ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Stan Thompson (Northwestel)

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 9 November 2018

Our reference:  8662-N1-201806142


Mr. Stan Thompson
Senior Manager, Regulatory Compliance
P.O. Box 2727
Whitehorse, Yukon Y1A 4Y4

Re: Part 1 Application requesting that the Commission review and vary Telecom Decision CRTC 2018-241, CISC Network Working Group – Non-consensus report on quality of service metrics to define high-quality fixed broadband Internet access service

Dear Sir:

In a Commission staff letter dated 12 September 2018, the above application was suspended pending the release of the Commission’s decision in the proceeding initiated by Notice of Consultation 2017-112.
On 27 September 2018, Telecom Regulatory Policy 2018-377, Development of the Commission’s Broadband Fund, was released. This regulatory policy addressed matters related to the Broadband Fund, including its governance, operating and accountability frameworks, as well as eligibility and assessment criteria for proposed projects.

In light of the release of Telecom Regulatory Policy 2018-377 and the determinations addressing eligibility for broadband projects, CRTC staff requests that Northwestel review its application and file an amended application, if appropriate, copying all other parties in the attached distribution list.

In light of the above:


Original signed by

Ian Baggley,
Director General, Planning, Broadband Fund & Networks
Telecommunications Sector
cc:  Distribution List

Distribution List;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; Hyman Glustein <>;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;;; Roxanne Robinson <>; Cédric Melançon <>;;; Carreen Unguran <>; Richard Schreier <>;; Jacques Latour <>;; Christian Awad <>; Martin Perreault ING <>; Ramdane Krikeb <>; Sylvain Archambault <>; Sylvain Marsan <>; Manik, Jessie <>; Rishi Bahall <>; Steven Barry <>; Nathan Jarrett <>;;;;;;  

Date modified: