ARCHIVED -  Letter

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, February 1st, 2013

Our reference: 8640-M5-201213165

BY EMAIL

Mr. R. B. Banks
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
16 Mill Street East
Milverton, ON
N0K 1M0
rbanks@mornington.ca

RE: Application for forbearance from the regulation of business local exchange services in the Milverton exchange

Dear Sir,

On 19 October 2012, the Commission received a Part 1 application by Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited (Mornington), requesting forbearance from the regulation of 12 business local exchange services in the exchange of Milverton, Ontario.

While reviewing Mornington’s application, Commission staff found inconsistencies between the list of requested services and Mornington’s current tariff pages, as well as other inconsistencies in the information provided in the company’s application.

Paragraph 28(1)(a) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure provides that the Commission may request parties to file information or documents where needed.

Mornington is requested to provide comprehensive answers, including rationale and any supporting information, to the attached questions by 8 February 2013.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications

cc: bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Regulatory.Affairs@telus.com;
Natalie.MacDonald@corp.eastlink.ca;
David.Watt@rci.rogers.com

Laurie Ventura, CRTC (819) 997-4589, laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca

ATTACHMENT

Request for information

1. In paragraph 7 of its application, Mornington notes that the list of services and the associated tariff and item numbers listed in Appendix 1 is consistent with those set out in General Tariff CRTC 25470, Item 100.4.02, Section 170, Section 210, Section 490, and Section 820. In an appendix to its application, Mornington provided the following list of services for which it requested forbearance (with respect to business services only):

 

CRTC Tariff Section Number Tariff Item Number Service Name
Section 100 Item 4.02 B1 Primary Exchange service
Section 110 Item 1 – 6 Service Charges for Business
Section 130 Items 1 -4 Construction Charges
Section 170 Item 2 Business Service Definition
Section 210 Items 1 – 5 Centrex Services
Section 260 Items 1 -2 Interexchange channels
Section 270 Items 1 – 3 Digital Network Access
Section 310 Item 1 Foreign Exchange Channels
Section 490   Custom Calling Features Business
Section 500 Items 1-2 All in one Bundle Business rates
Section 820 Items 1-3 Business Voice Mail services
Section 850 Items 1-4 Customer Equipment used on the network.

Commission staff has noted the following inconsistencies between the proposed list of services and Mornington’s current tariff pages:

a. The following Sections of Mornington’s General Tariff should either be updated in the company’s online tariffs on its website, or the company should explain why there is a discrepancy between the online tariffs and those in the Commission’s files:

  • Section 210 – page 6 (which includes items 4.12 to 5.01) is missing from the company’s online tariffs, but exists in the Commission’s files.
  • Section 490 – Custom Calling Features Business – the company’s tariffs indicate that the associated item number is 3. However, page 1a, which includes item 3 (d), Call Waiting, is missing from the company’s online tariffs, but exists in the Commission’s files.
  • Section 500 – the company has listed items 1 and 2, with the service name “All in one Bundle Business rates.” However, the company’s online tariff pages indicate that Section 500 is “Reserved,” while the service exists in the Commission’s files.

b. The company has referred to Section 260, items 1 and 2, as “Interexchange channels.” However, the heading on the associated tariff pages is “Intra Exchange Channels and Distance Charges.” Confirm the correct title for this service.

c. The company has referred to Section 270, items 1 to 3, with the service name “Digital Network Access.” However, the company’s tariff pages indicate that Section 270 is “Reserved for Future Use.” Confirm whether Mornington is seeking forbearance for this service and, if so, where in its General Tariff this service appears.

d. The company has referred to Section 850, items 1 to 4, with the service name “Customer Equipment used on the network.” However, the heading on the associated tariff pages is “Use of Customer-Provided Equipment with the Company’s Facilities.” In addition, the company’s online tariffs and the Commission’s files refer to an effective date of 1998 08 01 on page 3, revision 1.

Confirm 

(i) the correct title for this service, and

(ii) whether this is the current version of this page 3.

1. In paragraph 3 of its application, Mornington notes that EastLink began offering business services in the Milverton exchange during the week of 20 August 2012. In paragraph 12, the company notes that competition began in the exchange on 14 August 2012. Confirm the correct date for the beginning of competition in this exchange.

2. In paragraphs 10 v. and 11 iii., the company has provided two different figures for its total number of business access lines in the entire exchange of Milverton. Confirm the number of business access lines in that exchange.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉ -  Lettre

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Ottawa, le 1er février 2013

Notre référence. : 8640-M5-201213165

PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur R. B. Banks
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
16, rue Mill Est
Milverton (Ontario) N0K 1M0
rbanks@mornington.ca

Objet : Demande d’abstention de la réglementation des services locaux d’affaires dans la circonscription de Milverton

Monsieur,

Le 19 octobre 2012, le Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes (CRTC) a reçu de Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited (Mornington) une demande en vertu de la partie 1 en vue de l’abstention de la réglementation de 12 services locaux d’affaires dans la circonscription de Milverton, en Ontario.

Lors de l’examen de la demande de Mornington, le personnel du Conseil a relevé des incohérences entre la liste des services visés par la demande et les pages de tarif actuelles de Mornington, ainsi que d’autres incohérences dans l’information présentée.

Aux termes de l’alinéa 28(1)a) des Règles de pratique et de procédure du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes, le Conseil peut exiger d’une partie qu’elle lui fournisse les renseignements ou documents qu’il estime nécessaires.

Le personnel du Conseil demande donc à Mornington de fournir, au plus tard le 8 février 2013, des réponses complètes aux questions ci-jointes, y compris une justification et tout renseignement à l’appui.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le directeur,

L’original signé par

Michel Murray
Mise en œuvre de la réglementation,
Télécommunications

c. c. : bell.regulatory@bell.ca
Regulatory.Affairs@telus.com;
Natalie.MacDonald@corp.eastlink.ca;
David.Watt@rci.rogers.com

Laurie Ventura, CRTC, 819-997-4589; laurie.ventura@crtc.gc.ca

PIÈCE JOINTE

Demande de renseignements

1. Au paragraphe 7 de sa demande, Mornington indique que la liste des services et les numéros de tarif et d’article connexes figurant à l’annexe 1 sont conformes à ceux énoncés dans le Tarif général du CRTC 25470, article 100.4.02, sections 170, 210, 490 et 820. Dans une annexe à sa demande, Mornington a fourni une liste des services pour lesquels l’entreprise demande l’abstention (en ce qui concerne les services d’affaires seulement), laquelle figure ci-dessous :

Numéro de la section du Tarif général du CRTC Numéro de l’article tarifaire Nom du service
Section 100 Article 4.02 B1 Service local de base
Section 110 Articles 1 à 6 Frais de service applicables aux services d’affaires
Section 130 Articles 1 à 4 Frais de construction
Section 170 Article 2 Définition de services d’affaires
Section 210 Articles 1 à 5 Services Centrex
Section 260 Articles 1 à 2 Voies intercirconscriptions
Section 270 Articles 1 à 3 Accès au réseau numérique
Section 310 Article 1 Voies hors circonscription
Section 490   Services téléphoniques spécifiques – Services d’affaires
Section 500 Articles 1 à 2 Forfait tout‑en‑un de tarifs des services d’affaires
Section 820 Articles 1 à 3 Services de messagerie vocale d’affaires
Section 850 Articles 1 à 4 Équipement des clients branché au réseau

Le personnel du Conseil a relevé les incohérences suivantes entre la liste proposée de services et les pages de tarif courantes de Mornington :

a. Les sections suivantes du Tarif général de Mornington devraient être mises à jour sur le site Web de l’entreprise (tarifs en ligne), ou l’entreprise devrait expliquer pourquoi il existe une divergence entre les tarifs en ligne et ceux figurant dans les dossiers du Conseil :

  • Section 210 – la page 6 (laquelle englobe les articles 4.12 à 5.01) est absente des tarifs en ligne de l’entreprise, mais figure dans les dossiers du Conseil.
  • Section 490 – Services téléphoniques spécifiques – Services d’affaires – les tarifs de l’entreprise indiquent que le numéro d’article connexe est 3. Toutefois, la page 1a, qui comprend l’article 3 (d) ‑ Appel en attente ‑ est absente des tarifs en ligne de l’entreprise, mais figure dans les dossiers du Conseil.
  • Section 500 – l’entreprise a inscrit les articles 1 et 2 sous le nom de service « Forfait tout‑en‑un de tarifs des services d’affaires ». Toutefois, dans les pages de tarif en ligne de l’entreprise, il est indiqué que la section 500 est « réservée », alors que le service en question figure dans les dossiers du Conseil.

b. L’entreprise a utilisé le nom « Voies intercirconscriptions » pour la section 260, articles 1 et 2. Toutefois, l’en‑tête figurant dans les pages de tarif correspondantes est « Voies intracirconscriptions et frais de distance ». Veuillez confirmer le bon titre pour ce service.

c. L’entreprise a utilisé le nom de service « Accès au réseau numérique » pour la section 270, articles 1 à 3. Toutefois, dans les pages de tarif de l’entreprise, la section 270 porte la mention « Réservé pour utilisation ultérieure ». Veuillez confirmer si Mornington demande l’abstention pour ce service et, dans l’affirmative, indiquer à quel endroit ce service apparaît dans le Tarif général de l’entreprise.

d. L’entreprise a utilisé le nom de service « Équipement des clients branché au réseau » pour la section 850, articles 1 à 4. Toutefois, l’en‑tête figurant dans les pages de tarif correspondantes est « Utilisation de l’équipement fourni par l’abonné avec les installations de la compagnie ». De plus, dans les tarifs en ligne de l’entreprise et les dossiers du Conseil (page 3, révision 1), la date d’entrée en vigueur indiquée est la suivante 1998‑08‑01.

Veuillez confirmer :

(i) le bon titre pour ce service;

(ii) s’il s’agit de la version courante de la page 3.

1. Au paragraphe 3 de sa demande, Mornington indique qu’EastLink a commencé à offrir des services d’affaires dans la circonscription de Milverton pendant la semaine du 20 août 2012. Au paragraphe 12, l’entreprise mentionne que la concurrence s’est installée dans la circonscription le 14 août 2012. Veuillez confirmer la date à laquelle la concurrence s’est effectivement installée dans cette circonscription.

2. Aux paragraphes 10 v. et 11 iii., l’entreprise a fourni deux chiffres différents en ce qui touche son nombre total de lignes d’accès d’affaires dans l’ensemble de la circonscription de Milverton. Veuillez confirmer le nombre de lignes d’accès d’affaires dans cette circonscription.

Date de modification :