Telecom - Commission letter addressed to Various parties

Ottawa, 31 August 2020

Our reference: 1011-NOC2020-0081


Megan McHugh
Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind (CNSDB)

Michael J. Stewart
Deaf-Blind Data Analyst
Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee (DWCC-CSSSC)

Elliott Richman
Executive Director
Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia (DAANS)

RE: Call for comments – Provision of paper bills by communications service providers CRTC 2020-81 – Request for extension to file costs applications

Dear Ms. McHugh, Mr. Stewart, and Mr. Richman,

In two separate procedural letters dated 24 August 2020, the Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind (CNSDB) and the Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia (DAANS) requested an extension to the timeline set out in section 65 of the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (Rules of Procedure) relating to the filing of applications for final costs. CNSDB and DAANS, respectively, requested that their costs recovery application deadlines be extended to 31 August 2020.

CNSDB indicated that they faced hardship in meeting the cost application deadline. CNSDB also noted that they required DWCC to assist with filing their forms due to visual barriers. Accordingly, CNSDB and DWCC mutually agreed to the additional time requested.

DAANS explained that an error in their calendaring system led to a mistake in calculating the cost application deadline, and due to a heavy workload they required more time to file their cost application.

Commission staff is satisfied that CNSDB and DAANS have experienced challenges in meeting the cost application deadline. As well, the additional time requested is reasonable and unlikely to prejudice interested parties. Therefore, Commission staff is of the view that it would be fair or otherwise in the public interest to extend the deadline to 31 August 2020 for CNSDB and DAANS to file their cost application.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

Feyisayo Oni
Legal Counsel

cc: Julia Kelen, Legal Counsel, CRTC,

cc: Distribution List

Canadian Association for the Deaf (CAD-ASC) -;
Manitoba Coalition -
Deaf Wireless Canada Committee -;;
Union des Consommateurs -
Deafness Advocacy Association Nova Scotia (DAANS) -
Bragg Communications Inc. -
Xplornet Communications Inc. -
TELUS Communications Inc. -
TekSavvy Solutions Inc. -
Shaw Communications Inc. -
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) -
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers) -
Québecor Média inc.  -
Bell Canada -

Date modified: