Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Mr. George Burger (2251723 Ontario Inc. - o/a VMedia)

Ottawa, 8 April 2016

BY EMAIL

Mr. George Burger
Director
2251723 Ontario Inc. (o/a VMedia)
1210 - 5255 Yonge Street
Toronto, Ontario  M2N 6P4
george.burger@vmedia.ca

Subject: Shortfalls relating to Canadian programming contributions

Dear Mr. Burger:

As you are aware, the Commission recently conducted an audit of 2251723 Ontario Inc.’s (VMedia) annual returns for the broadcast years 2012-2013 to 2013-2014. During that audit, Commission staff identified an area of apparent non-compliance with the contribution requirements under section 34 of the Broadcasting Distribution Regulations (the Regulations) due to issues with the absence of payments made towards meeting the Canadian programming requirements. You were notified of this apparent non-compliance by letter dated 29 October 2015 and responded by letters dated 6 November 2015 and 23 November 2015.

This letter is to inform you that following a Commission determination, the Commission finds VMedia in non-compliance with the contribution requirements under section 34 of the Regulations. 

The non-compliance stems from the fact that VMedia did not make the required payments towards meeting the Canadian programming requirements under the Regulationsfor the 2012-2013 and 2013-2014 broadcast years. The related shortfall is $52,639 for Canadian programming.

The Commission directs VMedia to pay the shortfall as follows:

Proof of payment must be filed with the Commission within 120 days of the date of this letter. 

The Commission further reminds VMedia that it was required to make the necessary payments for the 2014-2015 broadcast year ended 31 August 2015, and include the necessary supporting documentation with the 2014-2015 annual return which was due to be filed 30 November 2015. This determination does not address VMedia’s compliance for the 2014-2015 broadcast year.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion lettre du Conseil adressée à Monsieur George Burger (2251723 Ontario Inc. - s/n VMedia)

Ottawa, le 8 avril 2016

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur George Burger
Directeur
2251723 Ontario Inc. (s/n VMedia)
1210 - 5255, rue Yonge
Toronto (Ontario)  M2N 6P4
george.burger@vmedia.ca

Objet : Défauts de paiement au titre des contributions à la programmation canadienne

Monsieur Burger,

Comme vous le savez, le Conseil a récemment procédé à la vérification des rapports annuels de 2251723 Ontario Inc. (VMedia) pour les années de radiodiffusion 2012-2013 à 2013-2014. Au cours de cette vérification, le personnel du Conseil a identifié un cas de non-conformité apparente aux exigences en matière de contributions prévues à l’article 34 du Règlement sur la distribution de radiodiffusion (le Règlement). La non-conformité découle du non-paiement des contributions à la programmation canadienne. Vous avez été avisé de cette non-conformité apparente par une lettre datée du 29 octobre 2015 et avez répondu dans des lettres datées du 6 novembre 2015 et 23 novembre 2015.

La présente vise à vous informer qu’à la suite d’une décision du Conseil, il a été déterminé que VMedia est en situation de non-conformité avec les exigences en matière de contributions prévues à l’article 34 du Règlement.

VMedia est en situation de non-conformité parce qu’elle n’a pas effectué les paiements requis au titre des exigences en matière de programmation canadienne prévues aux termes du Règlement pour les années de radiodiffusion 2012-2013 et 2013-2014. Le montant manquant est de 52 639 $ pour la programmation canadienne.

Le Conseil ordonne à VMedia de verser cette somme comme suit :

Une preuve de paiement du montant doit être déposée auprès du Conseil dans les 120 jours suivant la date de la présente lettre. 

Le Conseil rappelle également à VMedia qu’elle devait effectuer les paiements de contribution nécessaires pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2014-2015 ayant pris fin le 31 août 2015 et inclure tous les documents justificatifs nécessaires avec le rapport annuel 2014-2015, lequel devait être déposé au plus tard le 30 novembre 2015. La présente détermination ne s’applique pas à l’évaluation de la conformité pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2014-2015.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

Original signé

Danielle May-Cuconato]

Date de modification :