Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 15 July 2016

VIA E-MAIL

Dear Sir / Madam,

Re: Change to procedure – Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2016-195, Call for comments on standard requirements for television stations, discretionary services, and on-demand services

On 20 May 2016, the Commission issued Notice of Consultation 2016-195 (hereinafter, the Notice or the proceeding), wherein it called for comments on, among other things, standard conditions of licence, expectations and encouragements for television stations, discretionary services (i.e., pay television and specialty services), and on-demand services (i.e., pay-per-view and video-on-demand services). As part of the Notice, the Commission stated that it will be proposing, in the new Discretionary Services Regulations, to permit all discretionary services – including those currently licensed as pay television services – to broadcast advertising.

In its intervention submitted as part the above-mentioned proceeding, DHX Television Ltd. (DHX) supported eliminating the restriction on advertising on pay television services, and submitted that this restriction should be removed as soon as possible – that is, before the date that the proposed Discretionary Service Regulations would come into force.

Similarly, the Commission is in receipt of a letter from DHX dated 8 June 2016 in which the licensee requested that the Commission immediately announce that the existing restriction on advertising set out in the Pay Television Regulations, 1990 will not be enforced, effective immediately, and before the proposed Discretionary Service Regulations are in effect. A copy of DHX’s correspondence has been added to the record of the proceeding.

While the Commission has signalled its intent to permit all discretionary services to broadcast advertising once the new regulations are in force, DHX has made specific requests and raised considerations regarding the advertising restriction for pay television services. Therefore, parties to the proceeding and other interested persons will be granted an additional period of time to provide comments on the following issues only:

Accordingly, with this letter, parties to the proceeding and other interested persons are permitted a period of five (5) days to provide any additional comments on these matters. It should be noted that only comments pertaining to DHX’s request not to enforce the advertising restriction for pay television services will be considered during this additional comment period.

The deadline for submission of interventions is 20 July 2016.

Yours sincerely,

Scott Hutton
Executive Director, Broadcasting

Distribution List:  
Parties to Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2016-195;
Bell Media Inc.;
DHX Television Ltd.;
Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership; and
Télévision Sex-Shop inc.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

See conditions of licence 3, 13, and 19 of Appendix 2 to Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-195, Proposed standard conditions of licence, expectations and encouragements for discretionary services.

Return to footnote 1

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à diverses parties

Ottawa, le 15 juillet 2016

PAR COURRIEL :

Messieurs, Mesdames,

Objet : Modification de la procédure – Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2016-195 intitulé Appel aux observations sur les exigences normalisées pour les stations de télévision, les services facultatifs et les services sur demande 

Le 20 mai 2016, le Conseil a publié l’avis de consultation 2016-195 (ci-après, l’avis ou l’instance), dans lequel il a sollicité des observations, entre autres, sur les conditions de licence, les attentes et les encouragements normalisés pour les stations de télévision, les services facultatifs (c.-à-d. les services payants et spécialisés) et les services sur demande (c.-à-d. les services à la carte et les services de vidéo sur demande). Dans l’avis, le Conseil a déclaré qu’il proposera dans le Règlement sur les services facultatifs de permettre à tous les services facultatifs, y compris ceux actuellement autorisés à titre de services de télévision payante, de diffuser des messages publicitaires.

Dans son intervention présentée dans le cadre de l’instance, DHX Television Ltd. (DHX) a appuyé l’élimination des restrictions liées à la diffusion de messages publicitaires imposées aux services de télévision payante, et a demandé à ce que cette restriction soit supprimée le plus tôt possible, c.-à-d. avant la date d’entrée en vigueur du Règlement sur les services facultatifs proposé.

De même, le Conseil a reçu une lettre de DHX datée du 8 juin 2016 dans laquelle le titulaire de licence demande au Conseil d’annoncer immédiatement que la restriction existante liée à la diffusion des messages publicitaires énoncée dans le Règlement de 1990 sur la télévision payante ne sera pas appliquée, à brève échéance, et avant que le Règlement sur les services facultatifs proposé n’entre en vigueur. Une copie de la lettre de DHX a été versée au dossier de l’instance.

Bien que le Conseil ait signalé son intention de permettre à tous les services facultatifs de diffuser des messages publicitaires une fois le nouveau règlement en vigueur, DHX a formulé des demandes précises et soulevé des points à examiner concernant les restrictions liées à la diffusion de messages publicitaires pour les services de télévision payante. Par conséquent, les parties ayant participé à l’instance ainsi que toute autre personne intéressée se verront accorder une période additionnelle afin qu’elles puissent soumettre des commentaires portant uniquement sur la question de savoir si:

Ainsi, par la présente lettre, les parties ayant participé à l’instance et toute autre personne intéressée se verront accorder une période de cinq (5) jours pour soumettre des commentaires additionnels portant sur ces enjeux. Durant cette nouvelle période d’intervention, le Conseil ne tiendra compte que des observations portant sur la demande de DHX, soit de ne pas appliquer les restrictions liées à la diffusion de messages publicitaires imposées aux services de télévision payante.

L’échéance pour le dépôt des interventions est le 20 juillet 2016.

Veuillez agréer, Messieurs, Mesdames, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Scott Hutton
Directeur exécutif, Radiodiffusion

Liste de distribution : 
Parties à l’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2016-195
Allarco Entertainment Limited Partnership
Bell Média inc. 
DHX Television Ltd.
Télévision Sex-Shop inc.

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Voir les conditions de licence 3, 13 et 19 de l’Annexe 2 de l’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-195 intitulé Conditions de licence, attentes et encouragements proposés pour les services facultatifs

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Date de modification :