Broadcasting Procedural Letter Addressed to Bill Evans (Alberta Media Production Association)

Ottawa, 11 February 2016

BY EMAIL

Mr. Bill Evans
Executive Director
Alberta Media Production Association
7316 101 Avenue, Suite 200
Edmonton, Alberta  T6A 0J2
bevans@ampia.org

RE: Procedural request regarding an application by Shaw Communications Inc., on behalf of Shaw Media Inc. and its licensed subsidiaries, for authority to effect a multi-step intra-corporate reorganization.

Dear Mr. Evans:

This letter is in response to the procedural request filed by the Alberta Media Production Association (AMPIA), dated 5 February 2016, requesting that the Commission modify the process set out for the above-noted application by providing the public with 30 days to file interventions and by holding an appearing public hearing rather than a written public consultation.

In its letter, AMPIA argues that more time is needed to examine the impact of the above application on service to the various regions of Canada and the funding of productions in the regions.

Procedural request to extend the timelines for the filing of interventions to 30 days

The CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules) set out the Commission’s general practice giving interveners 30 days to file their submissions. However, the Rules also allow the Commission to dispense with or vary these rules when it is of the view that it is in the public interest to do so.

With regards to the above-noted application, the Commission denies the request to extend the timelines for the filing of interventions to 30 days, or to 20 February 2016.  However, the Commission approves an extension of the deadline for submissions until 18 February 2016, and extends the deadline for the applicant’s reply to 22 February 2016. It is the Commission’s view that the 28-day comment period granted is appropriate as it provides sufficient time for intervening parties to file their interventions while respecting both the public interest and fairness considerations outlined in the Rules, including the applicant’s request for an expedited treatment of the application.

Procedural request to hold an appearing public hearing

In Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2008-8-2 (the Bulletin), the Commission sets out the options for reviewing share transactions. Consistent with the Bulletin, the Commission issued a notice of consultation (notice of application received) to review the above-noted application. The Commission further reminds AMPIA that the Bulletin provides for a review of share transfer applications using a notice of consultation (notice of hearing) where “the application has been dealt with via notice of consultation (notice of applications received) and generates interventions that raise substantive concerns as determined by the Commission and which warrant further discussion at a public hearing.

As such, consistent with the Bulletin, the Commission will make its determination on the need for further discussion at a public hearing based on the interventions received. The Commission therefore denies the request by AMPIA for an appearing public hearing. 

Please note that a copy of your letter and this response will be added to the public record.

Yours sincerely,

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre Procédurale adressée à Bill Evans (Alberta Media Production Association)

Ottawa, le 11 février 2016

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Bill Evans
Directeur exécutif
Alberta Media Production Association
7316, avenue 101, Suite 200
Edmonton (Alberta)  T6A 0J2
bevans@ampia.org

Objet : Requête procédurale concernant une demande faite par Shaw Communications Inc. au nom de Shaw Media Inc. et ses filiales autorisées, afin d’obtenir l’autorisation d’effectuer une réorganisation intra-société à plusieurs étapes.

Monsieur,

La présente fait suite à la requête procédurale soumise par Alberta Media Production Association (AMPIA) datée du 5 février 2016, demandant au Conseil de modifier le processus actuel concernant le traitement de la demande susmentionnée, afin de donner au public 30 jours pour déposer ses interventions et pour  tenir une audience publique comparante, au lieu d’une consultation publique par écrit.

Dans sa lettre, AMPIA soutient qu’elle nécessite plus de temps pour faire l’examen de l’impact de la demande susmentionnée sur les services dans diverses régions du Canada et sur le financement des productions dans les régions.

Requête procédurale pour la prolongation des délais à 30 jours pour soumettre les interventions

Les Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les règles) énoncent la pratique générale du Conseil de donner aux intervenants 30 jours pour soumettre leurs documents. Cependant, les règles permettent au Conseil de suspendre l’application des présentes règles ou de les modifier lorsqu’il considère que c’est dans l’intérêt public.

En ce qui concerne la demande susmentionnée, le Conseil refuse la requête visant à prolonger le délai pour le dépôt des interventions à 30 jours, ou au 20 février 2016. Cependant, le Conseil approuve une prolongation de la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions au 18 février 2016 et prolonge le délai pour le dépôt de la réplique du demandeur au 22 février 2016. Le Conseil est d’avis que le délai de 28 jours pour la période de consultation accordé est convenable, car il fournit suffisamment de temps aux intervenants pour soumettre leurs interventions en respectant les considérations d’intérêt public et d’équité énoncées dans les règles, incluant la requête du traitement accéléré du demandeur.

Requête procédurale pour tenir une audience publique comparante

Dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2008-8-2 (le bulletin), le Conseil énonce les options pour l’examen de demandes de transfert d’actions. En conformité avec le bulletin, le Conseil a publié un avis de consultation (avis de demande reçue) pour l’examen de la demande susmentionnée. Le Conseil rappelle à AMPIA que le bulletin indique que les demandes impliquant un transfert d’actions seront examinées dans le cadre d’un avis de consultation (avis de demande d’audience) lorsqu’une « demande a fait l’objet d’un avis de consultation (avis de demandes reçues) qui a suscité des interventions qui, selon le Conseil, soulèvent des préoccupations importantes et exigent des discussions plus approfondies dans le cadre d’une audience publique ».

Conformément au bulletin, le Conseil déterminera le besoin d’approfondir les discussions dans le cadre d’une audience publique comparante après avoir évalué les interventions. À la lumière de ce qui précède, le Conseil refuse la requête de AMPIA pour une audience publique comparante.

Veuillez noter qu’une copie de votre lettre et de la présente réponse seront versées au dossier public.

La secrétaire générale,

Danielle May-Cuconato

Date de modification :