Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2010-341

PDF Version

Ottawa, 4 June 2010

Revised guidelines for the application of the Common Ownership Policy for Radio

In this information bulletin, the Commission sets out guidelines for the application of the Common Ownership Policy for Radio (the Policy) related to:

Introduction

1. As its first objective, the Common Ownership Policy for Radio (the Policy) ensures a plurality of ownership within the private commercial element of radio broadcasting, and that Canadians thus have access to a variety of editorial voices within the radio component of the broadcasting system.

2. A secondary objective of the Policy is to maintain a balance of competition between radio broadcasters in any particular market.

3. Over the past four years, the Commission has dealt with several applications for new stations and changes of ownership that have breached the Policy. Following the Commission’s practice, applicants were therefore requested to justify exceptions to the Policy, even in cases where the diversity of voices and the balance of competition in a market might not have been significantly affected. Most of the applications for exceptions were denied.

4. The Commission will continue to ensure that applications that invoke the Policy and in actual fact affect the diversity of voices and the balance of competition among broadcasters in Canadian markets are provided careful consideration. However, others that invoke the Policy but have negligible consequences will be dealt with according to the guidelines set out in this Information Bulletin. The guidelines will help distinguish between these two types of applications, all the while maintaining the objectives of the Policy, and will provide more clarity and predictability for the broadcasting system.

Background

5. The Policy states that, in markets with fewer than eight commercial stations operating in a particular language, a person[1] may be permitted to own or control as many as three stations operating in that language, with a maximum of two stations in any one frequency band. In markets with eight commercial stations or more operating in a particular language, a person may be permitted to own or control as many as two AM and two FM stations in that language. The Radio Regulations, 1986 define “market” as follows:

  1. in the case of an AM station, the AM daytime 15 mV/m contour or the central area as defined by the Bureau of Broadcast Measurement (BBM), whichever is smaller,
  2. in the case of an FM station, the FM 3 mV/m contour or the central area as defined by the Bureau of Broadcast Measurement (BBM), whichever is smaller.

6. Rare exceptions to the Policy have been granted where, due to adverse economic circumstances, the survival of radio stations has been in serious doubt. The Commission has also stated that exceptions may be permitted to address severe technical limitations.

7. Currently, the Policy is invoked whenever a broadcaster seeks to add a station in a market where its ownership of stations is already at one of the limits described above. Applications to amend licences that envisage increases in the coverage areas of existing stations may also invoke the Policy. It is also invoked whenever there is overlap between the contours of a proposed station in a given market and the area covered by an adjacent market where the applicant already operates two stations on the same band. This applies to any case of overlap, even if approval of an application entailing a minor overlap would not significantly affect the diversity of voices and the balance of competition in a market. It has been the Commission’s practice to deny such applications where the justifications for exceptions are not based on serious economic or technical circumstances.

8. In light of an analysis of recent cases where the Policy has been applied, the Commission has determined that, based on the population contained within an overlap:

Between these two points, the Commission considers that certain factors would need to be examined in order to determine whether or not the diversity of voices or the balance of competition would be affected.

9. The AM and FM signals from most commercial stations are receivable for many kilometres beyond their 15 mV/m or 3 mV/m contours, respectively, where reception conditions are favourable. In many cases very significant populations reside in these areas.[2] This characteristic of radio broadcasting has been an important consideration in the development of these guidelines.

10. In setting out its guidelines for the application of the Policy below, the Commission discusses the following:

Determining the number of commonly owned stations within a market

11. In areas where communities and radio markets are close together, the contours of stations licensed to serve those communities frequently overlap into adjacent markets. In cases where a licensee owns a station or stations in the adjacent market and applies for an additional radio service whose coverage would include portions of that market, a determination is needed as to the number of stations currently operated by that person in a particular language in both markets.

That station will be included in assessing how many of that owner’s stations operate in a particular language in that market unless the answers to both of the above questions are negative.

Determining whether approval of an application must be justified by economic or technical reasons

12. Applications that raise concerns in regard to the Policy will be examined to determine the extent to which the 15 mV/m or 3 mV/m contour of the proposed station enters a market where the applicant owns stations operating in a particular language.

Only where the answers to these questions are negative will the application generally be approved, and a justification based on serious economic or technical circumstances will not be required.

13. A third factor could become relevant in large markets, where the concern about diversity of voices might be mitigated because a substantial number of radio station owners serve the market.

Vacant frequencies

14. The Commission will continue to assess whether approval of an application would result in a situation where there would no longer be a vacant frequency for use by a new player in the future. Such a circumstance would generally give rise to a call for applications.

Secretary General

Footnotes


^ As set out in the Radio Regulations, 1986, a person “includes an individual, partnership, a joint venture, an association, a corporation, a trust, an estate, a trustee, an executor and an administrator, or a legal representative of any of them.”

^ The Commission uses MapInfo and PCensus software to calculate the populations within contours and overlapping areas.

Date modified:

Bulletin d’information de radiodiffusion CRTC 2010-341

Version PDF

Ottawa, le 4 juin 2010

Nouvelles lignes directrices relatives à l’application de la politique sur la propriété commune en radio

Dans le présent bulletin d’information, le Conseil énonce des lignes directrices pour la mise en œuvre de la politique sur la propriété commune en radio (la politique) lorsque vient le temps de :

Introduction

1. Le premier objectif de la politique sur la propriété commune en radio (la politique) est de garantir la pluralité de la propriété dans le secteur de la radiodiffusion commerciale privée, et d’ainsi faire en sorte que les Canadiens ont accès à une variété de voix éditoriales au sein de l’élément radio du système de radiodiffusion.

2. Un des objectifs secondaires de la politique est de garantir l’équilibre de la concurrence entre les radiodiffuseurs dans chaque marché.

3. Au cours des quatre dernières années, le Conseil a traité bon nombre de demandes visant à exploiter une nouvelle station et des changements de contrôle effectif ayant enfreint la politique. Les requérantes devaient alors justifier l’exception à la politique, même lorsque l’incidence sur la diversité des voix et l’équilibre de la concurrence n’était pas importante. La majorité de ces demandes ont été refusées.

4. Le Conseil continuera à s’assurer que les demandes fondées sur la politique et qui ont une incidence réelle sur la diversité des voix et l’équilibre de la concurrence entre radiodiffuseurs sont étudiées avec attention. Par ailleurs, les demandes basées sur la politique, mais dont l’incidence sera moindre seront traitées en vertu des lignes directrices énoncées dans le présent bulletin d’information. Les lignes directrices aideront à faire la distinction entre les deux types de demandes, tout en maintenant le cap sur les objectifs de la politique et en faisant preuve de plus de clarté et de prévisibilité pour le système de radiodiffusion.

Historique

5. En vertu de la politique, dans un marché qui compte moins de huit stations de radio commerciale diffusant dans la même langue, une personne[1] peut être autorisée à posséder ou contrôler jusqu’à trois stations exploitées dans cette langue, dont un maximum de deux dans la même bande de fréquences. Dans un marché qui compte huit stations de radio commerciale ou plus diffusant dans la même langue, une personne peut être autorisée à posséder ou contrôler jusqu’à deux stations exploitées dans cette langue, dont deux sur la bande FM et deux autres sur la bande AM. Le Règlement de 1986 sur la radio définit un « marché » comme suit :

  1. dans le cas d’une station AM, son périmètre de rayonnement de jour de 15 mV/m ou la zone centrale au sens des Sondages BBM, selon la plus petite de ces étendues;
  2. dans le cas d’une station FM, son périmètre de rayonnement de 3 mV/m ou la zone centrale au sens des Sondages BBM, selon la plus petite de ces étendues.

6. Il y a eu de rares exceptions à cette politique quand une conjoncture économique défavorable pouvait menacer la survie de stations de radio. Le Conseil s’est aussi dit ouvert à autoriser des exceptions dans des cas de difficultés techniques majeures.

