Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Stephen Schmidt (TELUS)

Ottawa, 25 August 2016

BY EMAIL

Mr. Stephen Schmidt
Vice President
Telecom Policy and Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
TELUS
215 Slater Street, Floor 8
Ottawa, Ontario  K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Re:  TELUS Communications Company’s Part 1 Application, Show cause proceeding for use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunication services for persons with disabilities – Request to disclose information claimed as confidential

Dear Mr. Schmidt:

With this letter, Commission staff is requesting disclosure of the following document submitted in confidence by TELUS Communications Company (TELUS) in the Part 1 Application, Follow-up to Telecom Decision 2016-193 - Show Cause Proceeding for further proposals for the use of deferral account funds to improve access to telecommunications services for persons with disabilities:

At the time that TELUS filed this application, it designated the above information as ‘confidential’, pursuant to section 39 of the Telecommunications Act and the directions provided by the Commission in the Appendices to Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961 (Information Bulletin 2010-961). TELUS provided the following rationale for its designation of confidentiality for this information at paragraph 2 of its letter dated 19 July 2016:

Release of this information would provide potential competitors with competitively-sensitive information that would not otherwise be available to them, and which would enable them to develop more effective business strategies. Release of such information could prejudice TELUS’ competitive position and cause specific direct harm.

Staff notes that the Commission stated at paragraph 6 of Information Bulletin 2010-961 that:

Generic statements such as ‘the release of this information to competitors would result in specific, direct harm to the company’ are not sufficient. Parties must provide sufficient reasons to allow meaningful analysis by the Commission or another party who may wish to request disclosure of the information.

Following a preliminary examination, Commission staff considers that the release of the information identified above would be in the public interest. This information would facilitate meaningful comment by interested parties on the effectiveness of TELUS’ proposal in achieving its objectives and would promote the creation of a fuller record for this proceeding. Moreover, in the view of Commission staff, TELUS has not provided sufficiently specific rationale to justify why disclosure of this information is not in the public interest, nor did it explain how the information at issue is of a type listed in the Appendices to Information Bulletin 2010-961.

Accordingly, a non-abridged version of Appendix B is to be filed with the Commission by TELUS no later than 2 September 2016.

Revised timelines for the intervention period and corresponding reply period for this process will follow after the receipt of TELUS’ reply.

Sincerely,

[Original signed]

Nanao Kachi
Director
Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

c.c.: Distribution List
Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca
Mary-Louise Hayward, mary-louise.hayward@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List:

Date modified:

Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Stephen Schmidt (TELUS)

Ottawa, le 25 août 2016

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Stephen Schmidt
Vice-président
Politiques de télécommunications et
conseiller principal en réglementation
TELUS
215, rue Slater, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 0A6
regulatory.affairs@telus.com

Objet : Demande en vertu de la partie 1 présentée par la Société TELUS Communications, Instance de justification pour les propositions relatives à l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report en vue d’améliorer l’accès aux services de télécommunication pour les personnes handicapées – Demande de divulgation de renseignements désignés confidentiels

Monsieur,

Par la présente, le Conseil demande à la Société TELUS Communications (TELUS) de divulguer les documents suivant qu’elle a soumis à titre confidentiel dans la demande en vertu de la partie 1, Suivi de la décision de télécom CRTC 2016-193 – Instance de justification pour autres propositions relatives à l’utilisation des fonds du compte de report en vue d’améliorer l’accès aux services de télécommunication pour les personnes handicapées :

Lorsqu’elle a déposé sa demande, TELUS a désigné confidentiels les renseignements ci-dessus, en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi sur les télécommunications (la Loi) et de l’annexe au Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et télécom CRTC 2010-961 (Bulletin 2010-961). TELUS a invoqué les raisons suivantes pour motiver la désignation des renseignements comme confidentiels au paragraphe 2 de sa lettre datée du 19 juillet 2016

La divulgation de ces renseignements mettrait entre les mains de concurrents potentiels des renseignements de nature délicate du point de vue de la concurrence, qu’ils ne pourraient autrement pas accéder et qui leur permettraient de développer des stratégies commerciales plus efficaces. La divulgation de ces renseignements pourrait porter préjudice à la position concurrentielle de TELUS, ce qui pourrait leur causer un préjudice indirect. (notre traduction) 

Nous tenons à souligner que le Conseil a indiqué dans le Bulletin 2010-961 que :

« Les généralités du type “la divulgation de ces renseignements occasionnerait un préjudice direct à la compagnie” sont inadéquates. L’auteur de la désignation doit fournir des motifs suffisants pour permettre au Conseil ou à toute autre partie qui réclame la divulgation d’en faire une analyse efficace. »

Suite à un examen préliminaire, le personnel du Conseil juge que la divulgation des renseignements susmentionnés serait dans l’intérêt du public. Cette Information faciliterait la formulation d’observations pertinentes de la part des parties intéressées concernant l’efficacité de la proposition de TELUS dans l’atteinte de ses objectifs et favoriserait la création d’un dossier plus complet dans cette instance. De plus, selon le personnel du Conseil, TELUS n’a pas fourni suffisamment de raisons spécifiques pour justifier que la divulgation des renseignements n’est pas dans l’intérêt public et n’a pas expliqué en quoi les renseignements en cause sont du type énuméré à l’annexe du Bulletin 2010-961.

En conséquence, une version non abrégée d’Annexe B doit être déposée auprès du Conseil au plus tard le 2 septembre 2016.

Les dates révisées pour la période d’intervention et la période de réponse correspondant à ce processus vont suivre après la réception du dépôt de TELUS.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur
Politique sociale et des consommateurs
Consommation et politique stratégique,

[Original signé]

Nanao Kachi

c.c. : Liste de distribution
Meghan Zwiers, meghan.zwiers@crtc.gc.ca
Mary-Louise Hayward, mary-louise.hayward@crtc.gc.ca


Liste de distribution :

Date de modification :