Commission Letter addressed to Susan Wheeler (Rogers Media Inc.)

Ottawa, 25 January 2016

By e-mail: susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Ms. Susan Wheeler
Vice President, Regulatory, Media
Rogers Media Inc.

Dear Ms. Wheeler,

This is in reference to a letter sent by Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers Media) on 18 January 2016 requesting an extension to the filing deadline of its application to renew the licences of its various services that are set to expire on 31 August 2017 including those of its designated Group as well as other services including the OMNI television stations.

In its letter, Rogers Media stated that it was concerned that a filing deadline of 7 March 2016 for the services currently within its Group and its Category C services would not allow for enough time to evaluate the impacts and implement the Commission’s various policy determinations stemming from the Let’s Talk TV decisions.

Consequently, Rogers Media argued that the earliest possible timeframe to assess how the market will react to the above-noted changes would be May or June 2016.  However, at a minimum, it requested that it be given the same deadline to file its applications as its competitors Bell Media and Shaw/Corus in order to ensure that all licensees benefit from the same market information and experience when preparing their licence renewal applications.  Notwithstanding this request for an extension to the filing deadline, Rogers Media did confirm that it is prepared to file its licence renewal application for the OMNI television stations by 7 March 2016.

In light of the arguments made by Rogers Media, the initial deadline of 7 March 2016 regarding the filing of Rogers Media’s licence renewal application for its OMNI services will be maintained.  An extension to 1 April 2016 will be granted for Rogers Media to file its application for the remaining services noted in section A.2 of the application.

Rogers Media is reminded that article 24 of the CRTC’s Rules of Practice and Procedure stipulates that “an applicant must not amend an application or file any supplementary documents related to the application with the Commission after the application has been posted on the Commission’s website”.  Accordingly, since the Commission has yet to publish these applications, Rogers Media may, at any time until the publication of its applications, amend the information it has submitted or file supplementary information related to its licence renewal applications.
Should you require further information regarding the renewal process and deadlines, do not hesitate to contact the undersigned at 819-997-9392 or at tina-louise.latourelle@crtc.gc.ca.

Best regards,

Tina Louise Latourelle
Senior Policy Analyst
TV Policy and Applications

Date modified:

Radiodiffusion Lettre du Conseil adressée à Susan Wheeler (Rogers Media Inc.)

Ottawa, le 25 janvier 2016

Par courriel : susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Madame Susan Wheeler
Vice-présidente, Affaires réglementaires, Média
Rogers Media Inc.

Madame Wheeler,

La présente renvoie à une lettre de Rogers Media Inc. (Rogers Media) du 18 janvier 2016 dans laquelle le titulaire sollicite un délai supplémentaire pour déposer sa demande en vue de renouveler les licences de ses divers services qui expirent le 31 août 2017, soit ceux de son groupe désigné, ainsi que ses autres services, dont les stations de télévision OMNI.

Dans sa lettre, Rogers Media se dit inquiet que la date de dépôt du 7 mars 2016 ne lui accorde pas assez de temps pour évaluer les impacts de la mise en œuvre de plusieurs des décisions de politique du Conseil découlant de Parlons télé, surtout en ce qui concerne les services de son groupe et ses services de catégorie C.

Rogers Média soutient qu’il sera en mesure d’évaluer la réaction du marché aux changements susmentionnés au plus tôt en mai ou en juin 2016. Cependant, il a demandé qu’on lui accorde pour le dépôt de sa demande au moins la même date butoir que celle accordée à ses concurrents, Bell Media et Shaw/Corus. Cela permettrait d’assurer que les titulaires profitent des mêmes informations et expériences commerciales lorsqu’ils préparent leurs demandes. Nonobstant la demande de prorogation, Rogers Media a confirmé qu’il est prêt à déposer la demande de renouvellement de licence pour les stations de télévision OMNI au plus tard le 7 mars 2016.

Compte tenu des arguments de Rogers Media, la date limite originale du 7 mars 2016 relative au dépôt de la demande de renouvellement de licence pour les services OMNI est maintenue. Une prorogation au 1er avril 2016 est accordée à Rogers Media afin de déposer la demande pour les autres services énumérés dans la section A.2 de la demande.

On rappelle également à Rogers Media que l’article 24 des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes prévoit qu’une fois la demande affichée sur le site web du Conseil, le demandeur ne peut la modifier ou déposer auprès du Conseil aucun document supplémentaire s’y rattachant. Par conséquent, comme le Conseil n’a pas encore publié de demandes, Rogers Media peut modifier les renseignements qu’il a soumis ou déposer de l’information supplémentaire liée à sa demande de renouvellement de licence à tout moment avant sa publication.
Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le processus de renouvellement et les échéances, n’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi par téléphone au 819-997-9392 ou par courriel à tina-louise.latourelle@crtc.gc.ca.

Salutations cordiales,

Tina Louise Latourelle
Analyste principale de politique
Politiques et demandes relatives à la télévision

Date de modification :