Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Céline Laporte (Groupe Maskatel LP)

Ottawa, 4 October 2018

Our reference: 8663-M22-201805714

By email

Ms. Céline Laporte
Vice-President, Strategies, Marketing and Sales
Groupe Maskatel LP
770 Casavant Boulevard West
Saint Hyacinthe, Quebec  J2S 7S3

Subject: Implementation of local competition in the St. Éphrem and St. Victor exchanges

Dear Ms. Laporte:

On August 3, 2018, the Commission received a letter from Groupe Maskatel LP (Maskatel) in which it advised the Commission that it had received a request from TELUS Communications Inc. (TELUS) to the effect that it planned to enter into competition in the St. Éphrem and St. Victor (QC) exchanges. It also indicated that it was unable to submit a local competition implementation plan within 30 days of the TELUS request, as specified in Telecom Decision 2006-14, due to limited resources and technical issues it is facing in both exchanges in question. It indicated that it would be able to do so by the end of October 2018.  

On September 6, 2018, the Commission received comments from Cogeco Connexion Inc. (Cogeco) opposing the filing of the implementation plan in October 2018.Footnote1 Cogeco pointed out that Maskatel had been purchased by Bell Canada in January 2018, and that it had access to all the resources required to submit an implementation plan within the required timeframe.

In its September 13, 2018 reply, Maskatel explained that the current technologies in the St. Éphrem and St. Victor exchanges are obsolete and require the expertise of its suppliers, which causes delays.

Under the circumstances, Maskatel’s request was accepted. Consequently, the Commission’s staff establishes the following timeframe for the revised process:

A copy of this letter and any related correspondence will be accessible to the public on the Commission’s website.


Original signed by

Michel Murray
Director, Dispute Resolution and Regulatory Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

cc:       Danuba Musgrave, CRTC,
Simon Desrochers, Cogeco Inc.,
Stephen Schmidt, Telus,
Nathalie Dorval, Cogeco Inc.,
Leonard D. Eichel, Cogeco Communications Inc.,

Date modified: