ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter Addressed to Distribution List

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 6 July 2017

Our reference:  1011-NOC2017-0092 and 1011-NOC2017-0112


Distribution List

Re: SaskTel’s procedural request to merge three proceedings and to conduct an oral public hearing – Request for comments

By letter dated 26 June 2017, SaskTel requested that the Commission merge three proceedings:

  1. Phase-out of the local service subsidy regimeFootnote1,
  2. Development of the Commission’s broadband funding regimeFootnote2, and
  3. a future proceeding to be initiated to review the price cap and local forbearance regimes.

In addition, SaskTel requested that the Commission hold a public hearing, specifically in Saskatchewan, on the combined proceeding.

Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) submitted a response on 5 July 2017 stating that the Commission should suspend the Phase-out of the local service subsidy regime proceeding until after it issues its decision in respect to both the Broadband Fund decision and the proceeding to be initiated on the price ceiling for local voice services.

Bell Canada in its 6 July 2017 response submitted that no oral hearing is necessary for either of the three proceedings.  The company stated that the interdependency between two open proceedings are unclear since the form of and administration of the Commission’s broadband fund is a distinct issue that can be dealt with in a focused proceeding. Bell Canada also submitted that the existing approach of conducting the Phase-out of the local service subsidy regime first and then the review of the price cap and forbearance regime can work as long as most of the local service subsidy is not phased out until the price cap and forbearance review proceeding is completed.

With this letter, Commission staff is seeking comments on the procedural request put forward by SaskTel:

Commission staff reminds parties that comments must be limited to the proposal outlined by SaskTel in its procedural request.


Original signed by

Chris Seidl
Executive Director
Telecommunications Sector
c.c.: John Macri,;;
Julie Cook,;
Christine Brock;
Kim Wardle,

Distribution List:

Northwestel Inc.


Bell Canada
Manitoba Telecom (MTS Inc.)
Saskatchewan Telecommunications (SaskTel)
Télébec, société en commandite
TELUS Communications Company

Small ILECs

9315-1884 Québec
Amtelecom Telco GP Inc.
Brooke Telecom Co-operative Ltd.
Bruce Telecom
CityWest Telephone Corporation
Cochrane Telecom Services of the Town of Cochrane
CoopTel,  coop de télécommunication
Execulink Telecom Inc.
Gosfield North Communication Co-operative Limited
Groupe Maskatel LP
Hay Communications Co-operative Limited
Huron Telecommunications Co-Operative Limited
Independent Telephone Providers Association
Lansdowne Rural Telephone Company Ltd.
Mornington Communications Co-operative Limited
Nexicom Telecommunications, a Division of Nexicom Inc.
Nexicom Telephones,  a Division of Nexicom Inc.
North Frontenac Telephone Corporation Ltd
North Renfrew Telephone Company Limited Trade
NorthernTel Limited Partnership
O.N.Tel Inc.
People's Tel Limited Partnership
Quadro Communications Co-operative Inc.
Roxborough Telephone Company Limited
Sogetel inc.
Tuckersmith Communications Co-operative Limited
Wightman Telecom Ltd.
WTC Communications

Governments and associations

Alberta Association of Municipal Districts and Counties
Alberta SouthWest Regional Alliance
Association of Manitoba Municipalities (AMM)
Canadian Telecommunications Contribution Consortium Inc.
County of Warner (AB)
Cree Nation Government and Eeyou Communications Network
Government of Nunavut,
Government of the Northwest Territories
Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM)
Fédération québécoise des municipalités
Government of Manitoba
Government of Newfoundland and Labrador
Government of Yukon
Kativik Regional Government (KRG)
Ministère de l'Économie de la Science et de l'Innovation/ Ministère de la Culture et des Communications
Ministry of Technology, Innovation and Citizens of Province of British Columbia
MRC de Mékinac
MRC de Témiscouata
Ontario Ministry of Infrastructure On behalf of various parties
Powell River Regional District
Prince Township (ON)
Province of Nova Scotia, Department of Business
Saskatchewan Association of Rural Municipalities (SARM)
Service Alberta
Strathcona County (AB)
Ville de Rimouski (district Sainte-Blandine/Mont-Lebel)

Internet Service Providers

3C Information Solutions Incorporated
BC Broadband Association
Bragg Communications Inc. (Eastlink)
British Columbia Broadband Association (BCBA)
Canadian Cable Systems Alliance Inc. (CCSA)
Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.
Cogeco Communications Inc.
Déry Télécom inc.
Eeyou Communications Network
Galaxy Broadband Communications Inc.
Lemalu Holdings Ltd. O/A MCSNet
Québecor Média
Rogers Communications Canada Inc.
Shaw Communications Inc.
Southwestern Integrated Fibre Technology Inc. (SWIFT)
SSi Micro Ltd.
TekSavvy Solutions Inc.
Telesat Canada
Xplornet Communications Inc.


All Nations Trust Company
BC Libraries Cooperative
Blue Sky Economic Growth Corp (Blue Sky Net)
Columbia Basin Broadband Corporation (CBBC)
Corridor Communications Inc. (CCI)
Fédération des chambres de commerce du Québec (FCCQ)
First Mile Connectivity Consortium
Inuvialuit Regional Corporation
National Campus and Community Radio Association (NCRA-ANREC)
National Pensioners Federation & Public Interest Advocacy Centre (NPF-PIAC) 
Nunavut Economic Forum Coalition
Nunavut Library Association
NWT Association of Communities
One Nation Networks, a Division of WiBand Communications Corp.
School of Library and Information Studies, University of Alberta
TCPub Media Inc.
The English-Language Arts Network (ELAN)
Union des consommateurs
West Parry Sound SMART Community Inc.

Date modified: