Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Samer Bishay (Ice Wireless) and David Watt (Rogers Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, February 16, 2016

Our reference:  8620-J106-201601633

BY EMAIL

Mr. Samer Bishay
President & CEO
Ice Wireless
675 Cochrane Drive, 6th floor, East Tower
Markham, Ontario L3R 0B8
regulatory@icewireless.ca

Mr. David Watt
Senior Vice President – Regulatory
Rogers Communications Inc.
333 Bloor Street East, 9th Floor
Toronto, Ontario M4W 1G9
david.watt@rci.rogers.com

RE:  Part 1 application by Ice Wireless Inc. relating to Rogers Communication Partnership’s attempt to disconnect Ice Wireless Inc. and the proper interpretation of Telecom Regulation Policy CRTC 2015-177 – Process letter

Dear Sirs:

The Commission is in receipt of a Part 1 Application filed by Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) on 15 February 2016 in which Ice Wireless states that the effect of Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2015-177 (TRP 2015-177), and in particular paragraph 167 thereof, is to allow its affiliate Sugar Mobile to leverage the Roaming Agreement between Ice Wireless and Rogers Communications Inc. (Rogers) and roam onto Rogers’ network. Ice Wireless submitted that Rogers has taken the opposite view and has informed Ice Wireless that Sugar Mobile’s roaming on its network constitutes a violation of several provisions of the Roaming Agreement and that the agreement would be terminated as of 23 February 2016.

In its Application, Ice Wireless requests, among other things, that the Commission grant interim relief on an expedited basis by:

  1. Preventing Rogers from disconnecting either Ice Wireless or Sugar Mobile from its mobile network pending the Commission’s ruling on the final relief requested by Ice Wireless;
  2. Abridging the times under the CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure)  for the filing and service of an answer and reply with respect to the interim relief sought;
  3. Requesting that, if the Commission were to decline Ice Wireless’ interim relief, Ice Wireless be provided with
    1. A period of ninety days following the Commission’s decision to cease Sugar Mobile’s roaming activities on Rogers’ network; and
    2. An order requiring Rogers to maintain the Roaming Agreement in full force and effect, subject to any modifications stemming from TRP 2015-177 and subsequent proceedings determined by the Commission.

Commission staff considers that in the circumstances an expedited process for the interim relief requested is appropriate. Accordingly, Rogers and any interested party are to file their answer to the application for interim relief, serving a copy on Ice Wireless, no later than 18 February 2016. Reply comments from Ice Wireless may be filed by no later than 22 February 2016. Documents are to be received, and not merely sent, by these dates. It is noted that these dates are essentially in accord with the revised dates that the Public Interest Advocacy Centre requested, in its letter of 16 February 2016.

In order for the Commission to properly assess Ice Wireless’ request for interim relief, Commission staff requests that Rogers maintain its Roaming Agreement with Ice Wireless in effect until the Commission rules on the interim relief requested, and confirm in its answer that it will do so.

With respect to Ice Wireless’ request for final relief, deadlines as set out in the Rules of Procedure for a Part I application will apply. As such, any interested party will have until 17 March 2016 to file its intervention and Ice Wireless will have until 29 March to file its reply comments.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Kay Saicheua
Director, Competition and Emergency Service Policy
Telecommunications sector

c.c.:  Christian Tacit, ctacit@tacitlaw.com
Geoffrey White, gwhite@piac.ca
Kim Wardle, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre Procédurale adressée à Samer Bishay (Ice Wireless) and David Watt (Rogers Communications Inc.)

Ottawa, le 16 février 2016

Notre référence : 8620-J106-201601633

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Samer Bishay
Président & PDG
Ice Wireless
675, promenade Cochrane, Tour Est, 6e étage
Markham (Ontario) L3R 0B8
regulatory@icewireless.ca

Monsieur David Watt
Premier vice-président, Réglementation
Rogers Communications Inc.
333, rue Bloor Est, 9e étage
Toronto (Ontario)  M4W 1G9
david.watt@rci.rogers.com

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par Ice Wireless Inc. concernant la tentative de Rogers Communications Inc. de déconnecter Ice Wireless inc. et l’interprétation adéquate de la Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-177 – lettre procédurale

Messieurs,

Le Conseil a reçu la demande en vertu de la partie 1 qu’Ice Wireless Inc. (Ice Wireless) a déposée le 15 février 2016 dans laquelle elle affirme que les effets de la politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2015-177 (PRT 2015-177), et en particulier de son paragraphe 167, permettent à sa filiale Sugar Mobile de tirer profit de l’entente d’itinérance entre Ice Wireless et Rogers Communications Inc. (Rogers) et d’utiliser le réseau de Rogers en itinérance. Ice Wireless a indiqué que Rogers était d’avis contraire et a informé Ice Wireless que l’itinérance de Sugar Mobile sur son réseau constituait une violation de plusieurs dispositions de l’accord d’itinérance et que l’accord serait résilié le 23 février 2016.

Dans sa demande, Ice Wireless réclame, entre autres, que le Conseil accorde rapidement un redressement provisoire en :

  1. Empêchant Rogers de déconnecter Ice Wireless ou Sugar Mobile de son réseau mobile en attendant la décision du Conseil sur le redressement final demandé par Ice Wireless;
  2. Abrégeant les délais en vertu des Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les règles de procédure) pour le dépôt et la signification d’une réponse ainsi que la réplique en ce qui a trait au redressement provisoire demandé;
  3. Demandant à ce que, si le Conseil devait refuser le redressement provisoire demandé par Ice Wireless, Ice Wireless obtienne
    1. Une période de quatre-vingt-dix jours suivant la décision du Conseil pour cesser les activités d’itinérance de Sugar Mobile sur le réseau de Rogers, et
    2. Une ordonnance exigeant que Rogers maintienne l’entente d’itinérance en vigueur et de plein effet, sous réserve des modifications découlant de la PRT 2015-177 et des procédures ultérieures déterminées par le Conseil.

Le personnel du Conseil estime qu’il convient, dans les circonstances, de traiter la demande de redressement provisoire selon une procédure accélérée. Par conséquent, Rogers et toute partie intéressée ont jusqu’au 18 février 2016 pour déposer leur réponse à la demande de redressement provisoire et en signifier copie à Ice Wireless. Pour sa part, Ice Wireless a jusqu’au 22 février 2016 pour déposer des répliques. Les documents doivent être reçus, et non seulement envoyés, aux dates indiquées. Il est à noter que ces dates sont essentiellement en accord avec les nouvelles dates demandées par le Centre pour la défense de l'intérêt public dans sa lettre du 16 février 2016.
Afin de permettre au Conseil d’évaluer adéquatement la demande de redressement provisoire d’Ice Wireless, le personnel demande à Rogers de maintenir en vigueur son entente d’itinérance avec Ice Wireless jusqu’à ce que le Conseil se soit prononcé sur le redressement provisoire et de confirmer qu’il le fera dans sa réponse.

Quant à la demande de redressement final d’Ice Wireless, les délais pour une demande en vertu de la Partie I tels qu’établis dans les règles de procédure s’appliqueront. Ainsi, toute partie intéressée aura jusqu’au 17 mars 2016 pour déposer une intervention et Ice Wireless aura jusqu’au 29 mars 2016 pour déposer sa réplique finale. 

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Kay Saicheua
Directrice, Politique de concurrence et des services d’urgence 
Secteur des télécommunications

c. c.  Christian Tacit, ctacit@tacitlaw.com
Geoffrey White, gwhite@piac.ca
Kim Wardle, kim.wardle@crtc.gc.ca
Josiane Lord, josiane.lord@crtc.gc.ca

Date de modification :