ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 4 February 2013 

Our reference: 8650-P8-201215913

BY EMAIL

Mr. John Lawford
Counsel for PIAC/CAC
ONE Nicholas Street, Suite 1204
Ottawa, Ontario, K1N 7B7
piac@piac.ca

Re:  Part 1 Application - Billing of calls placed from Bell Canada payphones which contravene the Telecommunications Act and are inconsistent with directives issued by the CRTC

On 1 February 2013, the Commission received a letter from the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) on its own behalf and as counsel to Canada Without Poverty (CWP), collectively PIAC/CWP, requesting a one week extension to all stages of the above-noted process. In that letter, PIAC/CWP indicated they are active participants in the Commission's proceeding to establish a mandatory code for mobile wireless services and counsel will be highly engaged the week that reply is due in this proceeding.

Commission staff notes that Bell Canada, in a letter dated 1 February 2013, did not object to PIAC/CWP’s request.

Commission staff considers that PIAC/CWP’s request for an extension is reasonable in the circumstances. Accordingly, the date for the submission of the answer to the application or intervention is revised to 11 February 2013 and the date for the submission of the reply is revised to 21 February 2013.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Mario Bertrand
Director, Dispute Resolution and Decisions,
Telecommunications

cc:   Mr. Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada (bell.regulatory@bell.ca)

Wimactel (info@wimactel.com)

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ -  Lettre

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Ottawa, le 4 février 2013      

N/Réf.: 8650-P8-201215913

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur John Lawford
Conseiller juridique, PIAC
1, rue Nicholas, bureau 1204
Ottawa (Ontario) K1N 7B7
piac@piac.ca

Objet :  Demande de la Partie 1 – Facturation des appels à partir de téléphones payants de Bell Canada qui enfreint la Loi sur les télécommunications et est en contradiction avec les directives du CRTC

Monsieur,

Le 1er février 2013, le Conseil a reçu une lettre du Centre pour la défense de l’intérêt public (PIAC) en son nom et à titre de conseiller juridique du Canada Without Poverty (CWP), collectivement le PIAC/CWP, dans laquelle ces derniers demandaient une prolongation d’une semaine pour chacune des étapes du processus pour la requête en rubrique. Dans cette lettre, le PIAC/CWP ont indiqué que les parties sont des participants actifs dans le processus du Conseil visant l’établissement d’un code obligatoire pour les fournisseurs de services sans fil mobiles et que le conseiller juridique sera très occupé la semaine du dépôt de la réplique.

Le personnel du Conseil note que Bell Canada, dans une lettre du 1er février 2013, ne s’est pas opposée à la demande du PIAC/CWP.

Le personnel du Conseil considère que la demande du PIAC/CWP est raisonnable compte tenu des circonstances. Par conséquent, la date du dépôt des répliques à la demande et des interventions est reportée au 11 février 2013 et la date du dépôt de la réplique est reportée au 21 février 2013.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Directeur, Règlement des différends et décisions
Télécommunications

L’original signé par

Mario Bertrand

cc: Monsieur Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada (bell.regulatory@bell.ca)

Wimactel (info@wimactel.com)

Date de modification :