Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution

Ottawa, 7 July 2017

Our reference: 8740-B2-201606873, 8740-C6-201606831, 8740-M59-201606980, 8740-R28-201606808, 8740-S22-201606823, 8740-S9-201606790, 8740-T66-201606815, 8740-V3-201606849, 8740-E17-201610262

BY EMAIL

Distribution

Re: Process Associated with the Implementation of Telecom Order CRTC 2016-396 and Telecom Order CRTC 2016-448 – Bell MTS response to request for disclosure

Dear Madam, Sir:

In a letter dated 2 June 2017, the Commission staff set out a process to allow requests for disclosure of information filed in confidence associated with the cost studies dated 6 March 2017 regarding aggregated wholesale high speed access (HSA) services. Pursuant to this letter, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc. (CNOC) in letter dated 21 June 2017, requested disclosure of certain information filed in confidence by MTS Inc., Cogeco, Eastlink, Shaw Cablesystems G.P., and Rogers Communications Canada Inc.

In a letter dated 5 July 2017, Bell MTS (former MTS Inc.) recognized that certain information, including the items identified by CNOC, should have been placed on the public record. However, Bell MTS also submitted that following a review of the MTS Inc. cost studies associated with HSA services (Tariff Notice 778A), certain errors had been detected and needed to be corrected. Bell MTS proposed to file corrected study reports and associated supporting cost detail at a later date, along with all of the information to be disclosed on the public record, as per prior Commission rulings.

Commission staff considers that responses to disclosure requests made by CNOC which is based on the current record (i.e. MTS cost studies dated 6 March 2017) and the references to any required corrections of those cost studies are two distinct matters. While the corrections will, according, to Bell MTS be filed at a later date, in Commission staff’s view, the request for disclosure of certain information related to the information filed by the former MTS associated with TN 778A’s current record should be addressed as soon as possible.

Accordingly, Bell MTS is to reply to this request by 11 July 2017, serving all parties to the proceeding.

It is Commission staff’s intention to provide further process information after the request for further information and public disclosure processes are completed.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

Lyne Renaud
Director, Competitor Services & Costing Implementation
Telecommunications sector

Distribution List

Lyne Renaud, CRTC, lyne.renaud@crtc.gc.ca
Abderrahman El Fatihi, CRTC, abderrahman.elfatihi@crtc.gc.ca;
David Mah, CRTC, david.mah@crtc.gc.ca;
Ramin Adim, CRTC, ramin.adim@crtc.gc.ca;
Bell Canada:  bell.regulatory@bell.ca;
MTS Inc.: regulatory@mts.ca;
Zayo Canada Inc.: regulatory@zayo.com;
Saskatchewan Telecommunications: document.control@sasktel.com;
TELUS Communications Company: regulatory.affairs@telus.com;
Cogeco Cable Inc.: telecom.regulatory@cogeco.com;
Quebecor Media Inc. (Videotron): regaffairs@quebecor.com;
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.: barry.choi@rci.rogers.com; david.watt@rci.rogers.com;
Nathan Jarret: nathan.jarrett@rci.rogers.com; rwi_gr@rci.rogers.com;
Shaw Cablesystems G.P.: Regulatory@sjrb.ca;
CNOC Regulatory: regulatory@cnoc.ca ;
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.: regulatory@teksavvy.com;
Vaxination Informatique: jfmezei@vaxination.ca;
VMedia Inc.: george.burger@vmedia.ca;
Steve Sorochan: steve.sorochan@gov.yk.ca;
Darren Parberry: metisbus@yahoo.ca;
Marcus Schultze: marcus.p.schultze@gmail.com;
Kathleen Turnsek: regulatory@vianet.ca;
Eastlink: Regulatory.Matters@corp.eastlink.ca;
Tacit Law: ctacit@tacitlaw.com;
Distributel Communications Limited: regulatory@distributel.ca;

Date modified: