Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Jagtaran Singh (Akash Broadcasting Inc.)

Ottawa, 22 April 2016

By e-mail

Mr. Jagtaran Singh
Akash Broadcasting Inc.
jsingh@mccarthy.ca

Re: Application 2015-1165-0 – Application for a new FM (Ethnic) in Surrey, British Columbia

Dear Mr. Singh,

This is in response to your email dated 5 April 2016 whereby you request that your supporting interventions that were filed late on 31 March 2016 be accepted as a result of a misunderstanding.  You state that this request should be considered pursuant to Rule 7, of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (SOR/2010-277), which provides:

Dispensing with or varying Rules
7.  If the Commission is of the opinion that considerations of public interest or fairness permit, it may dispense with or vary these Rules

As set out in Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-64 (“Hearing Notice”), the intervention filing deadline was 21 March 2016.  You explain that the interventions were not filed by the 21 March 2016 deadline because Akash Broadcasting filed an updated and revised application involving revised technical parameters (separate filings were made on March 21 and March 23) and was waiting for a new deadline date for the interventions.  In addition, you seem to have linked the withholding of the submission of the interventions to the filing of your revised technical parameters as directed by Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED).

Although Broadcasting Notice of Consultation 2016-64-2 did extend the intervention period for comments related to the specific changes announced in that Notice, Broadcasting Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-64 was specific about the 21 March 2016 intervention deadline for comments to be considered.  Other applicants were able to provide their interventions by the 21 March 2016 deadline date. 

In light of the foregoing, and in fairness to the numerous interested parties who complied with the deadline and submitted interventions by 21 March 2016, the Commission denies your request to have your interventions filed on 31 March 2016 added to the record of this proceeding.

A copy of this letter will be added to your application and will be made available for public examination.

Should you require further information concerning this application, please do not hesitate to contact Joe Aguiar by telephone at 819-997-4714, by fax at 819-994-0218 or by e-mail at joe.aguiar@crtc.gc.ca

Yours truly,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato

Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Jagtaran Singh (Akash Broadcasting Inc.)

Ottawa, le 22 avril 2016

Par courriel

Monsieur Jagtaran Singh
Akash Broadcasting Inc.
jsingh@mccarthy.ca

Objet :  Demande 2015-1165-0 – Demande de licence pour exploiter une nouvelle station FM à caractère ethnique à Surrey, en Colombie-Britannique

Monsieur,

La présente est en réponse à votre courriel du 5 avril 2016, dans lequel vous demandez qu’on accepte vos interventions en appui, déposées en retard le 31 mars 2016 en raison d’un malentendu. Vous faites valoir que la demande devrait être traitée en vertu du paragraphe 7 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, DORS/2010-277, qui indique que :

Suspension ou modification
7.  S’il est d’avis que l’intérêt public ou l’équité le permet, le Conseil peut suspendre l’application des présentes règles ou les modifier.

L’Avis de consultation de radiodiffusion CRTC 2016-64 (l’avis) fixait le délai de dépôt d’interventions au 21 mars 2016. Vous faites valoir que vos interventions n’ont pas été déposées avant ce délai parce qu’Akash Broadcasting a déposé une demande modifiée et révisée qui présentait des paramètres techniques révisés (dépôts distincts les 21 et 23 mars) et que vous attendiez la publication d’un nouveau délai de dépôt d’interventions. De plus, vous semblez avoir associé le défaut de déposer vos interventions au dépôt de vos paramètres techniques révisés, à la demande d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE).

L’avis de consultation de radiodiffusion 2016-64-2 a prolongé la période d’interventions pour les observations relatives aux modifications annoncées dans l’avis susmentionné, mais l’Avis de consultation CRTC 2016-64-2 indiquait clairement le délai de dépôt d’interventions du 21 mars 2016 pour que les observations soient recevables. Les autres demandeurs ont réussi à fournir leurs interventions en respectant ce délai.

Par conséquent, et par souci d’équité pour les nombreuses autres parties intéressées qui ont respecté le délai et déposé leurs interventions au plus tard le 21 mars 2016, le Conseil rejette votre demande à l’effet de verser au dossier de l’instance vos interventions déposées le 31 mars 2016.

Une copie de la présente lettre sera jointe à votre demande et versée au dossier public.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur la présente demande, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Joe Aguiar, par téléphone, au 819-997-4714, par télécopieur, au 819‑994‑0218, ou par courriel, à joe.aguiar@crtc.gc.ca.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La Secrétaire générale,

Original signé par

Danielle May-Cuconato

Date de modification :