Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 29 March 2016

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116

BY E-MAIL

Distribution list

RE: Requests for information related to Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116 on the Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 in Canada

Dear Madam/Sir:

Today, the Commission published Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116 to announce a consultation, which is to include an oral hearing, on the establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9-1-1 services in Canada.

In order to assist the Commission in its consideration of the issues set out in the Notice of Consultation, Commission staff is requesting information from the large incumbent local exchange carriers (ILECs) and small incumbent local exchange carriers (SILECs) as well as public safety answering points (PSAPs). Questions specific to ILECS and SILECs (herein referred to as companies) are attached in Appendix 1, and questions specific to PSAPs are attached in Appendix 2. The responses to this request for information must be filed via My CRTC Account by 29 April 2016. Footnote 1

Responses should be provided in a single document, addressing requests for information, in order to facilitate accessibility and administrative processing.  PSAPs may choose to coordinate, organize, and file, their responses in conjunction with other PSAPs who share their position, and similarly companies have the option to file their responses in conjunction with other companies.  These responses will be published on the Commission’s website under the file number identified above.

Pursuant to subsection 37(2) of the Telecommunications Act (the Act), the Commission may require a person other than a Canadian carrier that is in possession of information that the Commission considers necessary for the administration of the Act, to submit the information to the Commission.

As set out in section 39 of the Act and in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, persons may designate certain information as confidential.  A person designating information as confidential must provide a detailed explanation on why the designated information is confidential and why its disclosure would not be in the public interest, including why the specific direct harm that would be likely to result from the disclosure would outweigh the public interest in disclosure.  Furthermore, a person designating information as confidential must either file an abridged version of the document omitting only the information designated as confidential or provide reasons why an abridged version cannot be filed.

Should you have any questions regarding this letter, please contact Renée Doiron by email at renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Services Policy
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca; James Ndirangu, CRTC 819-997-3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List

Large ILECs

Small ILECs

Public Safety Answering Points


Appendix 1: Interrogatories for Large ILECs and Small ILECs

  1. Identify and describe the major network components, transmission facilities, databases and systems of your company’s current 9-1-1 network. For each major network component, transmission facility, database and system, provide the name of the vendor as well as an estimate for the remaining lifespan, taking into account the availability of replacement parts.  Your response should be supported by network diagrams as appropriate.
  2. Has your company developed a plan to transition existing 9-1-1 networks to NG9-1-1 as defined in the NENA i3 architecture and specifications?Footnote 2
    1. If so, submit a copy of the plan or provide a detailed description of the plan.
    2. If not, explain why your company has not yet developed a plan, whether your company expects to develop a plan, and when it is expected to be completed.
  3. What are your company’s estimated timeframes, taking care to identify any major dependencies, to implement a NG9-1-1 network in your existing serving area:
    1. to support all existing 9-1-1 services (wireline, wireless, VoIP 9-1-1 services and Text with 9-1-1 for Canadians who have communication disabilities or who are Deaf or hard of hearing) using NG9-1-1 based network equipment, transmission facilities, systems and databases?
    2. to support future NG9-1-1 services (such as new methods of communication with 9-1-1 operators, and the transmission of new types of information such as pictures, video, and medical records to PSAPs) using NG9-1-1 based network equipment, transmission facilities, systems and databases?
  4. What possible challenges, if any, does your company face in transitioning to an NG9-1-1, and how does your company intend to deal with these challenges?
  5. Describe the current status of the evolution of your company’s current 9-1-1 network to NG9-1-1.  More specifically, with respect to your company’s current 9-1-1 network:
    1. Identify which major network components, transmission facilities, databases and systems can already support NG9-1-1 or require minor to modest changes to support NG9-1-1 as defined in the NENA i3 specification.  Your response should define the changes required and include estimated timeframes to implement these changes. 
    2. Identify which major components, transmission facilities, databases and systems will be fully replaced in the long term or would require major changes to support NG9-1-1 as defined in the NENA i3 specification. Your response should define the changes required and include estimated timeframes to implement these changes. 
    3. Identify any new network components, transmission facilities, databases and systems your company anticipates will need to be installed or added in order to transition to NG9-1-1 as defined in the NENA i3 specification? Your response should define the installations required and include estimated timeframes to deploy these installations. 

    Your responses to (a), (b), and (c) above should clearly identify any dependencies that your company must take into consideration in order for these changes to take place. Please provide network diagrams to support or illustrate your responses to (a), (b), and (c) above as appropriate.

  6. Describe the steps and transition process your company expects to undertake to implement NG9-1-1. At a minimum, indicate:
    1. whether your company expects to maintain both the current 9-1-1 and new NG9-1-1 networks in parallel. If so, for how long?
    2. the dependencies that your company has to take into consideration in determining how long you would have to maintain both the legacy 9-1-1 and NG9-1-1 networks in parallel.
    3. the major network components, transmission facilities, databases and systems of your current 9-1-1 networks  your company expects to maintain, as well as the new ones to be added, during the various steps of the transition.
    4. the dependencies for each of the major network components, transmission facilities, databases and systems of your current 9-1-1 networks that your company expects will have to be maintained, as well as the new ones to be added, during the various steps of the transition.
  7. What are your company’s total expected capital and expense costs (separated by sunk and incremental costs) related to the transition to NG9-1-1?  You response should indicate the annual costs, or if not available the costs in the short term (1-3years), mid-term (3-5 years), and long-term (5-10 years).  Your response should provide supporting rationale and evidence to support your answer.

Appendix 2: Interrogatories for PSAPs

  1. Identify the communities your PSAP serves and the estimated number of residents in your service area. Provide maps if available.
  2. Identify and describe the secondary PSAPs that your PSAP has arrangements with.  Further, provide the estimated number of residents served by each secondary PSAP.
  3. Identify the telecommunications service providers, including ILECs and small ILECs, on whom your PSAP currently relies for 9-1-1 network services.  Further, identify and describe the specific telecommunications services that your primary PSAPs receives and from whom.
  4. Indicate and describe the number of PSAPs operating in your province, including both primary and secondary PSAPs.
  5. How is your PSAP funded? For example, is your PSAP funded by your municipal, provincial or territorial government and by what mechanism, such as municipal levies, are funds raised?
  6. Describe how decisions on service improvements or technical system upgrades are made for your PSAP.
  7. Identify and describe your PSAP’s current computer aided dispatch (CAD) software, 9-1-1 systems, 9-1-1 databases, and other PSAP 9-1-1 equipment, and estimate the remaining lifespan of each.  Your response should be supported by the name of the vendors and network diagrams as appropriate.
  8. Has your PSAP started NG9-1-1 transition planning? If so, submit a copy of the plan, and if a written plan is not available, describe the plan.  In addition, provide your estimated NG9-1-1 implementation costs, and indicate what progress your PSAP has made to secure funding for the implementation.
  9. What are your PSAP’s estimated timeframes, including major dependencies, to implement NG9-1-1:
    1. to support all existing 9-1-1 services (wireline, wireless, VoIP 9-1-1 services and Text with 9-1-1 for Canadians who have communication disabilities or who are Deaf or hard of hearing) using NG9-1-1 based CAD software, systems, databases, and other PSAP equipment?
    2. to support future NG9-1-1 services (such as new methods of communication with 9-1-1 operators, and the transmission of new types of information such as pictures, video, and medical records to PSAPs) using NG9-1-1 based CAD software, systems, databases, and other PSAP equipment?
  10. What possible challenges, if any, does your PSAP face in transitioning to NG9-1-1, and how does your PSAP intend to deal with these challenges?
  11. Describe the current status your PSAPs readiness for NG9-1-1.  More specifically:
    1. What major CAD software, 9-1-1 systems, 9-1-1 databases, and other 9-1-1 equipment of your PSAP’s current 9-1-1 system can already support NG9-1-1 or require minor or modest changes to support NG9-1-1 as defined in the NENA i3 specification?  Your response should define the changes required and include estimated timeframes to implement these changes.  .
    2. What major CAD software, 9-1-1 systems, 9-1-1 databases, and other 9-1-1 equipment of your PSAP’s current 9-1-1 system will be fully replaced in the long term or would require major changes to support NG9-1-1 as defined in the NENA i3 specification? Your response should define the changes required and include estimated timeframes to implement these changes. 
    3. What new CAD software, 9-1-1 systems, 9-1-1 databases, and other 9-1-1 equipment does your PSAP anticipate will be required in order to transition to NG9-1-1 as defined in the NENA i3 specification? Your response should define the installations required and include estimated timeframes to deploy these installations. 

    Your response to (a), (b) and (c) above should also identify the dependencies that your PSAP must take into consideration in order for these changes to take place, as well as network diagrams as appropriate.

  12. Does your PSAP need to review current arrangements with Secondary PSAPs and/or emergency responders in order to transition to a NG9-1-1 PSAP?

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Information on how to submit documents to the CRTC, can be found at the following link http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/info_sht/g100.htm

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

https://www.nena.org/?page=i3_Stage3

Return to footnote 2

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de distribution

Ottawa, le 29 mars 2016

Notre référence : 1011-NOC2016-0116

PAR COURRIEL

Liste de distribution

Objet :   Demandes d’information sur l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-116 concernant l’établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération au Canada

Madame, Monsieur,
Aujourd’hui, le Conseil a publié l’Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2016-116 pour annoncer une consultation, qui comportera une audience orale, sur l’établissement d’un cadre réglementaire pour le 9-1-1 de prochaine génération (9-1-1 PG) au Canada.

Afin d’examiner les questions énoncées dans l’Avis de consultation, le Conseil demande des renseignements aux grandes entreprises de services locaux titulaires (ESLT), aux petites entreprises de services locaux titulaires (petites ESLT) et aux centres d’appels de la sécurité publique (CASP). Les questions propres aux ESLT et aux petites ESLT (ci-après appelées « entreprises ») figurent à l’annexe 1, et les questions propres aux CASP, à l’annexe 2. Les réponses à la présente demande de renseignements doivent être transmises par l’intermédiaire de Mon compte CRTC d’ici le 29 avril 2016 Note de bas de page 1.

Il faut fournir les réponses aux demandes de renseignements dans  un seul document aux fins de l’accessibilité et du traitement administratif. Un CASP peut décider de coordonner, d’organiser et de déposer ses réponses de concert avec d’autres CASP partageant ses vues, et une entreprise peut faire de même avec d’autres entreprises. Ces réponses seront publiées dans le site Web du Conseil, sous le numéro de dossier indiqué plus haut.

Conformément au paragraphe 37(2) de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi), le Conseil peut demander à une personne autre qu’une entreprise canadienne de lui soumettre des renseignements qu’elle détient et qu’il estime nécessaires aux fins de l’application de la Loi.

Comme le précisent l’article 39 de la Loi et le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, intitulé Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, une partie peut désigner certains renseignements comme étant confidentiels. Quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit expliquer en détail pourquoi les renseignements sont confidentiels et pourquoi leur divulgation ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public, en précisant notamment comment le préjudice direct particulier que la divulgation pourrait entraîner l’emporte sur l’intérêt public de la divulgation. De plus, quiconque désigne des renseignements comme étant confidentiels doit déposer une version abrégée du document ne contenant pas les renseignements désignés comme étant confidentiels, ou exposer les raisons pour lesquelles une version abrégée ne peut être fournie.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la présente lettre, veuillez communiquer avec Renée Doiron par courriel en écrivant à renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer mes sincères salutations.

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Directrice, Politiques de concurrence et des services d’urgence
Secteur des télécommunications

c.c. :  Renée Doiron, CRTC, 819-997-2755, renee.doiron@crtc.gc.ca;
James Ndirangu, CRTC 819-997-3670, james.ndirangu@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution

Grandes ESLT

Petites ESLT

Centres d’appels de la sécurité publique


Annexe 1 : Questions posées aux grandes ESLT et aux petites ESLT

  1. Indiquez et décrivez les principaux systèmes, composantes, installations de transmission et bases de données des réseaux 9-1-1 actuels de votre entreprise. Pour chaque principaux système, composante, installation de transmission et base de données, indiquer le nom du fournisseur ainsi qu’ une estimation du reste de la durée de vie de chacun de ces éléments, en prenant en compte la disponibilité des pièces de rechange. Faites reposer votre réponse sur des diagrammes du réseau, au besoin.
  2. Votre entreprise a-t-elle dressé un plan pour faire passer ses réseaux 9-1-1 existants aux réseaux 9-1-1 PG, comme le définit l’architecture et les spécifications NENAi3Note de bas de page 2?
    1. Si tel est le cas, présentez un exemplaire du plan ou fournissez-en une description détaillée.
    2. Sinon, expliquez pourquoi votre entreprise n’a pas élaboré de plan et précisez si elle compte en dresser un et quand elle devrait l’avoir terminé.
  3. Quel est l’échéancier estimatif de votre entreprise (prenez soin d’indiquer toute dépendance importante) pour ce qui est de déployer un réseau 9-1-1 PG dans la région qu’elle dessert actuellement afin :
    1. d’offrir tous les services 9-1-1 existants (services filaires, sans fil, VoIP et messages textes avec service 9-1-1 pour les Canadiens ayant un trouble de la communication ou qui sont Sourds ou malentendants) au moyen de l’équipement, des installations de transmission, des systèmes et des bases de données des réseaux 9-1-1 PG?
    2. d’offrir les services 9-1-1 PG de l’avenir (par exemple, les nouvelles méthodes de communication avec les téléphonistes des services 9-1-1 et la transmission de nouveaux genres de renseignements tels que des images, des vidéos et des documents médicaux aux CASP) au moyen de l’équipement, des installations de transmission, des systèmes et des bases de données des réseaux 9-1-1 PG?
  4. À quels défis votre entreprise fait-elle face pour opérer la transition à un service 9-1-1 PG et, le cas échéant, comment compte-t-elle les relever?
  5. Décrivez l’état actuel de l’évolution du réseau 9-1-1 actuel de votre entreprise vers le réseau 9-1-1 PG. Plus précisément, en ce qui concerne le réseau actuel de services 9-1-1 de votre entreprise :
    1. Indiquez quels principaux systèmes, composantes, installations de transmission et bases de données permettent déjà d’offrir les services 9-1-1 PG ou ne nécessitent que des changements mineurs ou modestes pour ce faire, comme les définit la spécification NENAi3. Dans votre réponse, veillez à définir les changements qui s’imposent et estimer le temps qu’il faudra pour la mise en service de ces changements. 
    2. Indiquez quels principaux systèmes, composantes, installations de transmission et bases de données seront complètement remplacés à long terme, ou nécessiteront de grands changements pour permettre d’offrir les services 9-1-1 PG, comme les définit la spécification NENAi3. Dans votre réponse, veillez à décrire les changements qui s’imposent et donner une idée du temps qu’il faudra pour les mettre en service. 
    3. Indiquez tout nouveau système, composante, installation de transmission et base de données que votre entreprise prévoit devoir installer ou ajouter pour opérer la transition aux services 9-1-1 PG, comme les définit la spécification NENAi3. Dans votre réponse, veillez à décrire les installations qui s’imposent et à donner une idée du temps qu’il faudra pour les mettre en service.

    Dans les réponses fournies aux alinéas (a), (b) et (c) ci-dessus, veillez à cerner clairement toute dépendance que votre entreprise doit prendre en considération pour que ces changements aient lieu. Veuillez fournir des diagrammes des réseaux pour appuyer ou illustrer les réponses en question, selon le cas.

  6. Décrivez les étapes et le processus de transition que votre entreprise compte franchir ou appliquer pour mettre en œuvre les services 9-1-1 PG. Veuillez indiquer ce qui suit, à tout le moins : 
    1. Si votre entreprise compte exploiter en parallèle les réseaux 9-1-1 actuels et ceux de la prochaine génération. Le cas échéant, pendant combien de temps?
    2. Les dépendances dont votre entreprise doit tenir compte pour établir pendant combien de temps elle devrait exploiter en parallèle les réseaux 9-1-1 existants et ceux de la prochaine génération.
    3. Les principaux systèmes, composantes, installations de transmission et bases de données de vos réseaux 9-1-1 actuels que votre entreprise compte conserver et les nouveaux qu’elle ajoutera aux divers stades de la transition.
    4. Les dépendances relatives à chaque principal système, composante, installation de transmission et base de données de vos réseaux 9-1-1 actuels que votre entreprise s’attend à devoir conserver, et celles des nouvelles qu’elle ajoutera aux divers stades de la transition.
  7. Quel est le total escompté des frais d’investissement et d’exploitation de votre entreprise (faire la distinction entre les coûts irrécupérables et les coûts différentiels) liés à la transition aux services 9-1-1 PG? Dans votre réponse, veuillez indiquer les coûts annuels, ou, si vous ne les avez pas, les coûts à court terme (entre un et trois ans), à moyen terme (de trois à cinq ans) et à long terme (de cinq à dix ans). Votre réponse est censée fournir une justification et des éléments probants susceptibles d’étayer vos propos.

Annexe 2 :Questions posées aux CASP

  1. Indiquez les collectivités que votre CASP dessert et le nombre estimatif de personnes vivant dans la région à laquelle vous fournissez des services. Fournir des cartes si possible.
  2. Nommez et décrivez les CASP secondaires avec lesquels votre CASP a conclu des ententes. En outre, précisez le nombre estimatif de personnes auxquelles chaque CASP secondaire offre des services.
  3. Indiquez les fournisseurs de services de télécommunications, y compris les grandes ESLT et les petites ESLT, sur lesquels votre CASP compte actuellement en ce qui concerne les services des réseaux 9-1-1. En outre, nommez et décrivez les services particuliers de télécommunications que votre CASP primaire reçoit et indiquez de qui il les reçoit.
  4. Nommez et décrivez les CASP établis dans votre province, y compris les CASP primaires et secondaires, et indiquez-en le nombre.
  5. Comment votre CASP est-il financé? Par exemple, votre CASP est-il financé par votre gouvernement municipal, provincial ou territorial et par quel mécanisme (p. ex. prélèvements municipaux) les fonds sont-ils réunis?
  6. Décrivez comment les décisions relatives à l’amélioration des services ou à la modernisation des systèmes techniques sont prises dans le cas de votre CASP.
  7. Décrivez le logiciel actuel de déploiement assisté par ordinateur de votre CASP, les systèmes et les bases de données 9-1-1 et les autres équipements 9-1-1 du CASP, et indiquez la durée de vie résiduelle approximative de chacun. Votre réponse devrait être étayée par les noms des fournisseurs et des diagrammes des réseaux, le cas échéant.
  8. Votre CASP a-t-il amorcé la planification de sa transition aux services 9-1-1 PG? Si tel est le cas, fournissez un exemplaire écrit du plan; si vous ne disposez pas d’un tel exemplaire, veuillez décrire le plan. En outre, donnez une estimation des coûts de mise en œuvre des services susmentionnés et précisez les progrès que votre CASP a accomplis pour obtenir les fonds nécessaires à la mise en œuvre.
  9. Quel est l’échéancier approximatif de la mise en œuvre des services 9-1-1 PG de votre CASP, y compris les principales dépendances?
    1. Pour offrir tous les services 9-1-1 existants (services filaires, sans fil, VoIP et messages textes avec service 9-1-1 pour les Canadiens ayant un trouble de la communication ou qui sont Sourds ou malentendants) au moyen de logiciels assistés par ordinateur, de systèmes et de bases de données  9-1-1 PG et d’autres équipements 9-1-1 du CASP.
    2. Pour offrir les services 9-1-1 PG de l’avenir (par exemple, les nouvelles méthodes de communication avec les téléphonistes des services 9-1-1 et la transmission de nouveaux genres de renseignements tels que des images, des vidéos et des documents médicaux au CASP) au moyen de logiciels assistés par ordinateur, de systèmes et de bases de données  9-1-1 PG et d’autres équipements 9-1-1 du CASP.
  10. À quels défis votre CASP fait-il face pour opérer la transition à un service 9-1-1 PG et, le cas échéant, comment compte-t-il les relever?
  11. Décrivez l’état de préparation actuel de vos CASP pour ce qui est de passer aux services 9-1-1 PG. Plus précisément :
    1. Quels principaux logiciels de déploiement assistés par ordinateur, systèmes et bases de données 9-1-1 et autres équipements 9-1-1 principaux du réseau 9-1-1 actuel de votre CASP permettent-ils déjà d’offrir les services 9-1-1 PG ou ne nécessitent-ils que des changements mineurs ou modestes pour ce faire, comme les définit la spécification NENAi3? Dans votre réponse, veillez à définir les changements qui s’imposent et donner une idée du temps qu’il faudra pour les mettre en service.
    2. Quels principaux logiciels de déploiement assistés par ordinateur, systèmes et bases de données 9-1-1 et autres équipements du réseau 9-1-1 actuel de votre CASP seront-ils complètement remplacés à long terme, ou nécessiteront-ils de grands changements pour permettre d’offrir les services 9-1-1 PG, comme les définit la spécification NENAi3? Dans votre réponse, veillez à décrire les changements qui s’imposent et donner une idée du temps qu’il faudra pour les mettre en service.
    3. Quels nouveaux logiciels de déploiement assistés par ordinateur, systèmes et bases de données 9-1-1 et autres équipements 9-1-1 votre CASP prévoit-il devoir installer pour opérer la transition aux services 9-1-1 PG, comme les définit la spécification NENAi3? Dans votre réponse, veillez à décrire les installations qui s’imposent et à donner une idée du temps qu’il faudra pour les mettre en service.

    Dans les réponses fournies aux alinéas (a), (b) et (c) ci-dessus, veillez à cerner clairement toute dépendance que votre CASP doit prendre en considération pour que ces changements aient lieu et fournir des diagrammes des réseaux, selon le cas.

  12. Votre CASP doit-il examiner les accords actuels conclus avec des CASP secondaires, ou des services d’intervention d’urgence, ou les deux, pour opérer à transition à un CASP 9-1-1 PG?

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

On trouvera des renseignements sur la façon de soumettre des documents au CRTC en consultant le site suivant : http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/info_sht/g100.htm.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Note de bas de page 2

https://www.nena.org/?page=i3_Stage3

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

Date de modification :