ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to Barry Chapman (Bell Mobility Inc.)

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 14 August 2014                                                          

Our references: 8665-C12-201212448

BY EMAIL

Mr. Barry Chapman
Vice President
Regulatory Affairs
Bell Mobility Inc.
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

RE:  Wireless Code Implementation – Compliance Reports – Action Required

Dear Mr. Chapman:

This letter is to inform you that it appears to the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission (the Commission) that your company, Bell Mobility Inc. (Bell), has made most, but not all, of the necessary changes to its contracts, policies, and procedures to implement the Wireless Code (the Code). The Commission appreciates your company’s efforts to implement the Code on time. However, the Commission considers that there are one or more remaining issues that your company must resolve in order to fully and appropriately implement the Code. Bell is required to respond to the Commission’s concerns, set out in more detail below, by 22 August 2014. In your letter you should explain whether you have taken the actions directed by the Commission in this letter in order to come into full compliance with the Code.

The Commission intends to publish a report for consumers in August 2014 that summarizes the results of the Wireless Code implementation process, including the information submitted by your company in your Wireless Code compliance reports and in response to follow-up correspondence, including this letter. If your company demonstrates in its response to this letter that it has made the necessary changes to fully implement the Code, the Commission’s upcoming report will reflect this.

The requirement to implement the Wireless Code

In The Wireless Code Policy.Footnote 1, the Commission established the Wireless Code, a new mandatory code of conduct for providers of retail mobile wireless voice and data services (wireless services). The Wireless Code applies to all wireless services provided to individual and small business consumers in all provinces and territories regardless of the status and business models of the wireless service provider (WSP).

As required by paragraph 377 of the Wireless Code Policy, WSPs filed reports with the Commission in January 2014 detailing how they have implemented the Wireless Code.Footnote 2.

Commission staff reviewed these reports and, on 22 May 2014 and 6 June 2014, issued letters to follow up with certain companies to seek clarification on specific issues in these reports. Your company filed a response on 29 May 2014.

Specific issues to be resolved

Based on the above-mentioned reports and correspondence, it appears that your company needs to address the following issues to fully and appropriately implement the Code:

In section G. of the Wireless Code, Contract cancellation and extension, the Commission required wireless carriers, including Bell, to provide a trial period to customers when they sign up for a new contract. Specifically:

“(i)   When a customer agrees to a contract through which they are subject to an early cancellation fee, a service provider must offer the customer a trial period lasting a minimum of 15 calendar days to enable the customer to determine whether the service meets their needs.

(ii)   The trial period must start on the date on which service begins.

(iii)  A service provider may establish reasonable limits on the use of voice, text, and data services for the trial period.

(iv)  During the trial period, customers may cancel their contract without penalty or early cancellation fee if they have:

  1. used less than the permitted usage; and
  2. returned any device provided by the service provider, in near-new condition, including original packaging.

(v)   If a customer self-identifies as a person with a disability, the service provider must extend the trial period to at least 30 calendar days, and the permitted usage amounts must be at least double the service provider’s general usage amounts for the trial period.” [Emphasis added]

The contract sample you provided with your Wireless Code implementation report indicated that customers may have to pay a restocking fee if they avail themselves of the trial period.

In a letter dated 22 May 2014, Commission staff sought clarification on this point and asked Bell to explain how it considered that its approach was consistent with the requirement set out in the Wireless Code.

In a letter dated 29 May 2014, Bell replied that “While each of the Bell Entities' respective terms of service reference a potential device restocking fee being applicable when a customer returns their device during the trial period, none of the Bell-related companies actually charges such fee. Accordingly, the Bell Entities have consistently satisfied the trial period requirements set out in the Wireless Code since it took effect on 2 December 2013. Within the short timeframe that the Wireless Code has been in force, the Bell Entities have been gathering information to better determine what, if any, recovery costs may be associated with devices that are returned during the trial period. To the extent any of us may determine there is a need to recover underlying costs associated with device returns during the trial period, we would, of course, do so in a manner fully compliant with the Wireless Code's trial period requirements, including, by disclosing such a fee in plain language, with full transparency to each customer and by ensuring that any restocking fee is not punitive nor in any way representative of an early termination charge.” [Emphasis added]

The Commission hereby clarifies for Bell that where the Wireless Code states “(iv) During the trial period, customers may cancel their contract without penalty or early cancellation fee if they have (a) used less than the permitted usage; and (b) returned any device provided by the service provider, in near-new condition, including original packaging” that “penalty” should be read to include a “restocking fee” or other similar fee. As a result, a customer could not be charged a penalty, including a restocking fee, if they have met conditions (a) and (b) referenced above.

Action Required

The Commission considers that Bell needs to do the following in order to fully implement the Code:

Pursuant to section 37(2) of the Telecommunications Act, the Commission hereby directs Bell to file a response by 22 August 2014, demonstrating that it has changed its trial period policies as set out above.

If Bell fails to take the action required by 22 August 2014, the Commission may take further steps to enforce its requirement.

Should you have any questions regarding the above matter, please contact Nanao Kachi at 819-997-4700.

Procedural information

This letter and all subsequent correspondence form part of a public record. As set out in Broadcasting and Telecom Information Bulletin 2010-961, Procedures for filing confidential information and requesting its disclosure in Commission proceedings, WSPs may designate certain information as confidential. WSPs must provide an abridged version of the document involved, accompanied by a detailed rationale to explain why the disclosure of the information is not in the public interest.

All submissions are to be made in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure, SOR/2010-277.Footnote 3

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY

John Traversy
Secretary General

c.c.: nanao.kachi@crtc.gc.ca

Footnote 1

Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2013-271, 3 June 2013, CRTC File number 8665-C12-201212448.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/DocWebBroker/OpenDocument.aspx?Key=62279&Type=Notice

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/SOR-2010-277/index.html

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ – Télécom Lettre du Conseil adressée à Barry Chapman (Bell Mobilité Inc.)

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Ottawa, le 18 août 2014

N. Réf: 8665-C12-201212448

PAR COURRIEL

Barry Chapman
Vice-président
Affaires réglementaires
Bell Mobilité Inc.
bell.regulatory@bell.ca

Objet : Mise en œuvre du Code sur les services sans fil – Rapports de conformité – Mesures requises

Monsieur,

La présente est pour vous informer qu’il semble au Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (le Conseil) que votre entreprise, Bell Mobilité Inc (Bell), a apporté la plupart, mais non l’ensemble, des modifications nécessaires à ses contrats, politiques et procédures pour mettre en œuvre le Code sur les services sans fil (le Code). Le Conseil apprécie les efforts déployés par votre entreprise pour mettre en œuvre le Code dans les délais prescrits. Toutefois, le Conseil estime que votre entreprise doit encore rectifier quelques points  afin de mettre en œuvre le Code pleinement et de manière appropriée. Bell doit répondre aux préoccupations du Conseil, explicitées ci-dessous, au plus tard le 22 août 2014. Dans votre lettre, veuillez expliquer si vous avez pris les mesures indiquées par le Conseil dans la présente afin d’être pleinement conforme au Code.

Le Conseil compte publier un rapport à l’intention des consommateurs en août 2014 qui présente un résumé des résultats du processus de mise en œuvre du Code, y compris les renseignements soumis par votre entreprise dans vos rapports de conformité sur la mise en œuvre du Code et en réponse à la correspondance de suivi, y compris la présente lettre. Si, dans sa réponse à la présente, votre entreprise démontre qu’elle a apporté les modifications nécessaires pour pleinement mettre en œuvre le Code, le rapport à venir du Conseil reflétera ces modifications.

L’exigence de mise en œuvre du Code

Dans le Code sur les services sans filFootnote 1, le Conseil a établi le Code sur les services sans fil, un nouveau code de conduite obligatoire pour les fournisseurs de services vocaux et de services de données sans fil mobiles de détail (services sans fil). Ce Code s’applique à tous les services sans fil fournis aux particuliers et aux petites entreprises dans l’ensemble des provinces et des territoires, quel que soit le statut et les modèles d’affaires du fournisseur de services sans fil (FSSF).

Tel que requis par  le paragraphe 377 du Code, en janvier 2014, les FSSF ont présenté au Conseil des rapports indiquant en détail la façon dont elles ont mis en œuvre le CodeFootnote 2.

Le personnel du Conseil a examiné ces rapports et, le 22 mai 2014 et le 6 juin 2014, a transmis à certaines entreprises des lettres de suivi afin de demander une clarification au sujet de questions particulières relativement à ces rapports. Votre entreprise a déposé une réponse le 29 mai 2014.

Questions particulières à résoudre

En fonction des rapports et de la correspondance susmentionnés, il semble que votre entreprise ait besoin de régler les questions suivantes pour mettre en œuvre le Code pleinement et de manière appropriée :

À la section G. du Code sur les services sans fil, Résiliation et prolongation du contrat, le Conseil exige que les fournisseurs de services sans fil, y compris Bell, offrent une période d’essai aux clients lorsqu’ils souscrivent à un nouveau contrat. En particulier :

« (i) Lorsqu’un client consent à un contrat qui prévoit des frais de résiliation anticipée, le fournisseur de services doit offrir au client une période d’essai d’au moins 15 jours civils pour lui permettre de vérifier si le service répond à ses besoins.

(ii)   La période d’essai doit commencer le jour du début du service.

(iii)  Le fournisseur de services peut imposer des limites raisonnables associées à l’utilisation des services vocaux, de messagerie texte et de données au cours de la période d’essai.

(iv)  Au cours de la période d’essai, le client peut résilier son contrat sans payer de pénalité ou de frais de résiliation anticipée si :

  1. il n’a pas dépassé les limites d’utilisation permises;
  2. il retourne l’appareil fourni par le fournisseur de services en état presque neuf, avec son emballage original.

(v)   Si un client s’auto-identifie comme une personne handicapée, le fournisseur de services doit prolonger la période d’essai à au moins 30 jours civils, et doubler au minimum les montants d’utilisation prévus par le fournisseur de services pendant cette période. » [C’est nous qui soulignons]

L’exemple de contrat que vous avez fourni avec votre rapport sur la mise en œuvre du Code sur les services sans fil indique que les clients pourraient devoir payer des frais de réapprovisionnement s’ils annulent leur contrat pendant la période d’essai.

Dans une lettre datée du 22 mai 2014, le personnel du Conseil a demandé une clarification à ce sujet et demandé à Bell d’expliquer en quoi elle considère que son approche est conforme à l’exigence énoncée dans le Code sur les services sans fil.

Dans une lettre datée du 29 mai 2014, Bell répond que « bien que les conditions d’utilisation respectives de chacune des entités Bell fassent référence à des frais de réapprovisionnement possibles d’appareils s’appliquant lorsqu’un client retourne son appareil pendant la période d’essai, aucune des compagnies Bell ne facture réellement ces frais. Ainsi, les entités Bell satisfont invariablement aux exigences de la période d’essai prévues dans le Code sur les services sans fil depuis son entrée en vigueur le 2 décembre 2013. Pendant la courte période depuis l’entrée en vigueur du Code sur les services sans fil, les entités Bell recueillent de l’information afin de leur permettre de déterminer plus efficacement, le cas échéant,  les frais de recouvrement associés aux appareils retournés pendant la période d’essai. Dans la mesure où nous pouvons déterminer qu’il est nécessaire de recouvrer les coûts sous‑jacents associés au retour d’appareils pendant la période d’essai, nous, bien entendu, recouvrerions ces coûts de manière entièrement conforme aux exigences du Code sur les services sans fil relatives aux périodes d’essai, y compris, en divulguant ces coûts en langage simple et de façon entièrement transparente à chacun des clients et en veillant à ce qu’aucuns frais de réapprovisionnement ne soient punitifs ni représentatifs de quelque façon que ce soit de frais de résiliation anticipée. » [traduction] [C’est nous qui soulignons]

Le Conseil clarifie par les présentes pour Bell que, lorsque le Code sur les services sans fil stipule que « (iv) au cours de la période d’essai, le client peut résilier son contrat sans payer de pénalité ou de frais de résiliation anticipée si (a) il n’a pas dépassé les limites d’utilisation permises; et (b) il retourne l’appareil fourni par le fournisseur de services en état presque neuf, avec son emballage original », « pénalité » doit comprendre des « frais de réapprovisionnement » ou d’autres frais semblables. Ainsi, un client ne peut se voir imposer de pénalité, y compris des frais de réapprovisionnement, s’il respecte les conditions (a) et (b) énoncées ci-dessus.

Mesures requises

Le Conseil estime que Bell doit faire ce qui suit afin de mettre pleinement en œuvre le Code :

Conformément au paragraphe 37(2) de la Loi sur les télécommunications, le Conseil ordonne à Bell de déposer, au plus tard le 22 août 2014, une réponse démontrant qu’elle a modifié ses politiques de période d’essai comme il est susmentionné.

Si Bell omet de prendre les mesures nécessaires d’ici le 22 août 2014, le Conseil pourrait prendre des mesures supplémentaires pour mettre en application son exigence.

Si vous avez des questions à ce sujet, veuillez communiquer avec Nanao Kachi au 819‑997‑4700.

Renseignements sur la procédure

La présente lettre et toute la correspondance subséquente font partie d’un dossier public. Comme l’indique le Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2010-961, Procédure à suivre pour le dépôt et la demande de communication de renseignements confidentiels dans le cadre d’une instance du Conseil, les FSSF peuvent désigner certains renseignements comme confidentiels. Ils doivent alors fournir une version abrégée du document en cause et exposer en détail les raisons pour lesquelles la divulgation de ces renseignements ne serait pas dans l’intérêt du public.

Tous les documents doivent être soumis conformément aux Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, DORS/2010-277Footnote 3.

Le secrétaire général,

L’ORIGINAL SIGNÉ PAR /

John Traversy

c.c.: nanao.kachi@crtc.gc.ca

Footnote 1

Politique réglementaire de télécom CRTC 2013-271, 3 juin 2013, numéro de dossier du CRTC 8665-C12-201212448.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/DocWebBroker/OpenDocument.aspx?Key=62279&Type=Notice

Return to footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/reglements/DORS-2010-277/index.htm

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Date de modification :