7. À l’heure actuelle, la politique intervient lorsqu’un radiodiffuseur cherche à ajouter une station dans un marché où il possède déjà un nombre de station correspondant à une des limites énoncées ci-dessus. Les demandes de modification de licence qui visent à agrandir la zone de desserte de stations existantes risquent aussi d’invoquer la politique. Elle est également invoquée lorsque le périmètre d’une station proposée dans un marché donné chevauche la zone de desserte d’un marché adjacent où la requérante exploite déjà deux stations dans la même bande de fréquences. La politique prévaut dans tous les cas de chevauchement, même si l’approbation d’une demande impliquant un chevauchement mineur ne menace pas véritablement la diversité des voix ou l’équilibre de la concurrence dans ce marché. Le Conseil a l’habitude de refuser les demandes de ce genre lorsque des circonstances économiques ou techniques sérieuses ne justifient pas une exception.

8. À la lumière de l’analyse de récents cas d’application de la politique, le Conseil conclut que si l’on considère la population touchée par le chevauchement :

Entre ces deux points de repère, le Conseil estime qu’il faudrait tenir compte de certains facteurs afin de décider si la diversité des voix ou l’équilibre de la concurrence sont menacés.

9. Pour la plupart des stations commerciales AM et FM, quand les conditions sont favorables, le signal peut être capté à de nombreux kilomètres au-delà de leur périmètre de rayonnement de 15 mV/m ou de 3 mV/m respectivement. Dans bien des cas, les populations concernées sont importantes[2]. Cette caractéristique de la radiodiffusion a joué un rôle majeur dans l’élaboration des présentes lignes directrices.

10. Au cours du processus d’établissement des lignes directrices ci-dessous pour l’application de la politique, le Conseil traite de deux aspects :

Comment déterminer le nombre de stations en propriété commune dans un marché

11. Dans les régions où les marchés radiophoniques et leurs auditoires sont très proches les uns des autres, le périmètre des stations autorisées à desservir ces communautés déborde fréquemment sur le marché adjacent. Dans les cas où une titulaire détient une ou plusieurs stations dans le marché adjacent et présente une demande pour un service de radio additionnel dont la couverture comprendrait des parties de ce marché, il faut s’entendre sur le nombre de stations de la même langue qu’exploite cette personne dans ces deux marchés.

À moins d’une réponse négative à ces deux questions, la station sera incluse dans le calcul des stations de même langue qu’exploite une personne dans ce marché.

Comment déterminer si l’approbation d’une demande doit se justifier pour des raisons économiques ou techniques

12. Toute demande qui soulève des questions à l’égard de la politique sera examinée pour déterminer dans quelle mesure le périmètre de 15 mV/m ou de 3 mV/m de la station proposée déborde sur un marché où la requérante possède des stations exploitées dans une langue en particulier.

Il faudra une réponse négative aux deux questions pour que la demande soit approuvée sans avoir à justifier une exception pour des raisons économiques ou techniques.

13. Un troisième élément pourrait s’avérer pertinent dans les marchés plus importants, où la diversité des voix éditoriales ne constitue pas un problème majeur en raison du nombre de propriétaires de stations de radio dans le marché.

Fréquences disponibles

14. Le Conseil continuera d’évaluer si l’approbation d’une demande fera en sorte qu’il n’y aura plus de fréquences disponibles pour des nouveaux venus. Si c’est le cas, il lancera généralement un appel de demandes.

Secrétaire général

Notes de bas de page


[1] Selon la définition du Règlement de 1986 sur la radio, une personne est « un particulier, une société de personnes, une coentreprise, une association, une personne morale, une succession, une fiducie, un fiduciaire, un exécuteur testamentaire ou un administrateur, ou le mandataire de l’un d’eux ».

[2] Pour chiffrer la population à l’intérieur d’un périmètre et dans des zones de chevauchement, le Conseil se sert de MapInfo et du logiciel PCensus.

Date de modification :