ARCHIVED - Telecom Procedural Letter addressed to Distribution List, TNC 2016-116

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. Archived Decisions, Notices and Orders (DNOs) remain in effect except to the extent they are amended or reversed by the Commission, a court, or the government. The text of archived information has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Changes to DNOs are published as “dashes” to the original DNO number. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Ottawa, 23 June 2017

Our reference: 1011-NOC2016-0116


Distribution List, TNC 2016-116

RE: Various applications for costs awards with respect to the participation in Telecom Notice of Consultation CRTC 2016-116, Establishment of a regulatory framework for next-generation 9 1-1 in Canada - Procedural letter and Request for information

Dear Sir/Madame,

The Commission is in receipt of several applications for costs filed in respect of the above-noted proceeding. Specifically, the Commission has received applications from:

The purpose of this letter is to address procedural matters regarding these applications, and to request additional information from certain applicants regarding their applications for costs.

Questions for all applicants

  1. Service on Other Parties

    Pursuant to section 66(3) of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure), a costs applicant must serve the application on all other parties.Footnote1

    Commission staff notes that several applicants may not have served their applications on parties, as required.Footnote2 In light of the number of costs applications involved, Commission staff considers that it would be most efficient to dispense with the service requirement in respect of the applications.

    By way of the present letter, therefore, all parties to the proceeding are provided with notice of the claims for costs, which are posted on the Commission’s website under the “Costs” link associated with the above-noted file number.

    Pursuant to section 67 of the Rules of Procedure, potential costs respondents have ten days from the date the application is filed to file an Answer. For those costs applications which may not have been served, in order to give potential cost respondents a fair opportunity to respond, the period for filing Answers are hereby modified as follows:

    Parties to the proceeding may file Answers to the applications for costs made by CNIB, DWCC, CNSDB and CAD-ASC by no later than 5 July 2017.

    Parties are requested to serve applicants with their Answers.

    As per usual, costs applicants may reply to any Answer within ten days.

    The deadlines for the filing and service of Answers to all other applications for costs remain unchanged.

  2. Appropriate Costs Respondents

    Pursuant to section 66(1)(b) of the Rules of Procedure, applicants must identify the respondents that should pay the costs. The Commission requests that DWCC, CNIB, and CNSDB make submissions on the appropriate costs respondents.

Questions for CNSDB

  1. Criteria for an Award of Costs

    Pursuant to section 68 of the Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission Rules of Practice and Procedure (the Rules of Procedure), the Commission determines whether to award final costs on the basis of the following criteria:

    1. whether the applicant had, or was the representative of a group or a class of subscribers that had, an interest in the outcome of the proceeding;
    2. the extent to which the applicant assisted the Commission in developing a better understanding of the matters that were considered; and
    3. whether the applicant participated in the proceeding in a responsible way.

Accordingly, Commission staff requests that CNSDB indicate in detail how they have satisfied the Commission’s criteria for an award of costs.

Filing Information with the Commission

The requested information is to be filed with the Commission by 5 July 2017. In addition to being filed with the Commission, your response is to be provided to all the persons copied within this letter.

Parties are strongly encouraged to monitor the Commission’s website for new costs applications as well as new information that may be filed in respect of costs applications.

A copy of this letter and all related correspondence will be added to the public record of the proceeding.

If you have any questions or concerns, please feel to contact me at 613-219-5388, or by email at


Original signed by

Chigbo Ikejiani
Legal Counsel
Legal Sector

cc: Megan Maloney, CRTC (
Allison McLean, CRTC (
Alexander Ly, CRTC (
Moira Letourneau, CRTC (

Distribution list, parties to TNC 2016-116:

Lui Greco, CNIB,
Frank Folino, Canadian Association of the Deaf-Association des Sourds du Canada,
Anthony Tibbs, Media Access Canada/Access 2020,
Lisa Anderson-Kellett, Deaf Wireless Canada Consultative Committee,
Megan McHugh, Canadian National Society for the Deaf-Blind,
Edward Antecol, WIND Mobile Corp.,
Simon-Pierre Olivier, Rogers Communications Canada Inc., Simon-
Natalie MacDonald, Bragg Communications Inc, dba ‘’Eastlink’’,
Kurt Eby, Canadian Wireless Telecommunications Association,
William Beckman, Saskatchewan Telecommunications,
Philippe Gauvin, Bell Canada,
Paul Cowling, Shaw Telecom G.P.,
Grainne M. Grande, MTS Inc.,
Dennis Béland, Québecor Média inc.,
Jeffrey Smith, TELUS Communications Company,
Diane Pelletier, NG9-1-1 Coalition of the Willing,
Roman Mateyko, Province of British Columbia,
Rick Philbin, Ontario Provincial Police,
Gary Malkowski, Canadian Hearing Society,
Daniel Therrien, Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada,
Serge Allen, Coalition pour le service 9-1-1 au Québec,
Tracy Finn, Toronto Police Service,
Alysia Lau, National Pensioners Federation, Council of Senior Citizens’ Organizations of B.C. & Public Interest Advocacy Centre,
Patrick Gloutney, Conseil provincial du secteur municipal du SCFP-Québec,
David Peaker, Zayo Canada Inc., formally known as Allstream Inc.,
Michael Webb, E-Comm 9-1-1,
Christopher Hickey, Canadian Network Operators Consortium Inc.,
Chris Kearns, Alberta E911 Advisory Association,
Andrew Renfree, Alberta Emergency Management Agency,
Magni Magnason, The City of Calgary,
Eric Torunski, Canadian Interoperability Technology Interest Group (CITIG) et al,
Stephen Beckett, Ministry of Community Safety and Correctional Services for the
Province of Ontario,

Date modified: