Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Distribution List

Ottawa, 22 November 2019

Our reference: 8662-T66-201911496

BY EMAIL

Distribution list

RE:   Application to Review and Vary Telecom Order CRTC 2019-288 and Telecom Order CRTC 2019-288-1 – Final rates for aggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) service – Process Schedule Suspended

Dear Madams/Sirs:

On 13 November 2019, the Commission received an application from TELUS Communications Inc. (Telus), to review and vary Follow-up to Telecom Order 2016-396 and 2016-448 – Final rates for aggregated wholesale high-speed access services Telecom Order CRTC 2019-288, dated 15 August 2019, as amended by Telecom Order CRTC 2019-288-1, dated 22 August 2019, (collectively, Telecom Order 2019-288).

Following requests by various parties to extend the deadline to file a review and vary application on Telecom Order 2019-288, the Commission in Telecom Commission LetterFootnote1, dated 12 November 2019, determined that a 30 day extension for the filing of potential review and vary applications on Telecom Order 2019-288 was reasonable, as it would result in minimal prejudice to public interest, and determined that the date to file an application is revised to 13 December 2019.

Pursuant to section 26 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (SOR/2010-277), any interested person may intervene in a proceeding in writing within 30 days after the day on which the application is posted on the Commission’s website or, if a notice of consultation is posted by the Commission on its website, within the time period set out in the notice.

Staff notes that potential applications to review and vary Telecom Order 2019-288, expected to be filed by 13 December 2019, would likely include areas of concern that pertain to multiple wholesale HSA service providers. This could result in conflicting process schedules due to differing deadlines and also duplication of records filed across many applications.

Commission staff considers that it would be more efficient, and allow for a more fulsome discussion on these areas by all interested parties, if the process schedules were consistent for all applications to review and vary Telecom Order 2019-288.
Accordingly, the process schedule for Telus’ application is suspended. A letter outlining a modified process with revised deadlines will follow in due course.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.:  Matthew Alexander, CRTC matthew.alexander@crtc.gc.ca
William Lloyd, CRTC william.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca


Distribution List

Lyne Renaud: lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca;
Matthew Alexander:  matthew.alexander@crtc.gc.ca;
William Lloyd: william.lloyd@crtc.gc.ca
Bell Canada:  bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc.: regulatory@mts.ca;
Zayo Canada Inc.: regulatory@zayo.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications Company: regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.: barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Nathan Jarret: nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.: regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique: jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc.: george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan: steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry: metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze: marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek: regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law: ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca;
BC Broadband Association (BCBA) regulatory@bcba.ca
Public Interest Advocacy Centre, piac@piac.ca

Date modified: