ARCHIVED - Telecom Commission letter addressed to Megan McHugh (Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind)

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 6 September 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116


Megan McHugh
President, Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind
405-422 Willowdale Avenue
North York, ON
Canada M2N 5B1

RE:  Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind’s application for costs awards with respect to its participation in Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116, Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9 1-1 in Canada - Request for information

Dear Ms. McHugh,

The Commission is in receipt of a costs application by the Canadian National Society of the Deaf-Blind (CNSDB) for costs filed in respect of the above-noted proceeding. The purpose of this letter is to request additional information from CNSDB regarding its application for costs.

Costs Claimed for Time Spent Completing the Costs Application

In its application, CNSDB claimed 10 hours for the assistance of the Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee (DWCC) in “completing, modifying, and creating accessible Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission forms” and providing support to CNSDB with respect to the costs application filed by CNSDB.

Accordingly, Commission staff requests that CNSDB (i) indicate whether CNSDB was billed for DWCC’s services in completing the costs application and if so, include supporting documentation in its response; and (ii) explain, of the 10 hours claimed, the breakdown of time spent by Ms. McHugh of CNDSB for completing the costs application, as well as the time spent by DWCC for its assistance in completing the costs application.

Filing Information with the Commission

The requested information is to be filed with the Commission by 18 September 2017.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel to contact me at 613-697-4027, or by email at


Original signed by

Megan Maloney
Legal Counsel
Legal Sector

cc:       Alexander Ly, CRTC (

Distribution list, parties to TNC 2016-116:
Lui Greco, CNIB,
Frank Folino, Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada,
Anthony Tibbs, Media Access Canada/Access 2020,
Lisa Anderson-Kellett, Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee,
Edward Antecol, WIND Mobile Corp.,
Simon-Pierre Olivier, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Simon-
Natalie MacDonald, Bragg Communications Inc, dba ‘’Eastlink’’,
Kurt Eby, Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association,
William Beckman, Saskatchewan Telecommunications,
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada,
Paul Cowling, Shaw Telecom G.P.,
Grainne M. Grande, MTS Inc.,
Dennis Béland, Québecor Média inc.,
Jeffrey Smith, TELUS Communications Company,
Diane Pelletier, NG9-1-1 Coalition of the Willing,
Roman Mateyko, Province of British Columbia,
Rick Philbin, Ontario Provincial Police,
Gary Malkowski, Canadian Hearing Society,
Daniel Therrien, Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada,
Serge Allen, Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec,
Tracy Finn, Toronto Police Service,
Alysia Lau, National Pensioners Federation, Council of Senior Citizens’ Organizations of B.C. & Public Interest Advocacy Centre,
Patrick Gloutney, Conseil provincial du secteur municipal du SCFP-Québec,
David Peaker, Zayo Canada Inc., formally known as Allstream Inc.,
Michael Webb, E-Comm 9-1-1,
Christopher Hickey, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.,
Chris Kearns, Alberta E911 Advisory Association,
Andrew Renfree, Alberta Emergency Management Agency,
Magni Magnason, The City of Calgary,
Eric Torunski, Canadian Interoperability Technology Interest Group (CITIG) et al,
Stephen Beckett, Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services for the Province of Ontario,

Date modified: