Telecom - Commission Letter adressed to Various Parties

Ottawa, 31 March 2021

Our reference: 1011-NOC2021-0124 and 1011-NOC2021-0069


Elliott Richman
Executive Director
Deafness Advocacy Association of Nova Scotia

Myles Murphy
Executive Director
Newfoundland and Labrador Association of the Deaf

Donald Prong
Executive Director
Ontario Association of the Deaf

RE: Request to Extend Deadline for DHH Coalition to File Reply Comments in TBNC 2021-69: Call for comments – The Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Accessibility Reporting Regulations

Dear Sirs,

The Commission is in receipt of your letter, dated 29 March 2021, on behalf of Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia (DAANS), Newfoundland and Labrador Association of the Deaf (NLAD) and Ontario Association of the Deaf (OAD), (collectively, DHH Coalition) requesting an extension to file DHH Coalition’s reply comments in this proceeding. Specifically, DHH Coalition requested that the Commission extend the deadline for its reply comments from 1 April 2021 to 6 April 2021. In support of its request, DHH Coalition explained that it requires more time to review interventions that were not submitted in American Sign Language and because DHH Coalition staff are very busy with fiscal year end.

Commission staff acknowledge the rationale provided and encourage DHH Coalition to file its reply comments as soon as feasible. The Commission will consider this request for an extension of time as part of its evaluation of the public record of this proceeding.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Yours sincerely,

original signed by

Courtney Fitzpatrick
Legal Counsel

c.c. Nanao Kachi
Adam Balkovec
Noémie Lebel
Distribution list for CRTC TBNC 2021-69

Date modified: