ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission Letter addressed to the Distribution list

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 14 February 2019

Our reference: 1011-NOC2018-0214 1011-NOC2010-0214


Distribution list

Re: Review of the price cap and local forbearance regimes, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2018-214 Footnote1 – Requests for extension

On 8 February 2019, Commission staff issued supplemental requests for information to the large incumbent local exchange carriers and Northwestel Inc. (Northwestel) requesting that the parties file responses by 15 February 2019 in order to complete the record of the proceeding prior to the filing date for final submissions, which is 22 February.

On 12 February 2019, the Commission received a letter from Northwestel requesting that the Commission extend the filing date for the responses to these requests for information to 22 February for itself and all other parties who also received such requests. Northwestel requested the extensions in order to ensure it would have sufficient time to provide comprehensive answers to the questions. Bell Canada supported Northwestel’s request.

Commission staff is of the view that allowing the extension will ensure sufficient time to provide comprehensive submissions on the record and that, in the circumstances, Northwestel’s request is reasonable. Responses to these requests for information are to be filed with the Commission by 22 February 2019. The responses must be received, not merely sent, by that date.


Original signed by

John Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Christine Brock, CRTC, (873) 353-5852,

attach (1)

Distribution list
9315-1884 Québec inc.,;
Amtelecom Limited Partnership,;
Bell Canada,;
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd.,;
Bruce Telecom,;
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.,;
CityWest Telephone Corporation,;
Cochrane Telecom Services of the Town of Cochrane,;
Cogeco Communications Inc.,;
CoopTel, coop de télécommunication,;
DMTS, a division of Bell Canada,;
Execulink Telecom Inc.,;
Eeyou Communications Network,,
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited,;
Government of the Northwest Territories,;
Government of Yukon,;
Groupe Maskatel LP,;
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited,;
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited,;
Independent Telephone Providers Association,;
John Roman,;
KMTS, a division of Bell Canada,;
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd.,;
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited,
Nexicom Inc.,
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd.,
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade,;
NorthernTel, Limited Partnership,;
Northwestel Inc.,;
Northwest Territories Chamber of Commerce,
Ontera, a division of NorthernTel, Limited Partnership,;
People's Tel Limited Partnership,;
Public Interest Advocacy Centre,;
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.,;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.;
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited,;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications,;
Shaw Communications Inc.,;
Sogetel inc.,;
SSi Micro Ltd.,;
Télébec, Limited Partnership,;
TELUS Communications Inc.,;
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited,;
Wightman Telecom Ltd.,;
WTC Communications,
Yukon Chamber of Commerce,

Date modified: