Broadcasting Commission Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 11 March 2016

By E-mail

sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com
karen.clout@sjrb.ca
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com
kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Re: Clarifications in regard to questions included in the letters requesting licence renewal applications from large English-language ownership groups

Dear Ms. Courtemanche, Ms. Clout, Ms. Wheeler and Mr. Goldstein:

On 4 March 2016, Bell Media Inc., Corus Entertainment Inc., Rogers Media Inc. and Shaw Media Inc. (collectively, the Groups) requested clarifications in regard to questions in the letters sent on 8 February 2016 requesting licence renewal applications. The information sought related to:

Partial historical financial information for the 2015-2016 broadcast year

The 8 February 2016 letter requests that the Groups provide historical financial data for the first six months of the 2015-2016 broadcast year (from September 2015 to February 2016) as well as financial projections for the next six broadcast years, starting with the complete 2015-2016 broadcast year. The Groups stated that it was impracticable to break down financial information for the first six months of the 2015-2016 broadcast year and that such information would not provide a clear picture of the year. The Groups proposed instead to provide financial projections for the full 2015-2016 broadcast year.

The purpose of these questions is to obtain a complete overview of the current and future licence terms. In our opinion, the Groups’ proposal would generally provide such an overview. Further information may be requested in future requests for information. For example, the Groups will be required to update these projections with actual historical information following the end of the broadcast year.

The Groups are reminded that, pursuant to Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961:

The definitions of original programming and newly commissioned programming

The 8 February 2016 letter requests that the Groups provide historical financial information related to Canadian programming expenditures (CPE) and expenditures related to programs of national interest (PNI) for original first-run and newly commissioned programming. The Groups requested clarifications on the definitions of those types of programming.

As set out in Schedule 1 of the Specialty Services Regulations, 1990, and as referred to in the 8 February 2016 letter, an original, first-run program refers to the original exhibition of a program that has not been distributed by another broadcasting undertaking licensed by the Commission. By contrast, according to the same regulations, an original program refers to the original exhibition of a program that has been distributed by another broadcasting undertaking licensed by the Commission.

As set out in the overview form for the annual PNI report, expenditures for newly commissioned programs refer to expenditures for a program original to the service, excluding tangible benefits expenditures, for a given year. It is up to the Groups to inform the public record as to the manner in which they have been reporting their respective PNI expenses and to explain for the record how each has treated the definitions provided. 

In their response to this question, the Groups may submit any available data along with any information they feel relevant to inform the public record of the proceeding. The 8 February 2016 letter also invites the Groups to provide their own definition of newly commissioned programs in order to further clarify this concept going forward.

The request to breakdown programming expenditures by program category

The 8 February 2016 letter requests that the Groups provide historical financial information relating to CPE by program category. The purpose of this question is to allow the Commission to evaluate performance over the past licence term and identify trends in spending, which falls within the scope of the licence renewal process. The Groups stated that they do not currently collect information in this way and that providing the requested information would require considerable additional work on their part.

The Groups should respond to the questions to the best of their ability and provide the information they have on hand when they file their licence renewal applications. If they are unable to provide the requested information in its entirety at that time, they should explain the reasons why they are unable to provide the requested information in the timeframe allotted and indicate when the information will be provided.

Should you require additional information, please do not hesitate to contact Joelle Paré by email at joelle.pare@crtc.gc.ca or by phone at 613-325-1279, or Julie St-Pierre at julie.st-pierre@crtc.gc.ca or 819-956-2974.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Michael Craig
Acting Senior Manager
English- and Third-language Television

c.c.:     Peggy Tabet, peggy.tabet@quebecor.com
Luc Doyon, ldoyon@groupevmedia.ca
David Spodek, david.spodek@bellmedia.ca

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à la Liste de Distribution

Ottawa, le 11 mars 2016

Par courriel

sylvie.courtemanche@corusent.com
karen.clout@sjrb.ca
susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com
kevin.goldstein@bellmedia.ca

Objet : Éclaircissements au sujet de questions incluses dans les lettres sollicitant les grands groupes de propriété de langue anglaise à déposer leur demande de renouvellement de licence

Mesdames, Monsieur,

Le 4 mars 2016, Bell Media Inc., Corus Entertainment Inc., Rogers Media Inc. et Shaw Media Inc. (collectivement, les Groupes) ont demandé des éclaircissements au sujet de questions incluses dans la lettre qui leur a été envoyée le 8 février 2016 et qui les sollicitait à déposer leur demande de renouvellement de licence. Les éclaircissements demandés ont trait à ce qui suit :

Données historiques financières partielles pour l’année de radiodiffusion 2015-2016

La lettre du 8 février 2016 demande aux Groupes de fournir des données financières historiques pour les six premiers mois de l’année de radiodiffusion 2015‑2016 (de septembre 2015 à février 2016), ainsi que des prévisions financières pour les six prochaines années de radiodiffusion, à partir de l’année de radiodiffusion 2015-2016 complète. Les Groupes ont affirmé qu’il leur était impossible d’effectuer la ventilation des données financières pour les six premiers mois de l’année de radiodiffusion 2015-2016, ajoutant que ce type d’information ne donnerait pas un portrait précis de l’année. Les Groupes ont proposé de fournir plutôt des prévisions financières pour l’ensemble de l’année de radiodiffusion 2015-2016.

Les questions visent à obtenir un aperçu exhaustif de la période de validité des licences actuelles et futures. Selon nous, la proposition du Groupe devrait permettre d’obtenir un tel aperçu. D’autres demandes de renseignements pourraient suivre. Par exemple, à la fin de l’année de radiodiffusion, les Groupes devront mettre à jour les prévisions fournies avec les données historiques réelles.

On rappelle aux Groupes que, conformément au Bulletin de radiodiffusion et de télécom 2010-961 :

La définition d’« émission originale de première diffusion » et d’« émission nouvellement commandée »

La lettre du 8 février 2016 demande aux Groupes de fournir des données financières historiques liées aux dépenses au titre des émissions canadiennes (DEC) et des dépenses au titre des émissions d’intérêt national (EIN) concernant les émissions originales de première diffusion et les émissions nouvellement commandées. Les groupes ont demandé des éclaircissements quant aux définitions de ces deux types d’émissions.

Comme énoncé dans l’annexe 1 du Règlement de 1990 sur les services spécialisés et comme mentionné dans la lettre du 8 février 2016, une émission originale de première diffusion consiste en la première diffusion d’une émission non déjà distribuée par une autre entreprise de radiodiffusion à qui le Conseil a attribué une licence. Par contre, d’après le même Règlement, une émission originale consiste en la première diffusion d’une émission déjà distribuée par une autre entreprise de radiodiffusion à qui le Conseil a attribué une licence.

Comme indiqué dans le formulaire d’aperçu concernant le rapport annuel sur les EIN, les dépenses au titre d’émissions nouvellement commandées désignent les dépenses engagées pour la programmation originale au service, à l’exclusion des dépenses au titre d’avantages tangibles, pour une année donnée. Il revient aux groupes de fournir, pour le dossier public, l’information sur la manière dont ils ont déclaré leurs dépenses au titre des EIN et l’explication de la manière dont chacun a traité les définitions fournies. 

Dans leur réponse à cette question, les Groupes peuvent fournir toute donnée disponible ainsi que toute information qui leur semble pertinente pour la constitution du dossier public de l’instance. La lettre du 8 février 2016 invite aussi les Groupes à présenter leur propre définition de ce qu’est une émission nouvellement commandée afin d’éclaircir davantage ce concept ultérieurement.

La demande visant une ventilation des dépenses de programmation par catégorie d’émissions

La lettre du 8 février 2016 demande de fournir des données financières historiques sur les DEC par catégorie d’émissions. Cette demande vise à permettre au Conseil d’évaluer la performance au cours de la période antérieure de validité de la licence et de cerner les tendances en matière de dépenses, ce qui entre dans la portée du processus de renouvellement de licence. Les Groupes ont affirmé qu’à l’heure actuelle, ils ne recueillent pas l’information de cette manière et que la présentation de l’information telle que demandée exigerait de leur part un important travail additionnel.

Les Groupes doivent répondre aux questions du mieux qu’ils peuvent et doivent fournir l’information qu’ils ont lors du dépôt de leur demande de renouvellement de licence. S’ils ne sont pas en mesure de fournir l’information demandée au complet au moment du dépôt, ils doivent en fournir les raisons et indiquer la date à laquelle ils seront en mesure de fournir le reste.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec Joelle Paré par courriel à joelle.pare@crtc.gc.ca ou par téléphone au 613-325-1279 ou avec Julie St-Pierre à julie.st-pierre@crtc.gc.ca ou au 819-956-2974.

Une copie de la présente et de toute correspondance s’y rattachant sera versée au dossier public de l’instance.

Veuillez agréer Mesdames, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

L’original signé par

Michael Craig
Gestionnaire principal par intérim
Télévision de langues anglaise et tierce

c.c.      Peggy Tabet, peggy.tabet@quebecor.com
Luc Doyon, ldoyon@groupevmedia.ca
David Spodek, david.spodek@bellmedia.ca

Date de modification :