Telecom Commission Letter Addressed to the Distribution list

Ottawa, 8 June 2018

Our reference: 8740-B2-201606873, 8740-B2-201703447, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 8740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-201610262


BY EMAIL

Distribution list

Re: Follow-up to Telecom Order CRTC 2016-396 and Telecom Order CRTC 2016-448 – Rogers requests regarding a revised interim CBB rate

Dear Madams/Sirs:

The Commission is in receipt of correspondence from Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (Rogers), dated 18 May 2018, submitted in response to requests for information associated with aggregated wholesale high-speed access (HSA) service, dated 2 March 2018. In its response, Rogers requests the Commission approve on interim basis the Capacity Based Billing (CBB) rate it was proposing as part of its response, effective immediately.

Rogers submitted that the existing interim CBB rate that has been in place for over a year represents ongoing and significant harm to the company and that the new rate provided in its response is compensatory and has been devised in accordance with Phase II methodology.

Commission staff is of the view that no evidence was provided to demonstrate that the existing interim CBB rate is causing the company undue harm. Furthermore, unless and until the new proposed CBB rate, and the costing information submitted in support of this rate are reviewed, there is no basis to assume that the proposed CBB rate is just and reasonable.

In view of the above and given that the process to establish final rates (i.e., CBB and access rates) for the relevant services is well under way and that final approved rates may be applied retroactively to the date at which rates for the concerned services were made interim, Commission staff considers that it would be inappropriate to make any changes to the approved interim rates.

In the circumstances, Commission staff considers that it is appropriate to maintain the existing interim CBB rate until the new proposed CBB rate, and the costing information submitted in support of this rate, are reviewed and finalized.

Please contact Abderrahman El Fatihi (Abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 953-3662 or myself (lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca) at (819) 953-5414 should you have any questions in regards to this letter.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services and Costing Implementation
Telecommunications Sector

c.c.: Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca

Distribution List

Lyne Renaud, CRTC, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca;
Bell Canada:  bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc.: regulatory@mts.ca;
Zayo Canada Inc.: regulatory@zayo.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications Company: regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.: barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Nathan Jarret: nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.: regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique: jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc.: george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan: steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry: metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze: marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek: regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law: ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca;

Date modified: