ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 12 September 2013

By e-mail
To: Distribution list


Re : Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2013-155, Issues related to the feasibility of establishing a video relay service, as amended – Organization and conduct of the public hearing

Dear Madam/Sir:

The Commission is scheduled to hold a public hearing in connection with the above-noted proceeding commencing on Monday, 21 October 2013 at the Conference Centre, Phase IV, Outaouais Room, 140 Promenade du Portage, in Gatineau, Quebec.

The purpose of this letter is to provide those parties who are participating in the public hearing phase of the consultation (“participants”) with information on the organization and conduct of the public hearing.

1. Sitting Schedule

The hearing will begin at 9:00 a.m. on Monday, 21 October 2013. The hearing is expected to last five days.

The order and estimated date of appearance of parties who are invited to appear at the hearing is set out in the Schedule to this letter. Please note that the order of appearance at the hearing will be available on the Commission’s website at the following link http://www.crtc.gc.ca/broadcast/eng/hearings/2013/ag21_10.htm and will be updated, if necessary, prior to and during the hearing. Participants should note that there will be no oral reply phase as part of this hearing.

All members of the public are welcome to attend as audience members.

Participants are responsible for monitoring the progress of the hearing so that they are aware of any Commission directives and are ready to make their presentation on the day scheduled or, if necessary, the day before or after their scheduled date of appearance, depending on the progress of the hearing. Please be advised that links to both an audio feed and a video feed of the sign language interpreters will be available throughout the hearing on the Commission’s website at www.crtc.gc.ca.

2. Transcripts

The Commission has made arrangements to provide stenography services for the hearing. Those who wish to obtain same-day transcripts or other services are to contact Mr. Bill Curley from Steno Tran at 613-521-0703, extension 105 or at bill.curley@stenotran.com, as soon as possible. The person requesting these services is responsible for the transaction and payment of such services. The previous day’s transcript will be posted each business day on the Commission’s website at http://www.crtc.gc.ca/eng/transcripts/2013/.

3. Interpretation

Given that the exclusive focus of this proceeding is on a matter of particular significance to consumers who communicate primarily in sign language, simultaneous interpretation in American Sign Language (ASL) and Langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) will be provided in the hearing room for the duration of the hearing. In response to requests for accommodation, CART services (real-time captioning) will be available in English only on Monday, 21 October.
Requests for ASL or LSQ interpretation services for participants appearing by videoconference from a CRTC regional office must be communicated to the Hearing Secretary, Jade Roy, by
19 September 2013 so that the necessary arrangements can be made.
Simultaneous English and French language interpretation will also be provided in the hearing room for the duration of the hearing.

4. Presentations

To facilitate the effectiveness of interpretation services provided at the hearing, all participants are asked to communicate clearly and at a speed that allows the interpreters to keep pace.

The amount of time allotted for each participant’s presentation at the public hearing is set out in the Schedule attached to this letter.

Presentations will be followed by a question period from members of the Commission panel.

The Commission must be advised in advance of any audio-visual presentation (the duration of which must be included in participants’ allocated presentation time), since those participants will be required to make their own arrangements to rent any technical equipment needed for the presentation. The Commission notes that a number of participants are Deaf or hearing impaired and therefore requests that any audio-visual presentation be accessible to all participants, whether by captioning, prior provision of a transcript, or other reasonable accommodation. Participants who wish to use an audio-visual aid are to contact Jade Roy, Hearing Secretary, by email at hearing1@crtc.gc.ca or by phone at 819-953-7927, by no later than Thursday, 19 September 2013.

5. Responsibility of the participants

Participants are required to bring with them all relevant documentation and knowledgeable personnel, including experts.

For ease of translation and transcription, and to assist the Commission panel members and Commission staff, participants are requested to provide 40 copies of their prepared remarks, any documents to be filed or used at the public hearing (such as exhibits, proposed exhibits, or responses to undertakings), as well as the seating plan of their presentation panel (viewed from the Commission panel) to the Hearing Secretary before their presentation.

The Commission would appreciate if participants would provide an electronic version of their prepared remarks to the Court Reporter prior to, or at the conclusion of, their oral presentation.

Participants are reminded that, in accordance with the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Rules of Practice and Procedure (The Rules), only evidence in support of statements already on the record is admissible at the public hearing without the permission of the Commission. Should a participant intend to bring forward new evidence, including proposed exhibits or attachments to their hearing presentation, they must notify the Hearing Secretary before its presentation and must request permission to do so from the Commission at the beginning of their presentation.

6. Notification of attendance and further inquiries

In order to assist the Commission, participants must file the following by email to hearing1@crtc.gc.ca, or by fax to 819-994-0218, specifying “Notice of Consultation 2013-155” in the subject line, by Thursday, 19 September 2013:

• Confirmation that the participant still wishes to appear at the hearing, and, if so, whether in Gatineau or by videoconference from a CRTC regional office;

• Confirmation of prior requests for accommodation during the hearing for participants;

• Confirmation of requests for ASL or LSQ interpretation services for participants appearing by videoconference from a CRTC regional office;

• The name, telephone number, and email address of the participant (or the participant’s representative) to be used to contact the participant immediately preceding and during the hearing, if necessary, to obtain information or to inform them of matters relating to the hearing;

• The names and titles of any representatives who will appear on behalf of the participant at the hearing;

• The language(s) in which the participant intends to present (one or more of English, French, ASL, LSQ).

7. Organisation of the Hearing Room

Given that this hearing will not involve cross-examination or a rebuttal phase, participants are advised that separate tables for each participant will not be provided in the hearing room. Participants who wish to follow the hearing in person may sit in the audience or in the public examination room.

8. Post-public hearing written submissions

In accordance with the procedure established in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2013-155 (as amended), parties are reminded that they may file final comments in reply to submissions at the public hearing on any matter within the scope of this proceeding by 15 November 2013. Final written submissions, including an executive summary, are not to exceed 25 pages. Final ASL or LSQ video submissions are to be submitted through the Commission’s YouTube channel.

9. Applications for cost awards

Parties who wish to file an application for interim or final cost awards must do so according to the procedure set out in the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Rules of Practice and Procedure. The Rules are available at the following link: http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/regulations/SOR-2010-277/index.html.

In light of the significant number of interveners participating in this process, the Commission hereby modifies the application of Rules 61(2) and 66(3) for the current proceeding. Applications for cost awards must be served on all organisations and companies participating in this proceeding. Contact information for all corporate and organisational participants can be found within the interventions listed on the following hyperlink:
https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/ListeInterventionList/Default-Defaut.aspx?en=2013-155&dt=c&Lang=e

Sincerely,
Original signed by:
John Traversy
Secretary General
Attach.

Schedule: Order of Appearance
Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2013-155, as amended
Public Hearing Participants

Order and Dates of Appearance*

Monday, 21 October 2013
1. The Canadian Hearing Society (20 minutes)
2. Toronto Association of the Deaf (20 minutes)
3. Ontario Video Relay Services Committee (20 minutes)
4. Ontario Association of the Deaf (20 minutes)
5. Alberta Association of the Deaf (20 minutes)
6. Centre québécois pour la déficience auditive (20 minutes)

Tuesday, 22 October 2013
7. TELUS Communications Company (20 minutes)
8. Toronto International Deaf Film and Arts Festival (15 minutes)
9. Cinéall Production des sourds (15 minutes)
10. La Maison des Femmes Sourdes de Montréal et le Comité d'aide aux femmes Sourdes de Québec (15 minutes)
11. Sonny Access Consulting (15 minutes)
12. Rogers Communications, Cogeco Cable Inc., Quebecor Media Inc., on behalf of its affiliate Videotron G.P., and Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as Eastlink and Shaw Communications Inc. (20 minutes)

Wednesday, 23 October 2013
13. Noni Warner (15 minutes)
14. Kathern Lawrence (15 minutes)
15. MTS Allstream (20 minutes)
16. Tatiana Kamaeva (15 minutes)
17. Bell Aliant Regional Communications, Limited Partnership, on behalf of itself and DMTS, KMTS, NorthernTel, Limited Partnership and Télébec, Limited Partnership, Bell Canada, Bell Mobility and Northwestel Inc. (20 minutes)
18. Saskatchewan Telecommunications (20 minutes)

Thursday, 24 October 2013
19. Sorenson Canada (20 minutes)
20. nWise (20 minutes)
21. UQAM and SIVET (20 minutes)
22. Communication Disabilities Access Canada (20 minutes)
23. British Columbia Video Relay Services Committee (20 minutes)

Friday, 25 October 2013
24. Canadian Association of the Deaf (20 minutes)
25. Wayne Sinclair (15 minutes)
26. Lesley McMillan (15minutes)
27. Joe McLaughlin, Ed.D. (15 minutes)
28. Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association (20 minutes)
29. Ava Hawkins (15 minutes)
30. Chris Kenopic (15 minutes)
*Note: The dates of appearance are estimates only, based on projected sitting times.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ -  Lettre

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Ottawa, le 12 septembre 2013

Par courriel
Destinataires : Voir liste de distribution

Objet : Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2013-155 intitulé Enjeux relatifs à la faisabilité de créer un service de relais vidéo, modifié – Organisation et conduite de l’audience publique

Monsieur, Madame,

Le Conseil tiendra une audience publique dans le cadre de l’instance susmentionnée à compter du lundi 21 octobre 2013, au Centre de conférences, 140, promenade du Portage, Phase IV, salle Outaouais, à Gatineau (Québec).

La présente lettre vise à fournir aux parties qui comparaîtront à l’audience publique (les participants) des renseignements sur l’organisation et la conduite de l’audience publique.

1. Horaire

L’audience débutera à 9 h, le lundi 21 octobre 2013. On prévoit qu’elle pourrait durer cinq jours.

L’ordre et la date estimative de comparution des parties invitées à comparaître figurent dans l’annexe de la présente lettre. Veuillez noter que l’ordre de comparution à l’audience publique sera disponible sur le site Web du Conseil à l’adresse suivante : http://www.crtc.gc.ca/broadcast/fra/hearings/2013/ag21_10.htm, et sera mis à jour, si nécessaire, avant et durant l’audience. Les participants doivent prendre note que l’audience ne comprendra pas de phase consacrée aux répliques orales.

Le public est cordialement invité à faire partie de l’auditoire.

Les participants doivent surveiller le déroulement de l’audience afin d’être au courant des directives du Conseil et d’être prêts à faire leur exposé le jour prévu ou, le cas échéant, le jour précédant ou suivant la date de comparution prévue, selon la vitesse à laquelle se déroule l’audience. Sachez que des liens menant à un fil audio et un fil vidéo des interprètes gestuels seront offerts pendant l’audience sur le site web du Conseil, à l’adresse suivante : www.crtc.gc.ca .

2. Transcriptions

Le Conseil a retenu des services de transcription pour la durée de l’audience. Les parties qui désirent obtenir une transcription le jour même ou d’autres services doivent communiquer avec M. Bill Curley de Steno Tran, par téléphone, au numéro 613-521-0703, poste 105 ou par courriel, à bill.curley@stenotran.com, le plus tôt possible. Les parties devront en assumer la responsabilité et les coûts. La transcription de la journée précédente sera affichée chaque jour ouvrable sur le site web du Conseil, à l’adresse suivante : http://www.crtc.gc.ca/fra/transcripts/2013/.

3. Interprétation

Puisque la présente instance porte sur une question d’une importance particulière pour les consommateurs dont le moyen de communication principal est le langage gestuel, des services d’interprétation simultanée en American Sign Language (ASL) et en Langue des signes québécoise (LSQ) seront fournis dans la salle d’audience pendant l’audience. Suite à des demandes d’adaptation, des services CART (sous-titrage en temps réel) seront offerts en anglais que le lundi 21 octobre.

Les demandes de services d’interprétation simultanée en ASL ou en LSQ des participants qui seront entendus par vidéoconférence à partir d’un bureau régional du CRTC doivent être communiquées à la secrétaire de l’audience, Jade Roy, au plus tard le 19 septembre 2013, afin que les mesures nécessaires puissent être prises.

Des services d’interprétation simultanée en anglais et en français seront également offerts en salle d’audience pour la durée de l’audience.

4. Exposés

Pour favoriser l’efficacité des services d’interprétation fournis à l’audience, tous les participants sont priés de communiquer clairement et à une vitesse permettant aux interprètes de suivre la cadence.

La durée maximale permise des exposés de chaque participant lors de l’audience publique est indiquée à l’ordre de comparution ci-annexé.

Les exposés seront suivis d’une période de question par les membres du comité d’audition du Conseil.

Le Conseil doit être informé à l’avance si vous avez une présentation audiovisuelle (la durée de celle-ci doit être incluse dans le temps alloué), puisque les participants devront louer leur propre matériel technique. Le Conseil note qu’un certain nombre de participants sont sourds ou malentendants et par conséquent, demande que toutes les présentations audio-visuelles soient accessibles à tous les participants, que ce soit par sous-titrage, en soumettant au préalable une transcription ou toute autre méthode jugée adéquate. Les participants qui souhaitent se prévaloir d’une aide audiovisuelle sont priés de communiquer avec la secrétaire de l’audience, Jade Roy, par courriel à audience1@crtc.gc.ca ou en composant le 819 953-7927, au plus tard le jeudi 19 septembre 2013.

5. Responsabilité des participants

Les parties sont tenues d’apporter toute documentation pertinente et être accompagnées de personnes compétentes, y compris des experts.

Afin de faciliter la traduction et la transcription, et pour aider les membres du comité d’audition du Conseil ainsi que le personnel du Conseil, les participants sont priés d’apporter 40 copies des observations qu’ils ont préparées et de tout autre document devant être déposé ou utilisé lors de l’audience publique (tels que les preuves matérielles, les pièces à l’appui ou les réponses proposées aux engagements), ainsi que le plan d’allocation des places de leur groupe de présentation (vue à partir du comité d’audition du Conseil) à la secrétaire d’audience avant leur exposé.

Le Conseil invite les participants à remettre au sténographe une version électronique des observations qu’ils ont préparées, avant ou tout de suite après leur exposé.

Le Conseil rappelle aux participants que, en vertu des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, la seule preuve admissible sans l’autorisation du Conseil lors d’une audience publique est celle faite à l’appui d’une allégation figurant déjà au dossier. Si un participant prévoit fournir un nouvel élément de preuve, y compris des pièces à l’appui ou des pièces jointes lors de son exposé, il doit en informer la secrétaire de l’audience avant son exposé et demander au Conseil l’autorisation de déposer ces documents au début de son exposé.

6. Notification de présence et demandes de renseignements additionnels

Afin d’aider le Conseil, les participants doivent déposer les renseignements ci-après par courriel à l’adresse audience1@crtc.gc.ca, ou par télécopieur au 819-994-0218, en inscrivant la mention « Avis de consultation 2013-155 » à la ligne objet, d’ici le jeudi 19 septembre 2013 :

• la confirmation que le participant souhaite toujours comparaître à l’audience et, dans l’affirmative, s’il comparaît à Gatineau ou par vidéoconférence, à partir d’un bureau régional du CRTC;

• la confirmation de demandes antérieures d’aménagements spéciaux au cours de l’audience pour les participants;

• la confirmation de demandes de services d’interprétation simultanée en ASL ou en LSQ pour les participants qui seront entendus par vidéoconférence à partir d’un bureau régional du CRTC;

• le nom, le numéro de téléphone et l’adresse courriel du participant (ou de son représentant), afin de communiquer avec lui immédiatement avant ou pendant l’audience pour obtenir des renseignements ou l’aviser de questions relatives à l’audience, au besoin;

• le nom et le titre de tout représentant qui comparaîtra à l’audience au nom du participant;

• la ou les langues que le participant compte utiliser pour faire son exposé (une ou plusieurs des langues suivantes soit l’anglais, le français, l’ASL ou le LSQ).

7. Organisation de la salle d’audience

Comme l’audience ne comprendra pas de volet consacré aux contre-interrogatoires ou aux répliques, les participants ne disposeront pas chacun d’une table dans la salle d’audience. Les participants qui souhaitent assister en personne à l’audience pourront s’asseoir parmi l’auditoire ou dans la salle d’examen.

8. Présentation d’observations écrites après l’audience publique

Conformément à la procédure établie dans l’avis de consultation de télécom 2013-155 (modifié), nous rappelons aux parties qu’elles peuvent déposer, d’ici le 15 novembre 2013, leurs observations finales en réponse aux points de vue exprimés lors de l’audience, sur toute question s’inscrivant dans le cadre de la présente instance. Les observations écrites finales, y compris le sommaire exécutif, ne doivent pas dépasser 25 pages. Les observations finales par vidéos en ASL ou en LSQ doivent être présentées par l’intermédiaire du canal YouTube du Conseil.

9. Demandes d’adjudication de frais

Les parties qui souhaitent déposer une demande d’adjudication de frais provisoires ou définitifs doivent le faire conformément à la procédure établie dans les Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes. Les Règles sont disponibles au lien suivant : http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/fra/reglements/DORS-2010-277/index.html .

Compte tenu du nombre important d’intervenants participant à ce processus, le Conseil modifie, par la présente, l’application des Règles 61(2) et 66(3) visant la présente instance. Les demandes d’adjudication de frais doivent être signifiées à toutes les organisations et entreprises participant à la présente instance. Les coordonnées de tous les participants d’entreprises et d’organisations figurent dans les interventions listées à l’hyperlien ci-dessous :
https://services.crtc.gc.ca/pub/ListeInterventionList/Default-Defaut.aspx?en=2013-155&dt=c&Lang=f

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, Madame l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs,

Le secrétaire général
L’original signé par :
John Traversy
Pièce jointe

Annexe : Ordre de comparution

Avis de consultation de télécom CRTC 2013-155, tel que modifié

Participants à l’audience publique

Ordre et dates de comparution*

Lundi 21 octobre 2013
1. La Société canadienne de l’ouïe (20 minutes)
2. Toronto Association of the Deaf (20 minutes)
3. Ontario Video Relay Services Committee (20 minutes)
4. Ontario Association of the Deaf (20 minutes)
5. Alberta Association of the Deaf (20 minutes)
6. Centre québécois pour la déficience auditive (20 minutes)

Mardi 22 octobre 2013
7. Société TELUS Communications (20 minutes)
8. Toronto International Deaf Film and Arts Festival (15 minutes)
9. Cinéall Production des sourds (15 minutes)
10. La Maison des Femmes Sourdes de Montréal et le Comité d'aide aux femmes Sourdes de Québec (15 minutes)
11. Sonny Access Consulting (15 minutes)
12. Rogers Communications, Cogeco Cable Inc., Québecor Média inc., au nom de sa filiale Vidéotron G.P., et Bragg Communications inc., faisant affaire sous le nom d'EastLink et Shaw Communications Inc. (20 minutes)

Mercredi 23 octobre 2013
13. Noni Warner (15 minutes)
14. Kathern Lawrence (15 minutes)
15. MTS Allstream (20 minutes)
16. Tatiana Kamaeva (15 minutes)
17. Bell Aliant Communications régionales, société en commandite, en son nom et DMTS, KMTS, NorthernTel, société en commandite et Télébec, société en commandite, Bell Canada, Bell Mobilité et Northwestel Inc. (20 minutes)
18. Saskatchewan Telecommunications (20 minutes)

Jeudi 24 octobre 2013
19. Sorenson Canada (20 minutes)
20. nWise (20 minutes)
21. UQAM et SIVET (20 minutes)
22. Communication Disabilities Access Canada (20 minutes)
23. British Columbia Video Relay Services Committee (20 minutes)

Vendredi 25 octobre 2013
24. Association des Sourds du Canada (20 minutes)
25. Wayne Sinclair (15 minutes)
26. Lesley McMillan (15 minutes)
27. Joe McLaughlin, Ed.D. (15 minutes)
28. Association canadienne des télécommunications sans fil (20 minutes)
29. Ava Hawkins (15 minutes)
30. Chris Kenopic (15 minutes)
*Nota : Les dates de comparution sont estimatives seulement, selon la durée des comparutions.

Date de modification :