ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Various Parties Interested

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 4 June 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0422


Frank Folino, President
Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada

Lisa Anderson, Chair
Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee

Megan McHugh, President
Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind

Elliott Richman, Executive Director
Deafness Advocacy Association of Nova Scotia

Re: Proceeding to establish a mandatory code for Internet Services, Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2018-422 – Request for extension to file costs applications

Dear Mr. Folino, Ms. Anderson, Ms. McHugh, and Mr. Richman,

By procedural letter dated 23 May 2019, the Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada (CAD-ASC), Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee (DWCC), Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind (CNSDB), and Deafness Advocacy Association of Nova Scotia (DAANS) requested an extension to the timeline set out in section 65 of the Canadian Radio-Television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (Rules of Procedure)relating to the filing of applications for final costs. Specifically, CAD-ASC, DWCC, and DAANS requested that their costs recovery application deadlines be extended to 17 June 2019 and CNSDB requested an extension of their deadline to 20 June 2019.

In their joint procedural letter, the four groups commented that they are preoccupied with day-to-day activities and matters related to the passing of Bill C-81 (known as the Accessible Canada Act). Consequently, they are unable to complete their cost recovery applications within the time prescribed by the Rules of Procedure.

Specifically and with regard to each individual group, the DWCC noted that its members will be travelling during early June and will complete the organization’s application upon their return. CNSDB noted that its members have been off-site and require time to recover before turning to their costs application. CNSDB further noted that it requires DWCC to assist with filing CNSDB’s costs application forms due to visual barriers. Concerning the assistance DWCC will be providing to CNSDB, DWCC noted that it is taking great care to ensure that its work is separated from that of CNSDB’s to properly account for CNSDB’s costs. CAD-ASC noted that it requires more time to file its application as the organization has not been able to secure a notary’s signature. Finally, because DAANS participation in the proceeding was undertaken jointly with the other three groups, their own application will also be delayed to ensure accuracy.

Having regard for the above, Commission staff are of the view that the request is reasonable. Therefore, CAD-ASC, DWCC, and DAANS costs application deadline is extended to 17 June 2019 and CNSDB’s costs application deadline is extended to 20 June 2019.

A copy of this procedural letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.


Original signed by

Jean-Sébastien Gagnon
Legal Counsel


Scott Hutton –
Nanao Kachi –

Distribution List

Bell Canada –
Bragg Communications Inc., carrying on business as “Eastlink” –
Canadian Communication Systems Alliance –
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. –
Canwisp –; 
Cogeco Communications Inc. –
Commission for Complaints for Telecom-television Services –;;;
Competition Bureau of Canada –; 
Conseil provincial du secteur des communications (CPSC) du Syndicat canadien de la fonction publique –;
Distributel Communications Limited –
Government of Yukon –
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association –
Ministère de la Culture et des Communications et l'Office de la protection du Consommateur
du Québec –
Primus Management ULC –
Québecor Média Inc. –;
Réseau FADOQ –;  
Rogers Communications Inc. –;;  
Rothschild & Co. –
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) –
Shaw Communications Inc. –
TekSavvy Solutions Inc. –;
TELUS Communications Inc. –;; 
Union des consommateurs –;  
Xplornet Communications Inc. –;

Date modified: