting the Commissions determinations made in that decision. 

To promote timely and efficient consideration of these new tariff applications, Commission staff has prepared a list of specific costing information that is to be filed by wholesale HSA service providers in support of their tariff applications.  This list of specific costing information and associated instructions are set out in the attachments to this letter.

The costs studies to be filed pursuant to Decision 2016-117 are to contain the detailed cost information outlined in the Commission staff letter dated 13 September 2013Footnote 3 . Attachments 1, 2, and 3 provide copies of the aforementioned letter, the detailed cost information requirements, and the associated tables in Microsoft Excel Format.

In Attachment 4, Commission staff provides additional instructions relevant to Table 6b-Capital Equipment of Attachment 3, and identifies additional requested cost information.  Attachment 5 provides Microsoft Excel templates associated with the information sought in Attachment 4 (i.e. Table 11, Table 12, Tables 13a-13d and Table 14).

Further, each wholesale HSA service provider is requested to submit an electronic copy of the cost model used to support their proposed wholesale HSA service rates. The cost model should identify all methodologies and assumptions, and provide supporting rationale. The populated model should include all the associated linked spreadsheet files and any other supporting data used to develop the costs. The cost model should provide all equations used to calculate costs. Wholesale HSA service providers are to also provide a brief description of the input data variables, the vintage of the input data, modelling assumptions with supporting rationale, and any other pertinent costing details.

Wholesale HSA service providers are reminded that the information provided in their responses should be publically disclosed in a manner consistent with the confidentiality guidelines set out in Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-592.Footnote 4

Please contact Doug Thurston (doug.thurston@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 997-4579 or me (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) at (819)-953-5414 should you have any questions in regard to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunication Sector


DISTRIBUTION LIST

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Cogeco Cable Inc. (Cogeco); Rogers Communications Partnership (RCP); Quebecor Media Inc. (Vidéotron); Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw); and Bragg Communications Incorporated operating as Eastlink (Eastlink)

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Bell Canada; TELUS Communications Company (TCC); Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel); MTS Inc. (MTS), on behalf of itself and Allstream Inc. (MTS Allstream)

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2013/lt130913.htm#fnb7

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

Confidentiality of information used to establish wholesale service rates, Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2012-592, dated 26 October 2012.  

Return to footnote 4

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 31 mars 2016

Nos références : 8661-C12-201504829 et 8661-C182-201503946

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet :Information liée à la mise en œuvre de la Décision de télécom CRTC 2016-117

Dans la décision de télécom CRTC 2016-117 du 31 mars 2016 intitulée Examen des données pour l’établissement des coûts et du processus de demande relatif aux services d’accès haute vitesse de gros (décision 2016-117), le Conseil a ordonné aux grandes entreprises de câblodistributionNote de bas de page 1 et aux grandes compagnies de téléphoneNote de bas de page 2, collectivement les fournisseurs de services d’accès haute vitesse (AHV) de gros, de déposer de nouvelles demandes tarifaires pour des tranches de vitesses de services AHV de gros non traditionnels, ainsi que le tarif mensuel à la capacité par tranche de 100 mégabits par seconde (Mbps) dans le cas des fournisseurs de services AHV de gros utilisant le modèle de facturation basée sur la capacité (FBC), dans les 45 jours suivant la publication de la décision, reflétant les conclusions que le Conseil a tirées dans la décision 2016-117. 

Pour promouvoir l'examen rapide et efficace de ces nouvelles demandes tarifaires, le personnel du Conseil a préparé une liste de renseignements sur les coûts spécifiques qui doit être déposée par les fournisseurs de services AHV de gros à l'appui de leurs demandes tarifaires. Cette liste d'information sur les coûts spécifiques et des instructions associé est énoncée dans les pièces jointes à cette lettre.

Les études de coûts doivent être déposées en conformité à la décision 2016-117 et doivent contenir les informations détaillées des coûts décrites dans la lettre du personnel du Conseil en date du 13 Septembre 2013Note de bas de page 3. Les pièces jointes 1, 2 et 3 fournissent des copies de la lettre susmentionnée, les exigences d'information des coûts détaillés, et les modèles connexes en format Microsoft Excel.

Dans la pièce jointe 4, le personnel du Conseil fournit des instructions supplémentaires pertinentes au tableau 6b-Capital Equipment de l'annexe 3, et identifie les informations supplémentaires sur les coûts demandés. La pièce jointe 5 fournit des tableaux en format Microsoft Excel associés à l'information recherchée dans la pièce jointe 4 (à savoir le tableau 11, tableau 12, tableaux 13a-13d et le tableau 14).

De plus, chaque fournisseur de services AHV de gros doit soumettre une copie électronique du modèle de coûts utilisé pour appuyer les tarifs proposés pour les services AHV de gros. Le modèle de coûts doit préciser toutes les méthodes et hypothèses utilisées, et présenter une justification à l’appui. Le modèle devrait également inclure toutes les feuilles de calcul connexes ainsi que toute autre donnée utilisée pour établir les couts. Le modèle de coûts devrait indiquer toutes les équations utilisées pour calculer les coûts. Les fournisseurs de services AHV de gros doivent également fournir une brève description des variables relatives aux données d’entrée, l’année des données, les hypothèses sous-jacentes avec justification à l’appui et tout autre détail pertinent sur les coûts.

On rappelle aux fournisseurs de services AHV de gros que les renseignements contenus dans leurs réponses devraient être divulgués publiquement conformément aux lignes directrices relatives à la confidentialité qui sont énoncées dans la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2012-592Note de bas de page 4.

Veuillez communiquer avec Doug Thurston (doug.thurston@crtc.gc.ca) au (819) 997-4579 ou moi (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca ) au (819)-953-5414 pour toute question concernant la présente lettre.

Veuillez agréer, Mesdames, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La directrice,

Original signé par

Lyne Renaud
Mise en œuvre des services aux concurrents et établissement des coûts
Secteur des télécommunications

LISTE DE DISTRIBUTION

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Cogeco Câble inc. (Cogeco); Rogers Communications (RCP); Québecor Média inc. (Vidéotron); Shaw Cablesystems G.P. (Shaw) et Bragg Communications Inc., exerçant ses activités sous le nom d’Eastlink (Eastlink)

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Note de bas de page 2

Bell Canada; Société TELUS Communications (STC); Saskatchewan Télécommunications (SaskTel); MTS Inc. (MTS), en son nom et pour le compte d’Allstream Inc. (MTS Allstream)

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

Note de bas de page 3

http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2013/lt130913.htm#fnb7

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page3

Note de bas de page 4

Traitement des renseignements confidentiels utilisés pour établir les tarifs des services de gros, Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2012-592, le 26 octobre 2012.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page4

Date de modification :