Broadcasting Information Bulletin CRTC 2018-161

PDF version

Ottawa, 11 May 2018

Guidelines for all licensees of broadcasting undertakings serving the province of Ontario – Provincial election

  1. On 9 May 2018, a provincial election was announced in Ontario. The election will occur on 7 June 2018.
  2. Any question pertaining to applicable provincial legislation should be referred to the Chief Electoral Officer of Ontario:

    Elections Ontario
    Attention: Chief Electoral Officer of Ontario, Greg Essensa
    51 Rolark Drive
    Toronto ON  M1R 3B

    Telephone:  1-888-668-8683
    Fax: 1-866-714-2809
    TTY: 1-888-292-2312
    Email address:

  1. Licensees of all radio and television stations, discretionary services and broadcasting distribution undertakings serving any part of Ontario should familiarize themselves with the Commission’s Guidelines for TV and radio broadcasters and TV service providers during an election.
  2. Extra copies of the guide are available from the Commission upon request.
  3. Any inquiry relating to broadcasts of partisan political character should be addressed to the Commission by letter, fax, by telephone confirmed by letter or fax or directly online at:

    Mailing address:
    Ottawa, Ontario
    K1A 0N2
    Fax: 819-994-021

    Ricardo Wicker: 819-639-4716
    Yael Wexler: 819-353-2404
    Secretary General

Date modified: