ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Shaw Cablesystems GP and Independent Telecommunications Providers Association

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 15 October 2018

Our reference: 8662-J92-201808015

By email

Mr. Paul Cowling
Senior Vice President, Legal & Regulatory Affairs
Shaw Cablesystems GP

Mr. Jonathan L. Holmes
Executive Director
Independent Telecommunications Providers Association

RE:  Part 1 Application by the Independent Telecommunications Providers Association to review and vary Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2018-213Footnote 1 – Requests for extensions

Dear Sirs,

On 24 September 2018, the Independent Telecommunications Providers Association (ITPA) submitted a Part 1 applicationFootnote 2 to review and vary certain aspects of Telecom Regulatory Policy CRTC 2018-213.

On 1 October 2018, the Commission received a letter from Shaw Communications Inc. (Shaw) requesting an extension to the deadline for interested parties to file interventions on the ITPA’s application to 23 November 2018 and the deadline for reply comments by the IPTA to be accordingly extended to 3 December 2018. Shaw submitted that its participation in numerous Commission proceedings during the month of October has placed a strain on the company’s regulatory resources making it impossible for Shaw to comment on the ITPA’s application within the established timelines.

On 4 October 2018, the Commission received a letter from the ITPA where the association submitted that it had no objection to Shaw’s extension request. However, it submitted that since parties intending to file interventions on the association’s application would have additional time to formulate their interventions, it would be appropriate for the ITPA to be given until 14 December 2018 to file reply comments.

In the circumstances, Commission staff considers that Shaw’s requested extension to the deadlines to file intervention and reply comments is reasonable as it would give parties sufficient time to provide more fulsome submissions on the record and would not prejudice any parties to the proceeding. However, Commission staff considers that it is premature, at this time, to grant the ITPA’s request for additional time to file reply comments.

Accordingly, any interested party may file an intervention on the ITPA’s application by 23 November 2018. The ITPA may file reply comments by 3 December 2018.

Original signed by

John Macri
Director, Policy Framework
Telecommunications Sector

c.c:      Curtis Eagan, CRTC, (819) 953-4947,
Danny Moreau, CRTC, (819) 953-5672,
Parties to Notice of Consultation CRTC 2017-92 (see Distribution List attached)

Distribution List

9315-1884 Québec, ;
Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties, ;
Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance, ;
Bell Canada, ;
Blue Sky Economic Growth Corp (Blue Sky Net), ;
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink), ;
British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA), ;
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd., ;
Bruce Telecom, ;
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc., ;
Canadian Telecommunications Contribution Consortium Inc., ; CANWISP, ;
CityWest Telephone Corporation, ;
Cochrane Telecom Services of the Town of Cochrane, ;
Cogeco Communications Inc., ;
Columbia Basin Broadband Corporation (CBBC), ;
CoopTel, coop de télécommunication, ;
Corridor Communications Inc. (CCI), ;
County of Warner (AB),
Cree Nation Government and Eeyou Communications Network,
Cybera, ;
Déry Télécom inc., ;
Chris Edwards, ;
Eeyou Communications Network, ;
Execulink Telecom Inc., ;
Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec (FCCQ), ;
Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), ;
Fédération québécoise des municipalités, ;
David Fell, ;
First Mile Connectivity Consortium, ;
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited, ;
Groupe Maskatel LP, ;
Rick Hodgkinson, ;
Government of Newfoundland and Labrador, ;
Government of the Northwest Territories, ;
Government of Yukon, ;
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited, ;
Ted Hickey, ;
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited, ;
Inuvialuit Regional Corporation, ;
Kativik Regional Government (KRG), ;
Lori Kimball, ;
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd., ;
Lemalu Holdings Ltd. O/A MCSNet, ;
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited, ;
Ministère de l'Économie de la Science et de l'Innovation/ Ministère de la Culture et des Communications, ;
Ministry of Technology, Innovation and Citizens of Province of British Columbia, ;
MRC de Mékinac, ;
MRC de Témiscouata, ;
National Pensioners Federation & Public Interest Advocacy Centre (NPF-PIAC), ; Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc., ; Nexicom Telephones, a Division of Nexicom Inc., ;
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd, ;
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade, ;
NorthernTel Limited Partnership, ;
Northwestel Inc., ;
Nunavut Economic Forum Coalition, ;
Nunavut Library Association, ;
NWT Association of Communities,
One Nation Networks, a Division of WiBand Communications Corp., ;
Ontario Ministry of Infrastructure on behalf of various parties, ; O.N.Tel Inc., ;
OpenMedia, ;
Powell River Regional District,
Prince Township (ON), ;
Province of Nova Scotia, Department of Business, ;
Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC), ;
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc., ;
Québecor Média, ;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc., ;
Barry Rooke, ;
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited, ;
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM), ;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel), ;
School of Library and Information Studies, University of Alberta, ; Service Alberta,
Sogetel inc., ;
Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology Inc. (SWIFT), ;
SSi Micro Ltd., ;
Strathcona County, ;
Tbaytel, ;
TCPub Media Inc., ;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc., ;
Télébec, société en commandite, ;
Telesat Canada, ;
TELUS Communications Company, ;
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited, ;
Union des consommateurs, ;
Ville de Rimouski (district Sainte-Blandine/Mont-Lebel), ; West Parry Sound SMART Community Inc., ;
Wightman Telecom Ltd., ;
WireIE, ;
WTC Communications, ;
Xplornet Communications Inc.,

Date modified: