ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 17 November 2015

File number: 8661-Q15-201506966

To: Distribution List

BY EMAIL

Re: Questions following Quebecor’s Part 1 Application ordering Bell Canada and its subsidiaries to comply with Prohibition of 30 day cancellation policies

Dear Sir or Madam:

On 3 July 2015, Québecor Média filed a Part 1 applicationFootnote 1 requesting that the Commission direct Bell Canada to stop billing customers as of the date that a client requests the termination of local voice, internet, or wireless services as, it submits, is required in Prohibition of 30-day cancellation policiesFootnote 2 (the Policy) and the Wireless CodeFootnote 3 (the Code).

In light of the information raised on the record, staff requests that parties address:

All parties may file a response to this request no later than 30 November 2015.

This letter and all subsequent correspondence form part of a public record. As set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, parties may designate certain information as confidential. Parties must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest.

All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277.Footnote 4

Should you have any questions concerning any of the above, please contact Guillaume Leclerc by telephone at 819-934-4342 or by e-mail at guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca

Yours sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY/

Nanao Kachi
Director, Social and Consumer Policy
Consumer Affairs and Strategic Policy

cc: Guillaume Leclerc, guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List:

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Application ordering Bell Canada and its subsidiaries cease to charge a fee for monthly service from the date receiving a notice of termination, 8661-Q15-201506966, the record of which is available on the Commission’s website: https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/TransferToWeb/2015/8661-Q15-201506966.zip

Return to footnote 1

Footnote 2

Prohibition of 30-day cancellation policies, Broadcasting and Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2014-576, http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2014/2014-576.htm

Return to footnote 2

Footnote 3

The Wireless Code, Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2013-271, http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/archive/2013/2013-271.htm

Return to footnote 3

Footnote 4

http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/SOR-2010-277/index.html

Return to footnote 4

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ – Télécom Lettre procédurale adressée à la Liste de Distribution

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Ottawa, le 17 novembre 2015

No de dossier : 8661-Q15-201506966

Destinataire : Liste de distribution

PAR COURRIEL

Objet : Questions au sujet de la demande en vertu de la Partie 1 de Québecor ordonnant à Bell Canada et ses filiales de se conformer avec l’Interdiction des politiques d’annulation de 30 jours.

Madame,
Monsieur,

Le 3 juillet 2015, Québecor Média (Québecor) a déposé une demande en vertu de la Partie 1Note de bas de page1 demandant que le Conseil ordonne à Bell Canada de cesser de facturer des frais mensuels à compter du jour où l’avis de résiliation pour des services téléphoniques locaux, les services Internet et les services sans fil est reçu ce qui, selon Québecor, serait conforme à l’Interdiction des politiques d’annulation de 30 joursNote de bas de page2 (la politique) et au Code sur les services sans filNote de bas de page3 .

À la lumière de l’information déposée dans le dossier public de l’instance, le personnel demande aux parties de commenter :

Par conséquent, les parties peuvent déposer une réplique à cette demande au plus tard le 30 novembre 2015.

La présente lettre et la correspondance subséquente font partie du dossier public. Conformément au Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécommunication 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les parties peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Le cas échéant, elles doivent fournir une version abrégée du document en cause accompagnée d’une explication détaillée des raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt du public.

Tous les mémoires doivent être soumis conformément aux règles stipulées dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications, DORS/2010-277Note de bas de page4 .

Pour toute question relative aux renseignements qui précèdent, veuillez communiquer avec Guillaume Leclerc, par téléphone, au 819-934-4342 ou, par courriel, à l’adresse guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca

Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur, Politique sociale et des consommateurs,
Consommation et Politique stratégique

ORIGINAL SIGNÉ PAR/

Nanao Kachi

c. c.   Guillaume Leclerc, guillaume.leclerc@crtc.gc.ca

Liste de distribution :

Note de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Demande ordonnant à Bell Canada et ses filiales de cesser de facturer des frais de service mensuel à compter du jour de réception d'un avis de résiliation, 8661-Q15-201506966,  le dossier public est disponible sur le site du Conseil: https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/TransferToWeb/2015/8661-Q15-201506966.zip

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page1

Note de bas de page 2

Interdiction des politiques d’annulation de 30 jours, Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2014-576, http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/2014/2014-576.htm

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page2

Note de bas de page 3

Le Code sur les services sans fil, Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2013-271, http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/archive/2013/2013-271.htm

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page3

Note de bas de page 4

 http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/reglements/DORS-2010-277/index.html

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page4

Date de modification :