Telecom Commission letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 8 March 2016

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re: Review of basic telecommunications services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2015-134Footnote 1 – Organization and conduct of the public hearing.

Dear Madam/Sir:

The Commission is scheduled to hold a public hearing in connection with the above-noted proceeding commencing on Monday, 11 April 2016 at the Conference Centre, Phase IV, Outaouais Room, 140 Promenade du Portage, in Gatineau, Quebec.

The purpose of this letter is to provide parties with information on the organization and conduct of the public hearing.

Sitting Schedule

The hearing will begin at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, 11 April 2016. The hearing is expected to last no more than 3 weeks.

The order and estimated date of appearance of parties making an oral presentation at the hearing are set out in the attached document (Agenda). The Commission will not amend the order of appearance, barring exceptional circumstances.

Please note that the order of appearance of the public hearing will be available on the Commission’s website at the following link: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/Telecom/eng/HEARINGS/2016/ag11_04.htm and will be updated, if necessary, prior to the hearing.
All other persons interested in the proceeding and members of the public are invited to attend as audience members.
Participants are responsible for monitoring the progress of the hearing so that they are aware of any Commission directives and are ready to make their presentation on the day scheduled or, if necessary, the day before or after their scheduled date of appearance, depending on the progress of the hearing. Please be advised that an audio link will be available throughout the hearing on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca.

Transcripts

The Commission has made arrangements to provide stenography services for the hearing. Those who wish to obtain same-day or other services are to contact Justin Ladelpha of International Reporting as soon as possible prior to the hearing to make arrangements. The person requesting the service is responsible for the transaction and payment of such services. Justin Ladelpha from International Reporting Inc. may be contacted at 613-748-6043 ext. 25 or info@irri.net. The transcripts will be posted daily on the Commission’s website.

Presentations

Participants may use the time allotted to them in order to discuss any aspect of their submissions or respond to any aspect of the written submissions made by other parties to this proceeding.

Presentations may be followed by questioning from members of the Commission panel and by Commission legal counsel where appropriate.

Participants may make use of audio-visual aids in their presentations (the duration of which must be included in participants’ allocated presentation time). Participants who wish to employ an audio-visual aid are to contact Jade Roy, Hearing Secretary, by e-mail at jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca (tel: 819-953-7927) by no later than 15 March 2016, since those participants will be required to make arrangements to rent technical equipment as required. To facilitate the interpretation of these audio-visual presentations, the Commission requests that participants provide, prior to their presentations, a transcript (2 copies) for the interpreters at the hearing. Please note that this transcript will not be added to the public record as it is solely for the use of the interpreters.

Responsibility of the participants

Parties are required to bring with them all relevant documentation and knowledgeable personnel, including any relevant experts. An adverse inference may be drawn from the failure of a party to do so.

Participants are reminded that, in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Rules of Practice and Procedure, only evidence in support of statements already on the record is admissible at the public hearing. Should a party intend to bring forward new evidence, including proposed exhibits or attachments to the oral presentation, they must notify the Hearing Secretary of their intention in advance of their oral presentation and must request permission to do so from the Commission panel at the beginning of their oral presentation.

For ease of translation and transcription, and to assist the Commission panel members and Commission staff, participants are requested to bring 40 copies of:

Participants are requested to provide an electronic version of their prepared remarks to the Hearing Secretary (jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca) and the stenographer prior to their oral presentation.

Notification of attendance and further inquiries

In order to assist the Commission, participants must file the following via e-mail at hearing1@crtc.gc.ca , by 15 March 2016:

Please note that this information will not be posted on the Commission’s website.

Undertakings

Parties’ undertakings must be filed by 5 May 2016 unless otherwise determined by the Commission panel. Undertakings will not be confirmed on the record at the end of the presentation. Any party who wishes to confirm the content of its undertakings may speak with Commission Legal Counsel.

Organization of the Hearing Room

Parties are advised that separate tables for each party will not be provided in the hearing room. Parties who wish to follow the hearing in person may sit in the audience or in the public examination room.

Post-public hearing written submissions

Parties may file final written comments in reply to submissions at the public hearing on any matter within the scope of this proceeding by 17 May 2016. Final comments, including an executive summary, are not to exceed 25 pages.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

 

CRTC Regional Offices:

Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Metropolitan Place
99 Wyse Road, Suite 1410

Montréal, Quebec
505, De Maisonneuve Blvd. West, Bureau 205

Toronto, Ontario
55 St. Clair Avenue East, Suite 624

Winnipeg, Manitoba
360 Main Street, Suite 970

Regina, Saskatchewan
403-1975 Scarth Street

Vancouver, British Columbia
858 Beatty Street, Suite 290

Attachment (1) – Agenda

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Review of basic telecommunications services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2015-134, 9 April 2015; as amended by Telecom Notices of Consultation CRTC 2015-134-1, 3 June 2015; 2015-134-2, 22 December 2015 and 2015-134-3, 14 January 2016.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified:

Télécom lettre du Conseil adressée à la liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 8 mars 2016

PAR COURRIEL

Distribution

Objet : Examen des services de télécommunication de base, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2015-134Note de bas de page1 – Organisation et déroulement de l’audience publique

Madame, Monsieur,

Le Conseil tiendra une audience publique dans le cadre de l’instance susmentionnée à compter du lundi 11 avril 2016, au Centre de conférences, 140 promenade du Portage, Phase IV, Gatineau (Québec).

La présente lettre vise à informer les parties de diverses questions concernant l’organisation et le déroulement de l’audience publique.

Horaire

L’audience commencera à 9 h le lundi 11 avril 2016. L’audience devrait durer 3 semaines au plus.

L’ordre et la date prévue de comparution des parties qui ont indiqué au Conseil leur intention de comparaître sont indiqués dans le document ci-joint (Ordre du jour). Le Conseil ne modifiera pas l’ordre de comparution, sauf circonstance exceptionnelle.

Vous pouvez consulter l’ordre de comparution à l’audience publique sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse suivante: http://www.crtc.gc.ca/Telecom/fra/HEARINGS/2016/ag11_04.htm L’information sera mise à jour avant l’audience, s’il y a lieu.
Les autres parties à l’instance et le public sont invités à faire partie de l’auditoire.

Les participants doivent surveiller le déroulement de l’audience afin d’être au courant des directives du Conseil et d’être prêts à faire leur exposé le jour prévu ou, le cas échéant, le jour précédant ou suivant la date de comparution prévue, selon la rapidité à laquelle se déroule l’audience. Pendant toute la durée de l’audience, une liaison audio sera offerte à partir du site Web du Conseil, à l’adresse www.crtc.gc.ca.

Transcriptions

Le Conseil a retenu des services de sténographie pour la durée de l’audience. Les parties qui désirent obtenir une transcription le jour même, ou d’autres services, doivent communiquer avec Justin Ladelpha de International Reporting le plus tôt possible avant la tenue de l’audience publique afin de prendre des arrangements. Elles devront en assumer la responsabilité et les coûts. Vous pouvez joindre Justin Ladelpha de International Reporting Inc., par téléphone, au numéro 613-748-6043 poste 25 ou, par courriel, à l’adresse info@irri.net. Les transcriptions seront publiées quotidiennement sur le site Web du Conseil.

Exposés des parties

Les participants peuvent profiter du temps alloué pour leur présentation pour discuter tout aspect de leurs commentaires ou pour répondre aux commentaires écrits faits par les autres parties lors du processus.
Les exposés pourraient être suivis de questions posées par les membres du comité d’audition du Conseil et par les conseillers juridiques, si nécessaire.

Le Conseil doit être informé à l’avance des présentations audiovisuelles (la durée de celles-ci doit être incluse dans le temps alloué à la présentation du participant). Ceux qui désirent le faire doivent envoyer un courriel à Jade Roy, secrétaire de l’audience, à l’adresse jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca (tél. : 819-953-7927) d’ici le 15 mars 2016, puisqu’ils doivent prendre les dispositions nécessaires pour louer le matériel technique, au besoin. Pour faciliter l’interprétation simultanée de ces présentations audiovisuelles, le Conseil demande aux participants de fournir, avant leur présentation, une transcription (en deux exemplaires) destinée aux interprètes de l’audience. Veuillez noter que cette transcription ne sera pas ajoutée au dossier public et qu’elle est destinée à l’usage exclusif des interprètes.

Responsabilité des participants

Les parties sont tenues d’apporter à l’audience toute la documentation pertinente et d’être accompagnées de personnes compétentes, y compris les experts pertinents, à défaut de quoi il pourrait s’ensuivre une inférence défavorable.

Le Conseil rappelle aux participants que, en vertu des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la seule preuve admissible lors d’une audience publique est celle faite à l’appui d’une allégation figurant déjà au dossier. Si une partie entend fournir un nouvel élément de preuve, y compris des pièces à l’appui ou des pièces jointes à ses observations orales écrites, elle doit en informer la secrétaire de l’audience avant son exposé et demander au comité d’audition du Conseil l’autorisation de déposer ces documents au début de son exposé.

Afin de faciliter la traduction et la transcription, et pour aider les membres du comité d’audition du Conseil et le personnel du Conseil, les participants sont priés d’apporter 40 exemplaires de :

Le Conseil invite les participants à remettre à la secrétaire de l’audience (jade.roy@crtc.gc.ca) et au sténographe, avant leur exposé, une version électronique des observations qu’ils ont préparées.

Notification de présence et demandes de renseignements complémentaires

Afin d’aider le Conseil, chaque participant doit déposer les renseignements ci-après par courriel à l’adresse audience1@crtc.gc.ca, au plus tard le 15 mars 2016:

Veuillez noter que ces renseignements ne seront pas affichés sur le site Web du Conseil.

Engagements

Les engagements des parties doivent être déposés au plus tard le 5 mai 2016, sauf indication contraire de la part du comité d’audition du Conseil. Les engagements ne seront pas confirmés au dossier à la fin de la présentation. Toute partie qui souhaite confirmer le contenu de ses engagements peut communiquer avec le conseiller juridique du Conseil.

Organisation de la salle d’audience

Les parties ne disposeront pas chacune d’une table dans la salle d’audience. Les parties qui souhaitent assister en personne à l’audience pourront s’asseoir parmi l’auditoire ou dans la salle d’examen.

Présentation d’observations écrites après l’audience publique

Les parties peuvent déposer par écrit leurs dernières observations écrites en réplique aux commentaires faits à l’audience publique, et ce, sur toute question s’inscrivant dans le cadre de la présente instance, au plus tard le 17 mai 2016. Le mémoire final, y compris son sommaire exécutif, ne doit pas dépasser 25 pages.

Original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secrétaire générale

 

Bureaux régionaux du CRTC :

Dartmouth (Nouvelle-Écosse)
Place Metropolitan,
99, chemin Wyse, suite 1410

Montréal (Québec)
505, boulevard De Maisonneuve ouest, bureau 205

Toronto (Ontario)
55, avenue St. Clair est, suite 624

Winnipeg (Manitoba)
360, rue Main, suite 970

Regina (Saskatchewan)
1975, rue Scarth, suite 403

Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
858, rue Beatty, suite 290

Pièce jointe (1) – Ordre du jour

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Examen des services de télécommunication de base, Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2015-134, 9 avril 2015, tel que modifié par les Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2015-134-1, 3 juin 2015; 2015-134-2, 22 décembre 2015 et 2015-134-3, 14 janvier 2016.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Date de modification :