Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

ARCHIVED -  Letter

Warning This Web page has been archived on the Web.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 29 November 2011

Susan Wheeler
Chair, Described Video Working Group
Vice President, Regulatory – Media
Rogers Communications Inc.
333 Bloor Street East
Toronto, ON  M4W 1G9

Email: susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Re: CRTC Broadcasting and Telecom Regulatory Policy 2009-430 Accessibility of telecommunications and broadcasting services – Described Video Working Group

Dear Ms. Wheeler:

This letter is in response to the Described Video Working Group (DV WG) Final Report dated 30 September 2011.

The Commission commends the DV WG for the time, energy and resources that have clearly been devoted to developing common practices and solutions for improving the accessibility and promotion of described programming.

With one exception, the Commission is satisfied that the concrete measures and firm commitments proposed by the DV WG, once implemented, will enable it to fulfill its mandate, which consists of:

1. facilitating the pass-through of described programming;

2. providing one or more simple means for viewers to access embedded described video;

3. resolving any instances of audio loss associated with described video; and

4. ensuring that information regarding described programming is made available in print and online programming listings and electronic programming guides.

The Commission is particularly pleased with the measures proposed by the DV WG with respect to the 4th mandate element. The provision of accurate information online, by telephone and in electronic programs guides regarding the availability of described programming will enable people who are blind or partially sighted to plan their viewing of described programming.  In addition to other promotional measures, the commitment to produce and air public service announcements (PSAs) will significantly increase general awareness of DV.  To maximize the impact of the PSAs, the Commission encourages all licensees to ensure they are broadcast during peak viewing times.

The Commission is also satisfied that the initiatives and commitments of the DV WG to facilitate the pass-through of described programming and to resolve any associated instances of audio loss will result in the consistent provision of described programming to Canadians.  To facilitate the fulfillment of these elements of the DV WG’s mandate, the Commission will maintain on its website a list of programming services that offer DV, as provided by the DV WG and updated by the DV WG from time to time.

However, the Commission is of the view that the DV WG has not, to the fullest extent possible, leveraged all of the available opportunities to provide one or more simple means to access embedded DV, and considers that the DV WG has put forward too limited a vision and framework in this respect.   The Commission appreciates the need to identify shorter and longer term activities and commitments and notes that the provision of “set-and-forget” functionality[1] has been identified as a longer term objective.  However, as noted in the report, “set-and-forget” functionality is currently available from some Canadian-based broadcasting distribution undertakings (BDUs).  The Commission also notes that a customized, Canadian-based, remote control with a one-button solution for accessing DV has already been demonstrated by a Canadian BDU[2], and considers that a similar approach could be taken by other BDUs. Given that the necessary technology appears to be available, the Commission expects the DV WG to actively investigate and pursue one-button solutions and “set-and-forget” in the shorter-term and that the DV WG and the industry should be able to report on the progress in this regard in the shorter-term.

In light of the work that remains for some BDUs to provide Canadians with simple means of accessing described programming, the Commission considers that improved consumer awareness of the available options for accessing DV will ensure that people who are blind or partially sighted are able to access DV programming more effectively.  To this end, the Commission requests that the DV WG produce the following information:

  • For each BDU, the number of steps currently needed to access DV programming
  • For each BDU, the availability of “set-and forget” functionality with respect to the user’s preference for described programming.

The Commission further requests that the DV WG make this information available in an easily searchable, tabular format, on a central website that is accessible to people who are blind and people who are partially sighted and that this information be updated as access to DV is improved.  The Commission expects that the creation and publishing of such a website can and should be accomplished by January 2012.

The Commission supports the recommendation to extend the mandate of the DV WG, thus ensuring that the momentum of the DV WG may continue.

The Commission requests that the DV WG report on its progress in addressing the Commission’s comments and concerns detailed in the body of this letter, as well as report on the status of the other initiatives described in the report, by 31st May 2012.  The Commission further requests that DV WG provide an interim progress report on its achievement of those initiatives targeted for a 30 November 2011 completion date and the above mentioned central website, by 31st January 2012.

The Commission once again commends the DV WG for the progress that it has been made and looks forward to hearing about its future activities and the resulting advancements.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY Christianne Laizner on behalf of /

John Traversy
Secretary General

[1]“Set-and-forget” functionality retains the user’s preference for DV and automatically makes it available for any described programming.

[2] During the proceeding that lead to the Broadcasting and Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2009-430, Accessibility of telecommunications and broadcasting services, Rogers Communications Inc. presented a customized remote control unit that enables one-button access to described programming.

ARCHIVÉ - Lettre

Cette page Web a été archivée dans le Web

Information archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Les décisions, avis et ordonnances (DAO) archivés demeurent en vigueur pourvu qu'ils n'aient pas été modifiés ou annulés par le Conseil, une cour ou le gouvernement. Le texte de l'information archivée n'a pas été modifié ni mis à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les modifications aux DAO sont indiquées au moyen de « tirets » ajoutés au numéro DAO original. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s'appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.

Ottawa, le 29 novembre 2011

Madame Susan Wheeler
Présidente, Groupe de travail sur la vidéodescription
Vice‑présidente, Affaires réglementaires – Médias
Rogers Communications Inc.
333, rue Bloor Est
Toronto (Ontario)  M4W 1G9

Par courriel : susan.wheeler@rci.rogers.com

Objet : Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2009-430 intitulée Accessibilité des services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion – Groupe de travail sur la vidéodescription

Madame,

La présente lettre fait suite au Rapport final du Groupe de travail sur la vidéodescription (GT-VD) daté du 30 septembre 2011. 

Le Conseil félicite le GT-VD pour le temps, l’énergie et les ressources qu’il a manifestement consacrés à l’élaboration de pratiques communes et de solutions dans le but d’améliorer l’accessibilité et de promouvoir la programmation avec vidéodescription.

À une exception près, le Conseil est convaincu que les mesures concrètes et les engagements fermes que le GT-VD a proposés, une fois mis en œuvre, vont lui permettre de remplir son mandat qui consiste :

1. à faciliter la transmission d’émissions accompagnées de vidéodescription;

2. à fournir aux téléspectateurs un ou plusieurs moyens d’accéder à la vidéodescription intégrée;

3. à régler toute perte de son associée à la vidéodescription;  

4. à faire en sorte que l'information sur la vidéodescription soit disponible dans les horaires d'émissions imprimés et en ligne, et dans les guides de programmation électronique.

Le Conseil est particulièrement satisfait des mesures proposées par le GT-VD à l'égard du quatrième élément du mandat. La fourniture de renseignements exacts en ligne, par téléphone, et dans les guides de programmation électronique, concernant la disponibilité de vidéodescription permettront aux personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes de planifier leur visionnement d’émissions avec vidéodescription. En plus d'autres mesures de promotion, l'engagement à produire et à diffuser des messages d’intérêt public permettra d'accroître de façon importante la sensibilisation générale à l’égard de la vidéodescription. Le Conseil invite toutes les titulaires à diffuser ces messages aux heures de grande écoute afin de garantir la portée maximale des messages d’intérêt public.

Le Conseil est également convaincu que les initiatives et les engagements du GT-VD dans le but de faciliter la transmission d’émissions accompagnées de vidéodescription et de régler tout problème associé à la perte de signal sonore se traduiront par la fourniture uniforme de vidéodescription aux Canadiens. Afin de faciliter la réalisation de ces éléments du mandat du GT-VD, le Conseil maintiendra, sur son site Internet, une liste des services de programmation qui offrent la vidéodescription, telle que fournie par le GT-VD, ainsi que les mises à jour successives.

Cependant, le Conseil est d'avis que le GT-VD n’a pas, dans toute la mesure du possible, soupesé toutes les possibilités pour fournir aux téléspectateurs un ou plusieurs moyens simples d'accéder à la vidéodescription intégrée et qu’il a mis de l’avant une vision et un cadre d’une portée trop restreinte à cet égard. Le Conseil reconnait la nécessité de préciser les activités et les engagements à court et à long terme et il fait remarquer que la mise en place d’une fonctionnalité de « préréglage absolu »[1] a été indiquée comme un objectif à long terme. Toutefois, comme indiqué dans le rapport, certaines entreprises de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) canadiennes offrent actuellement une telle option. Le Conseil note également qu’une entreprise de distribution de radiodiffusion (EDR) canadienne[2] a démontré la possibilité d’utiliser une télécommande personnalisée, soit une solution d’une entreprise établie au Canada, permettant d’accéder à la vidéodescription au moyen d’un seul bouton, et il estime que d’autres EDR pourraient adopter une approche similaire. Étant donné que la technologie nécessaire semble disponible, le Conseil s'attend à ce que le GT-VD cherche et étudie activement, à court terme, des solutions permettant d’accéder à la vidéodescription au moyen d’un seul bouton et des fonctionnalités de « préréglage absolu »; de plus, le GT‑VD et l'industrie devraient être en mesure de faire rapport, à court terme, sur les progrès à cet égard.

Compte tenu des travaux qu’il reste à effectuer avant que certaines EDR puissent offrir aux Canadiens un moyen simple d'accéder à la vidéodescription, le Conseil estime que la sensibilisation accrue des consommateurs quant aux options disponibles pour accéder à vidéodescription fera en sorte que les personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes pourront avoir accès à la vidéodescription de manière plus efficace. À cette fin, le Conseil demande au GT-VD de déposer les renseignements suivants :

Le Conseil demande en outre que le GT-VD rendre cette information accessible dans un format facilement consultable, sous forme de tableaux, sur un site web central accessible aux personnes aveugles ou malvoyantes, et que cette information soit mise à jour et reflète au fur et à mesure les améliorations en matière d’accès à la vidéodescription. Le Conseil s'attend à ce qu’un tel site soit créé et lancé en janvier 2012.

Le Conseil appuie la recommandation selon laquelle le mandat du GT-VD devrait être prolongé, garantissant ainsi la poursuite des progrès réalisés à ce jour. 

Le Conseil demande au GT-VD de faire rapport sur ses progrès en répondant aux observations et aux préoccupations détaillées soulevées dans la présente lettre, ainsi que sur les autres projets décrits dans le rapport, d’ici le 31 mai 2012. De plus, le Conseil demande au GT-VD de déposer, d’ici le 31 janvier 2012, un rapport d’étape provisoire sur ses réalisations liées aux projets dont la date d’achèvement prévue était le 30 novembre 2011, de même que sur le site Web central susmentionné.

Une fois de plus, le Conseil félicite le GT-VD pour ses réalisations à ce jour et a hâte d’entendre parler des prochaines activités du Groupe de travail et de ses réalisations connexes.

Veuillez agréer, Madame, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.

Le Secrétaire général,

ORIGINALE SIGNÉE PAR Christianne Laizner au nom de

John Traversy

[1] La fonctionnalité de « préréglage absolu » conserve en mémoire la préférence de l'utilisateur en matière de vidéodescription et rend celle-ci automatiquement disponible pour toute émission avec vidéodescription.

[2] Lors de l'instance ayant mené à la Politique réglementaire de radiodiffusion et de télécom CRTC 2009‑430 intitulée Accessibilité des services de télécommunication et de radiodiffusion, Rogers Communications Inc. a présenté une solution de télécommande personnalisée qui permet d’accéder à la vidéodescription au moyen d’un seul bouton.

Date de modification :