ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Cynthia Khoo (OpenMedia Engagement Network) and Stephen Schmidt (TELUS Communications Company)

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 24 August 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2017-0112


Cynthia Khoo
External Counsel
OpenMedia Engagement Network

Stephen Schmidt
Vice-President – Telecom Policy & Chief Regulatory Legal Counsel
Telecom Policy & Regulatory Affairs
TELUS Communications Company

Re: Development of the Commission’s broadband funding regime, Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-112Footnote1 - Supplementary Filing of OpenMedia Engagement Network

Dear Sir and Madam,

By letter dated 18 August 2017 and subsequent refiling dated 21 August 2017, OpenMedia Engagement Network (OpenMedia) requested to file supplementary comments in the context of the above-noted proceeding, in order to remedy a gap in its intervention dated 28 June 2017.

On 23 August 2017, TELUS Communications Company (TCC) responded to OpenMedia’s letter, submitting that it does not support Open Media’s procedural request. Furthermore, TCC requested that paragraphs 26 and 30 of OpenMedia’s 28 June 2017 intervention be struck from the record.

A Commission determination will be forthcoming with respect to the above procedural requests and, if necessary, additional process will follow.

In the interim, Commission staff notes that, as indicated in Telecom Notice of Consultation 2017-112, all parties may file replies to interventions with the Commission by 25 August 2017. As part of those replies, parties may propose questions to be included in the Commission’s requests for information to parties.

Yours sincerely,

Original signed by: John Macri for

Chris Seidl
Executive Director, Telecommunications

c.c. Kim Wardle, CRTC,

Distribution List:

Bell Canada (
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel) (
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (
Cogeco Communications Inc. (
Rogers Communications Canada Inc. (
Shaw Communications Inc. (
SSi Micro Ltd. (
First Mile Connectivity Consortium (
Government of Yukon (
Tbaytel (
County of Warner (AB) (
Député fédéral - Montmagny, L'Islet, Kamouraska et Rivière-du-Loup (
MRC de Mékinac (
MRC de Témiscouata (
Municipalité de St-Adelphe (
Powell River Regional District (
Prince Township (ON) (
Strathcona County (AB) (
ville de rimouski (district Sainte-Blandine/Mont-Lebel) (
Adamee Itorcheak       (
Adams, Ryan C. (
Heitner, Howard (
Legault, Sophie (
Luxmore, Daniel (
McKelvey, Fenwick     (
Riley, Patrick (
Roman, John   (
Rothschild & Co. (
Thomas Howell (
3C Information Solutions Incorporated (
British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA) (
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc. (CCSA) (
Cybera (
Déry Télécom inc. (
Eastlink (
Eeyou Communications Network (
Galaxy Broadband Communications Inc. (
Lemalu Holdings Ltd. O/A MCSNet (
Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology Inc. (SWIFT) (
TekSavvy Solutions Inc. (
Telesat Canada (
WireIE (
Xplornet Communications Inc. (
Members of Parliament Hastings-Lennox and Addington/ Laurentides-Labelle (
Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties (
Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM) (
Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) (
Fédération québécoise des municipalités (
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM) (
Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance (
All Nations Trust Company (
BC Libraries Cooperative (
Blue Sky Economic Growth Corp (Blue Sky Net)(
Canadian Telecommunications Contribution Consortium Inc. (
Columbia Basin Broadband Corporation (CBBC) (
Corridor Communications Inc. (CCI) (
Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec (FCCQ) (
Inuvialuit Regional Corporation (
National Campus and Community Radio Association (NCRA-ANREC) (
Nunavut Economic Forum Coalition (
Nunavut Library Association (
One Nation Networks, a Division of WiBand Communications Corp. (
School of Library and Information Studies, University of Alberta (
TCPub Media Inc. (
The English-Language Arts Network (ELAN) (
West Parry Sound SMART Community Inc. (
Deputy Minister - Government of the Northwest Territories (
Government of Manitoba | Growth, Enterprise and Trade | Marketing and Sector Intelligence (
Government of Newfoundland and Labrador (
Government of Nunavut (
Kativik Regional Government (KRG) (
Ministère de l'Économie de la Science et de l'Innovation/ Ministère de la Culture et des communications (
Ministry of Technology, Innovation and Citizens of Province of British Columbia (
Ontario Ministry of Infrastructure On behalf of various parties (
Province of Nova Scotia, Department of Business (
Service Alberta (

Date modified: