Broadcasting Procedural Letter addressed to Jay Thomson (Canadian Media Production Association)

Ottawa, 11 February 2016

BY EMAIL 

Mr. Jay Thomson, LL.B, LL.M and Co-signatories
Vice President
Broadcasting Policy and Regulatory Affairs
Canadian Media Production Association
601 Bank Street, 2nd Floor
Ottawa, Ontario KIS 3T4
jay.thomson@cmpa.ca      

RE: Procedural request regarding an application by Shaw Communications Inc., on behalf of Shaw Media Inc. and its licensed subsidiaries, for authority to effect a multi-step intra-corporate reorganization.

Dear Mr. Thomson and Co-signatories:

This letter is in response to the joint procedural request filed by the Canadian Media  Production Association (the parties), dated 26 January 2016, requesting that the Commission modify the process set out for the above-noted application by providing the public 30 days to file interventions and by holding an appearing public hearing rather than a written public consultation.

The parties argued that the proposed transaction raises fundamental issues for the future of the Canadian broadcasting system, which must be addressed to determine whether approval of the application would be in the public interest. In light of this, the parties submitted that they should be given a full and fair opportunity to prepare and present their interventions, and that the transaction is important enough to warrant further discussion at an oral public hearing.
Procedural request to extend the timelines for the filing of interventions to 30 days

The CRTC Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules) set out the Commission’s general practice of giving interveners 30 days to file their submissions. However, the Rules also allow the Commission to dispense with or vary these rules when it is of the view that it is in the public interest to do so.

With regards to the above-noted application, the Commission denies the request to extend the timelines for the filing of interventions to 30 days, or to 20 February 2016.  However, the Commission approves an extension of the deadline for submissions
until 18 February 2016, and extends the deadline for the applicant’s reply to 22 February 2016.  It is the Commission’s view that the 28-day comment period granted is appropriate as it provides sufficient time for intervening parties to file their interventions while respecting both the public interest and fairness considerations outlined in the Rules, including the applicant’s request for an expedited treatment of the application.

Procedural request to hold an appearing public hearing

In Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2008-8-2 (the Bulletin), the Commission sets out the options for reviewing share transactions. Consistent with the Bulletin, the Commission issued a notice of consultation (notice of application received) to review the above-noted application. The Commission further reminds the parties that the Bulletin provides for a review of share transfer applications using a notice of consultation (notice of hearing) where “the application has been dealt with via notice of consultation (notice of applications received) and generates interventions that raise substantive concerns as determined by the Commission and which warrant further discussion at a public hearing.” 

As such, consistent with the Bulletin, the Commission will make its determination on the need for further discussion at a public hearing based on the interventions received. The Commission therefore denies the request of the parties for an appearing public hearing. 

Please note that a copy of your letter and this response will be added to the public record.

Yours sincerely,

Danielle May-Cuconato
Secretary General

c.c.:  Stephen Waddell, National Executive Director
Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA)

Reynolds Mastin, President & CEO
Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA)

Alain Caron, President
Conseil provincial du secteur des communications (SCFP)

David Forget, Director of Policy
Directors Guild of Canada (DGC)

John Lawford, Executive Director and General Counsel
Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC)

Monica Auer, Executive Director
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (FRPC)

Howard Law, Director
Unifor Media Sector

Maureen Parker, Executive Director
Writers Guild of Canada (WGC)

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre procédurale adressée à Jay Thomson (Canadian Media Production Association)

Ottawa, le 11 février 2016

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Jay Thomson, LL.B, LL.M et Co-signataires
Vice-président
Politique de radiodiffusion et Affaires réglementaires
Canadian Media Production Association
601, rue Bank, 2ième étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1S 3T4     
jay.thomson@cmpa.ca

Objet : Requête procédurale concernant une demande faite par Shaw Communications Inc. au nom de Shaw Media Inc. et ses filiales autorisées, afin d’obtenir l’autorisation d’effectuer une réorganisation intra-société à plusieurs étapes.

Monsieur Thomson et Co-signataires,

La présente fait suite à la requête procédurale conjointe soumise par la Canadian Media Production Association (les parties) datée du 26 janvier 2016, demandant au Conseil de modifier le processus actuel concernant le traitement de la demande susmentionnée, afin de donner au public 30 jours pour déposer ses interventions et pour  tenir une audience publique comparante, au lieu d’une consultation publique par écrit.

Les parties soutiennent que la transaction proposée soulève des questions fondamentales pour le futur du système de radiodiffusion canadien qui doivent être abordées afin de déterminer si l’approbation de la demande serait dans l’intérêt public. À la lumière de ce qui précède, les parties indiquent qu’ils devraient se voir offrir une pleine et entière possibilité de préparer et rédiger leurs interventions, et que cette transaction est suffisamment importante pour justifier d’approfondir les discussions dans le cadre d’une audience publique comparante.

Requête procédurale pour la prolongation des délais à 30 jours pour soumettre les interventions

Les Règles de pratique et de procédure du CRTC (les règles) énoncent la pratique générale du Conseil de donner aux intervenants 30 jours pour soumettre leurs documents. Cependant, les règles permettent au Conseil de suspendre l’application des présentes règles ou de les modifier lorsqu’il considère que c’est dans l’intérêt public. 

En ce qui concerne la demande susmentionnée, le Conseil refuse la requête visant à prolonger le délai pour le dépôt des interventions à 30 jours, ou au 20 février 2016. Cependant, le Conseil approuve une prolongation de la date limite pour le dépôt des interventions au 18 février 2016 et prolonge le délai pour le dépôt de la réplique du demandeur au 22 février 2016. Le Conseil est d’avis que le délai de 28 jours pour la période de consultation accordé est convenable, car il fournit suffisamment de temps aux intervenants pour soumettre leurs interventions en respectant les considérations d’intérêt public et d’équité énoncées dans les règles, incluant la requête du traitement accéléré du demandeur.

Requête procédurale pour tenir une audience publique comparante

Dans le bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2008-8-2 (le bulletin), le Conseil énonce les options pour l’examen de demandes de transfert d’actions. En conformité avec le bulletin, le Conseil a publié un avis de consultation (avis de demande reçue) pour l’examen de la demande susmentionnée. Le Conseil rappelle aux parties que le bulletin indique que les demandes impliquant un transfert d’actions seront examinées dans le cadre d’un avis de consultation (avis de demande d’audience) lorsqu’une « demande a fait l’objet d’un avis de consultation (avis de demandes reçues) qui a suscité des interventions qui, selon le Conseil, soulèvent des préoccupations importantes et exigent des discussions plus approfondies dans le cadre d’une audience publique ».

Conformément au bulletin, le Conseil déterminera le besoin d’approfondir les discussions dans le cadre d’une audience publique comparante après avoir évalué les interventions. À la lumière de ce qui précède, le Conseil refuse la requête des parties pour une audience publique comparante.

Veuillez noter qu’une copie de votre lettre et de la présente réponse seront versées au dossier public.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

La secrétaire générale,

Danielle May-Cuconato

c.c. : Stephen Waddell, Directeur exécutif national
Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA)

Reynolds Mastin, Président & premier dirigeant
Canadian Media Production Association (CMPA)

Alain Caron, Président
Conseil provincial du secteur des communications (CPSC)

David Forget, Directeur des politiques
La guilde canadienne des réalisateurs (GCR)

John Lawford, Direction exécutive et avocat général
Le Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public

Monica Auer, Directrice exécutive
Forum for Research and Policy in Communications (FRPC)

Howard Law, Directeur des médias
Le Conseil industriel des médias d’Unifor

 Maureen Parker, Directrice exécutive
Writers Guild of Canada (WGC)

Date de modification :